4/24 Binx AMPS 283, +2 293

Briana + Binx

Member Since 2024
Last post

Big day yesterday!!

Binx shocked us all with a PMPS lime :facepalm: We went for a 75% dose and a couple tsp of MC to keep him from dropping. Now we're back in the yellows but hopefully only for a bit. This morning we took the reduction down to 4 units.

Spoke to the vet and we've booked Binx in for a dental on May 6th. They've also confirmed retesting for his thyroid in 3 months time - we'll do a free T4, total T4 and a new one for us, TSH (thyroid-stimulating hormone). What the TSH is supposed to help indicate is if his numbers are elevated due to other contributing factors, like diabetes. Will be researching :bookworm:

Last thing, I'm considering switching Binx to the FS Libre. Yesterday really worried me when I wasn't home early enough to get a +10/+11 and then his PMPS was so low. If I do go this direction, I'd like to have some overlap (maybe 3-6 days) worth of data with the Libre and with my FS Lite... just so I can compare how the numbers differ. If anyone has made the switch, would be happy to hear what that looked like for you! @Staci & Ivy has already sent me so much good information and there are great resources online about at home application!

Safe surfing all :bighug:
 
Last post

Big day yesterday!!

Binx shocked us all with a PMPS lime :facepalm: We went for a 75% dose and a couple tsp of MC to keep him from dropping. Now we're back in the yellows but hopefully only for a bit. This morning we took the reduction down to 4 units.

Spoke to the vet and we've booked Binx in for a dental on May 6th. They've also confirmed retesting for his thyroid in 3 months time - we'll do a free T4, total T4 and a new one for us, TSH (thyroid-stimulating hormone). What the TSH is supposed to help indicate is if his numbers are elevated due to other contributing factors, like diabetes. Will be researching :bookworm:

Last thing, I'm considering switching Binx to the FS Libre. Yesterday really worried me when I wasn't home early enough to get a +10/+11 and then his PMPS was so low. If I do go this direction, I'd like to have some overlap (maybe 3-6 days) worth of data with the Libre and with my FS Lite... just so I can compare how the numbers differ. If anyone has made the switch, would be happy to hear what that looked like for you! @Staci & Ivy has already sent me so much good information and there are great resources online about at home application!

Safe surfing all :bighug:
Hi Briana, well, I missed last night’s excitement somehow. You really had an active night and handled it really well. I think it was good You used medium carbs to bring him up. He was really diving hard. It’s better to be safe, but that’s my opinion.
If you do want to switch to the Libre, go with the Libre 3, because you can monitor remotely on your own phone. Plus you Don’t have to physically go over and scan the sensor anytime you want reading, it just transmit automatically).

As we’ve discussed, I think, you will need a phone to leave at home with Binx (It can be an older phone and you don’t need to have a data plan on it so it won’t cost you monthly fees or anything).

If you do want to go that direction and you have any questions, you know to feel free to ask me.

Hope Binx has a gentle slide back down and good luck on the reduction :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Briana, well, I missed last night’s excitement somehow. You really had an active night and handled it really well. I think it was good You used medium carbs to bring him up. He was really diving hard. It’s better to be safe, but that’s my opinion.
If you do want to switch to the Libre, go with the Libre 3, because you can monitor remotely on your own phone. Plus you Don’t have to physically go over and scan the sensor anytime you want reading, it just transmit automatically).

As we’ve discussed, I think, you will need a phone to leave at home with Binx (It can be an older phone and you don’t need to have a data plan on it so it won’t cost you monthly fees or anything).

If you do want to go that direction and you have any questions, you know to feel free to ask me.

Hope Binx has a gentle slide back down and good luck on the reduction :bighug::cat::bighug:

Thanks, Staci :bighug::bighug: Lots and lots of excitement last night! Agreed - better to be safe and that's something I'll keep reminding myself when I worry about spiking numbers. Better to be too high than too low.

Unfortunately in Canada they don't have the Libre 3 :( But luckily the Libre 2 can still show me remote readings through the LinkUp app. And excellent note about the phone! This is when hoarding old smartphones becomes helpful - I think I have an old one lying around :facepalm: I started looking at some resources on the facebook page you sent, so will spend more time there too.

Thank you for always offering to answer any questions - it really is so helpful, Binx and I are grateful!! :cat: :cat:
 
I also missed Binx's surprise lime yesterday. Well done for managing that Briana. I know how scary they can be.
Hope today is less eventful!

Thanks, Helen :bighug: I know you just went through this quick adjustment to greens recently, hoping to gain your confidence with managing the numbers and carbs!
 
oh. my. gee. !!! That was some craziness (that I also missed)! But you handled it like a pro, Briana--well done!

Binx! You scared mommy!

Question: are you fasting him before his am/pm preshots?

I hope he continues to come down from this bounce into safe numbers today.
 
oh. my. gee. !!! That was some craziness (that I also missed)! But you handled it like a pro, Briana--well done!

Binx! You scared mommy!

Question: are you fasting him before his am/pm preshots?

I hope he continues to come down from this bounce into safe numbers today.

Thanks, Mary :bighug::facepalm: Had some great help from Angela, and I know it was so late too

I guess technically yes, he doesn’t get any snacks usually between +6 until PS. Do you think it would help to introduce? I was noodling with a +9 snack.
 
I guess technically yes, he doesn’t get any snacks usually between +6 until PS. Do you think it would help to introduce? I was noodling with a +9 snack.

I'm not sure if it would help or not :). I don't normally fast Jude the full two hours before shooting him, and I think because I don't his PS numbers are higher. But what I think I've recently discovered when I did fast him a few times is that his numbers drop at the beginning of a cycle, and I end up carb manipulating him. I posted about this in yesterday's condo. But that's Jude--he's a faithful little grazer, always eating when he should on his own (at the beginning of a cycle), and he doesn't eat too much toward the end--he never eats all his food at once. I'm wondering, since Binx occasionally has those preshot drops if you could control that with a little snack? I'm not sure what time, though. +9 might be too early.
 
Last edited:
Whoa! That was outta nowhere! :eek: Great job getting him back up and surfing!!

I know that the Libre 2 and 3 are both going to be discontinued as of September this year (not sure if that'll apply to Canada) so I was going to suggest requesting the Libre 3+ instead. Not sure if maybe Canada will have that one. But just as a heads up!
 
I'm not sure if it would help or not :). I don't normally fast Jude the full two hours before shooting him, and I think because I don't his PS numbers are higher. But what I think I've recently discovered when I did fast him a few times is that his numbers drop at the beginning of a cycle, and I end up carb manipulating him. I posted about this in yesterday's condo. But that's Jude--he's a faithful little grazer, always eating when he should on his own (at the beginning of a cycle), and he doesn't eat too much toward the end--he never eats all his food at once. I'm wondering, since Binx occasionally has those preshot drops if you could control that with a little snack? I'm not sure what time, though. +9 might be too early.
Yes! I remember reading this - Jude has been dropping to those 60s early on. Interested to see if those reintroduced later snacks will help out those dips for him.
And definitely something I’ll consider once I have a little more data and know a bit more about his carb sensitivity - I think that was part of the response you got yesterday, so will be helpful!
Thanks, Mary :cat: looking out for Binx!
 
Whoa! That was outta nowhere! :eek: Great job getting him back up and surfing!!

I know that the Libre 2 and 3 are both going to be discontinued as of September this year (not sure if that'll apply to Canada) so I was going to suggest requesting the Libre 3+ instead. Not sure if maybe Canada will have that one. But just as a heads up!
Thanks, Brianna :facepalm: definitely a stressful one

And ou!! An even newer type, thanks for flagging. Will look into what Canada has and if they’re getting anything new. Maybe we’re always one version behind and that means we’ll at least get the 3.
 
Back
Top