4/25 brutus +11 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve and brutus

Member Since 2010
he is dropping fast 88 at plus 2, ready with hc and syrup , but this is early drop-can i really keep his numbers up with hc never been here before.anybody out there?
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

Hi Steve

I don't know anything about your situation, and I'm afraid I'm getting ready to leave for work and can't stay with you, but yes, you can bring his numbers up with HC food if you need to. Do you have a chunks and gravy type food? Just give the gravy and throw out the chunks. The carbs are all in the gravy, and the kitty won't fill up from eating it - you may need to feed him more. You can give LC, or some LC with HC gravy, or just a bit of HC gravy, but don't fill up the kitty in case you need to keep him eating. Karo works quickly, but also wears off quickly, so even if the BG goes up, you have to keep retesting.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

+2.5 now at 74 anybody know when i should start feeding hc?he has hours before nadir.thank you just need to know i can keep him up through nadir.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

I'm not an expert, but I would say that if you are concerned, you can feed a couple of teaspoons of HC to get him to level out and surf. Keep retesting as you are doing.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

+ 2:45 69 fed a little hc gravy to slow the drop.he is hungry for more but i better not give in.retest in 15 minute.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

take a deep breath and stay calm ok :)

yes, if you are scared of where the numbers are going you can give some HC to slow the drop, as you said. and yes, just a little so as not to fill him up.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

at +3 he is 71 , so we slowed the drop , but at least 3 hour before nadir.should I let it to the 50's or feed before it gets that low?he hit 48 last cycle.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

personally, if this were me, i'd probably feed a little more HC given that 69 & 71 are pretty much the same number and you have several hours to nadir. and it looks like you might be stuck with just me here in the middle of the night so are you more comfortable with that or continuing to monitor and intervene in a bit if need be? :)
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

Hey, thanks for responding.I will be testing untill i am sure he is past nadir and intervene with food as he drops.And i am happy to be stuck with you.i just didn't know if the food can keep from going to low against the insulin.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

oh yes, you can use food to battle against the insulin all night long, or as long as brutus will ingest it that is :)

and fwiw, if need be you can put a little karo in food to raise them even quicker if they get way way too low too
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

now he is at 60 so I fed about 2 teaspoons hc gravy.insulin is really kicking in.i guess I should have reduced his dose more , but how do you know?a long night yet to come.is feeding every 30 minutes to often.its been 30 and he dropped 10 points.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

He is now 48 at +4 fed hc , he was up to 74 15 minutes ago.What if he quits eating?so far no problem.i gave him some of the chunks with the gravy this time, mabe it will hold him longer.he has never been lower than this that I know of!
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

Hi Steve. Have you tested again yet? At 48, I would test every 15 minutes, until he starts to rise a little.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

yes just tested he 63 but we fed dry(small amount) with some karo abut 20 minutes ago.i don't knoww how long this will hold,he still wants to eat more.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

We are at +5 , have fed him about three shots of hc gravy that just kept him around 50.his afternoon cycle previous to this one was 50 at +7.and we were feeding him to keep there.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

I am sorry I am not familiar with Brutus but is there a reason that you did not decrease his dose after the 48 yesterday? Is Brutus a long time diabetic?
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

you are doing great Steve. Just to give you a little fyi in regards to feeding dry food when numbers go low.... Dry takes longer than the wet food to start working and it stays in the system longer, so you will be dealing with higher numbers due to the dry food. So, you may or may not see higher numbers due to the dry food...of course you may see higher numbers due to rebound too!
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

we reduced his dose from 1.5fat to 1.5.info from others here indicated not to back off the dose yet.but I know its always my decision.he was on insulin for about 5 weeks 2 years ago.otj till 3 weeks ago.i guess we just keep fighting off the insulin tonight with food till we think its safe, but I am still nervous.i thought the dry might hiold him up longer.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

Gravy from 18% wet food is always the best for bringing up numbers.
Could you do me a favor.....when you post your next number could you put the +number with the bg number in the subject line so we can see where you are at the time you post. Thanks.
You are doing great. :-D
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +2 88 dropping scared

I also wanted to add that Putty was also OTJ and now returned and we hold the dose until he goes below 40 also.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

now he is back down to 52. I should go ahead and feed him again.his biggest drop yesterday was after this point.I'll be glad when this nite is over.3:45 am here.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

Steve I am sorry I was not clear....could you put the +number with bg in the subject line of your new post not the original one. You will not bump up if you only edit your original post. I hope this is more clear.....I am usually not awake this early on a Sunday. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

ok fed .I am sure he would have got to 40 if i had not fed him, wouldn't you think? .I just hope he will keep eating.a little food only seems to keep him around 50,is that what i should expect?
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

Surfing the 50's is good. We don't want him to surf any lower but he is in very safe numbers now.
His nadir is + 6 correct? You can take the 911 out of the subject so those waking up now won't think it is an emergency anymore. Good job controlling the numbers.....I am sure you are pretty tired.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

ok thanks Miriam.His nadir sometimes is +7 0r lately +8 but mabe thats beacause of too much insulin this time.another hour for me i think.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

+6 :15 ~59. one more in 15 minutes.Thank you for your concern.i could just let him eat what wants now , his reg food to be sure after next test.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +5.5 ~52

Yes you can feed him his regular food. I am going btb for a little while. There are more people awake now so if you need help just ask.
Good job....hope you can get some sleep soon.
 
Re: 4/25 brutus +11 162 dosage question

+11 162.The question after lasts nites low numbers is what dose to shoot.The1.5 could have hypoed him had i not monitored and fed all nite long.he dropped fast way before nadir.reduce to 1.25? can't do last nite again,.I wonder if we well get big rebound today?
 
you can try a reduction if you want to. Hitting 40's in two different cycles usually means they are ready.

FYI, a real hypo is very rare on this Lantus protocol. Low numbers are common, but even if Brutus had dropped lower, it is very unlikely that he would have hypo'd with symptoms. Of course that doesn't mean that you should force them to go low, you did well by feeding the curve and keeping his numbers in a manageable range.
 
i guess because of all the warning's about hypo it makes me pretty nervous.Thanks for that info.so not many real hypos on lantus?I will relax a little next time .Thanks for everyones middle of the night help.Brutus felt great the whole time, running around like nothing going on , it was me that needed help

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top