? 4/24 Max amps 407, pmps 295--time for dose increase?

MindyC

Member Since 2019
Corrected title for amps to 407 (I didn’t post until I was at work, and thought it was 403).

According to the SLGS sticky, "If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit". We've been at this dose now for 14 cycles. He hasn't gone lower than 163. Now that he's settled into it, he's not reaching the blues very often. So should I attempt an increase this evening? We'll be home, no one has soccer practice, or meetings, or anything else. And I've actually had a couple nights of good sleep, so if I must stay up, I can. I know it can take a few cycles for an increase to really do anything too, and this weekend isn't completely packed full of events, tho I won't be home consistently to get a full 12-hr curve at any point.

I'm not entirely sure he's stopped drinking/peeing all the time, tho it does seem to be less than it was before switching to Lantus. The LB gets changed on Sunday evenings, and then on Thursday or Friday we seem to have some issues with it being too wet and him peeing in the bathroom (at which point we promptly change the litter box). Last weekend, because he peed in the bathroom again on Saturday, I thought maybe he had a urinary tract infection brewing, but he hasn't done it again since, so it could just be him being old and forgetful, or being mad about something. I also think I did a fur shot that morning since his numbers skyrocketed that cycle. So...the peeing thing is kind of up in the air, but I have to figure out how to reduce the incidences of it happening because my husband wants to toss him out the front door every time it happens. Thankfully he does it in the same spot, so at least I can put a puppy pad there to catch it, and it's an easy cleanup. I did order some different cat-stink-remover from Amazon the other day, and will try using that on the tile under his pee spot tonight.
 
Last edited:
OH, and some good news...he's gaining weight. I don't own a scale, so I don't know how much, but he's more plump, better hydrated, and overall I feel his spine significantly less. His skin is also not as flaky, and he's definitely grooming a lot more than he was a few months ago, shoot, even a few weeks ago. We've had lots of hairballs in the last week (spring has finally sprung!), and today's was dark enough that I know it was his (his brother is gray). :D
 
Good luck with the new dose, it is time for that increase. And good news on the weight gain. How far off is he from his ideal weight now?

Have you tried changing the litter a bit more often?
 
Good luck with the new dose, it is time for that increase. And good news on the weight gain. How far off is he from his ideal weight now?

Have you tried changing the litter a bit more often?
Thank you! Lol, I wish I knew what his ideal weight was. He’s averaged around 12lbs most of his life, but was up to 14lbs at one point. At this point if I can get him back up to 10, I think that would be great, but he does have arthritis so too much extra weight is not a good thing. He was 8.5lbs at the vet when we switched to Lantus, so 3-ish weeks ago? I’m guessing he’s up to 9lbs now.

We haven’t tried changing more often mostly because of cost but also because habits are hard to break (seriously, it’s been a Sunday change for almost his entire 17 years of life) and he’s been slightly unpredictable with when he refuses to use the box. There have been a few rounds of antibiotics thrown in the mix for infections since his diagnosis, so we’re kind of guessing at theories right now. There has been a lot of upheaval in the last few weeks with vacation and then soccer season starting (2 kids, both are playing), so we’re settling into the new ‘spring routine,’ and hoping to figure this out.

Ugh, I should test him (pm+2.25 right now), but he’s snuggled on my lap right now and I hate to disturb him. He did try to sleep through second dinner, but I woke him up and put him in front of the food bowl and he ate. :D
 
Have you thought about getting clumping litter? Very economical, as you don't have to throw it all out. Just discard the bit of the litter that's all clumped up with the pee. Do a quick scoop every day, or every two or three days. Good luck!
 
We tried clumping litter the first time he was diagnosed. While he doesn’t seem to have a problem with it, the other cat does. He won’t use it. Truman is already on prozac for inappropriate urination, so we don’t mess with the litter anymore. Tidy Cats in the red bag, forever! :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top