4/23 Latte AMPS~274, +6.5~165, PMPS~587!! dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Good Morning.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS~343
+2~356
+6~302
+9.5~293
PMPS~287
+3.5~165
+5.5~137
+11.5~245
AMPS~274

Latte had a good day yesterday and last night. Sounds like she was a very good girl for Amy and p,m. shot.

I have a dose ?....
We have always assumed the pred raised her a lot in the p.m. when she was only taking it at night. Now that she is taking it 2x/day it seems more clear that it is really not raising her BG much, if at all. Since giving it 2x/day she can go low on either cycle, then bounce on the next for a few cycles, and clear anytime (even w/pred on board). So what I am wondering...could I be giving too much insulin? Too much for our overall goal of staying in the blues? Are these higher numbers we have seen at night NOT the pred, but bounces and I have been perpetuating the problem?

It's just a thought I have had in the last 24hrs or so. I think before any major adjustment I would need to wait until I can see a number of full cycles in a row...next weekend maybe?

I kept the sk 2 today because she is bouncing from where ever she went last night. As soon as I get a p.s. in the low 200's that is not rising I think I will decrease dose 1 drop.

Anyway. I can only get a +1.5 this a.m. She ate a little, but needs a lot more and dont have time this a.m. to bribe her much. I hope she can do it on her own while I am gone. Back around +7 and gone again from +9~PMPS +4. Amy shoots tonight for me.

Hey...on a side note...those new shoes I was looking for a month or so ago, I finally found! Or should I say they found me! Two free pairs last night! The benefits of working at an outdoor gear shop for near minimum wage sure can pay off at times! :D

Ps- sienne...if you could fill in any numbers you see the next few days that would be huge!

Pat~ game on! Need links posted the next few days. Many thanks to you!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12690
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274 general dose question

Latte's SS is updated and I'll put the numbers in until you tell me otherwise.

I'm not sure what to say about your dose question. I'd like to see if there's a consensus.
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274 general dose question

If you are giving a half (of her previous) dose of pred twice daily now, maybe it isn't a high enough dose to spike her BG?

Congrats on the shoes, and on Latte's good day.
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274, +6.5~165 general dose question

Thanks Sienne!

Linda, I am giving the increased dose of pred (5mg 2x/day). It used to be 5mg 1x/day. I increased her insulin from 1.75 to 2u, then down again during this busy week or so to sk2.0. She goes down at least into low bloos, then bounces. I suspect she is going lower, but I cant do anything to find out until next weekend.

Her +6.5 is a surprise. I have to give pred early, which means if there is a spike (not a bounce), it will be right at pmps. I think I am going to have Amy lower the dose tonight to a 1.75. She has eaten a lot of kibble today at an unknown time. Also drinking a ton right now.


Hopefully other folks will look at my question and offer thoughts.

Time to shower, pill, and run!

Pat~ Thank you two! :)
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274, +6.5~165 general dose question

carolynandlatte said:
Linda, I am giving the increased dose of pred (5mg 2x/day). It used to be 5mg 1x/day. I increased her insulin from 1.75 to 2u, then down again during this busy week or so to sk2.0. She goes down at least into low bloos, then bounces. I suspect she is going lower, but I cant do anything to find out until next weekend.

Well, that throws a perfectly good theory out the window :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274, +6.5~165 general dose question

I entered the current #s and changed the pred dose to reflect what you are dosing now, as well.
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274, +6.5~165 general dose question

Hi Carolyn
Max want to say high to his pretty lady.
He always wants to make sure she is doing well.
Sounds good and so do you. :-D
 
Re: 4/23 Latte AMPS~274, +6.5~165 general dose question

Hi Carolyn and Latte!!!!

Glad to hear of a nice day...thought I could bump too to see if there are other eyes out there on the pred/dose question.
 
Yes, that Pmps is correct. Amy got a +11.5 in the 400's. Tested almost 30 min later and got that number. I left her @ +9 sitting @ 159.

Apperantly between the tests Amy did say she had some hard stool and then diarreah. Amy thinks it could be a combo of the gi distress, new person shooting, bounce, pred, and kibble (perfect storm as she called it). Maybe so, but she has NEVER eEVER been this high before. This was not right.

Is there ANYONE who will look @ her ss and see if it is possible that I am giving too much insulin.

pmps +3 was 330ish. Thats a pretty big drop, though welcomed. She seems ok. She does not get the runs. Last time I had to take her to Er because it wouldnt stop, then vomiting. Im glad we did not have a repeat of that scenario.

I have a 12 hr day tomorrow., but will try to post a condo.
 
Did Amy shoot 1.75 or a skinny 2.0?

I don't think it's too much insulin. It's harder to tell where the nadir is with the pred influencing numbers. The question is more whether Latte is bouncing from a lower number or whether this is a reaction as Amy suggested and is fueled to some degree by the pred.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top