4/24 Bozo PMPS 414, +5 53

Despoina Passa

Member Since 2025
Hello! My cat had his insulin at 6.30 pm. His glucose levels were 414, then they started to drop rapidly in 3 hours. Since 9.30 they range between 52 and 57. I gave him 2 spoons of low carb wet food (purina Proplan diabetic). I gave him even some dry food (w/d Hills) because I didn’t have any high carb can. I called at the vet clinic and they told me to measure him with the human glucometer. Unfortunately, this time didn’t work, because he didn’t want to. They advices him to give him a bit honey, I did that as well and the result was that he vomited. I am terrified because he remains low, and I don’t have any access to a clinic if something happens because I am in the countryside and everything is closed right now. Can you please tell me how to handle it? I give him 2u glargine lentus and him food is Purina Proplan wet pouches. I switched to it from diabetic royal cabin 2 days ago. I also have his dry food, w/d Hills which I avoid to give him since 3 days now. Thank you very much.
 
Hi Debbie, let me tag some experts for you, to give your post some attention:
@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

It's good that you try to test Bozo with a human meter. The libre tends to read lower below 100 so it's good to check with a handheld too.

I copied the advice how to handle lower numbers from the sticky, in case Bozo goes below 50:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
############

I hope one of the more experienced members can step in soon but that is what I would do:

Many cats on lantus reach the lowest point at +5 or +6. We don't have much data for Bozo yet but he might go through his lowest point now and will come up soon. You should try to keep him "surfing" above 50 with some food.

I hope he eats. Try not to stuff him now but give one or two teaspoons of wet food. You want to keep him hungry in case it takes longer. I hope that helps him to surf through the low point. Repeat that after 20 to 30 minutes. If he goes below 50 I would try to test him again. If that is not possible, I would use the protocol above to be safe. Hopefully he tolerates the honey better if it is mixed with food.

And please don't forget to breath. I hope one of the admins comes soon for further information.
 
While these are lower numbers than what you're used to seeing, the numbers are NOT dangerously low. If you've read over the dosing guidelines post, with TR you don't give a reduction unless the numbers are below 50 in a cat that's less than a year from diagnosis.

Just so. you have the information handy, you may want to print out this post on how to manage low numbers. Basically, you retest every 20 minutes or so and the feed your cat a teaspoon or two of higher carb food. If numbers aren't steadily heading up, your repeat the process.

Have you decided whether you're going to follow Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow as your dosing method? If you follow TR, you would stick with your current dose. If you follow SLGS, dose reductions are given if numbers fall below 90.

I'm also removing the 911 from your subject line.
 
Back
Top