MindyC
Member Since 2019
Corrected title for amps to 407 (I didn’t post until I was at work, and thought it was 403).
According to the SLGS sticky, "If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit". We've been at this dose now for 14 cycles. He hasn't gone lower than 163. Now that he's settled into it, he's not reaching the blues very often. So should I attempt an increase this evening? We'll be home, no one has soccer practice, or meetings, or anything else. And I've actually had a couple nights of good sleep, so if I must stay up, I can. I know it can take a few cycles for an increase to really do anything too, and this weekend isn't completely packed full of events, tho I won't be home consistently to get a full 12-hr curve at any point.
I'm not entirely sure he's stopped drinking/peeing all the time, tho it does seem to be less than it was before switching to Lantus. The LB gets changed on Sunday evenings, and then on Thursday or Friday we seem to have some issues with it being too wet and him peeing in the bathroom (at which point we promptly change the litter box). Last weekend, because he peed in the bathroom again on Saturday, I thought maybe he had a urinary tract infection brewing, but he hasn't done it again since, so it could just be him being old and forgetful, or being mad about something. I also think I did a fur shot that morning since his numbers skyrocketed that cycle. So...the peeing thing is kind of up in the air, but I have to figure out how to reduce the incidences of it happening because my husband wants to toss him out the front door every time it happens. Thankfully he does it in the same spot, so at least I can put a puppy pad there to catch it, and it's an easy cleanup. I did order some different cat-stink-remover from Amazon the other day, and will try using that on the tile under his pee spot tonight.
According to the SLGS sticky, "If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit". We've been at this dose now for 14 cycles. He hasn't gone lower than 163. Now that he's settled into it, he's not reaching the blues very often. So should I attempt an increase this evening? We'll be home, no one has soccer practice, or meetings, or anything else. And I've actually had a couple nights of good sleep, so if I must stay up, I can. I know it can take a few cycles for an increase to really do anything too, and this weekend isn't completely packed full of events, tho I won't be home consistently to get a full 12-hr curve at any point.
I'm not entirely sure he's stopped drinking/peeing all the time, tho it does seem to be less than it was before switching to Lantus. The LB gets changed on Sunday evenings, and then on Thursday or Friday we seem to have some issues with it being too wet and him peeing in the bathroom (at which point we promptly change the litter box). Last weekend, because he peed in the bathroom again on Saturday, I thought maybe he had a urinary tract infection brewing, but he hasn't done it again since, so it could just be him being old and forgetful, or being mad about something. I also think I did a fur shot that morning since his numbers skyrocketed that cycle. So...the peeing thing is kind of up in the air, but I have to figure out how to reduce the incidences of it happening because my husband wants to toss him out the front door every time it happens. Thankfully he does it in the same spot, so at least I can put a puppy pad there to catch it, and it's an easy cleanup. I did order some different cat-stink-remover from Amazon the other day, and will try using that on the tile under his pee spot tonight.
Last edited: