4/21 Jubalee PMPS 203=237+1=249+2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Good day everyone,

This morning Juba's AMPS was 119, and based on the advice many of you gave me, if she's under 150 I don't need to shoot.

She was mostly greens and blues yesterday!

This is the 3rd day she's on a new dose, but this is the lowest she's been when I test AMPS.

I hope this is ok.

I will recheck at +2 to see how she's doing.
 
Given how short a time she's been on insulin and the fact that she's already gone just under 50 once on this dose, I think skipping is fine this time. :) I can't seem to find her condo from the 49 she got yesterday - probably just me trying to look for it before I'm really awake - were you advised not to give a reduction for the 49 she got as it was too soon after the previous one? If she keeps giving you lowish pre shot numbers so you can't shoot, you might need to revisit that idea and maybe take her down to 0.10 at each shot.
 
Juba had a beautiful cycle last night. Here is yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-20-jubalee-pmps-163-kinda-nervous-to-shoot-but-going-for-it.136583/#post-1408779 Providing the link to the previous post helps us go back and get some history.

If you get a number under 150, we suggest that you do not feed, and post for help. People following TR here will shoot pretty much anything over 50, once they have the data and experience to do so. However, we'd don't expect you to do so without some help the first time and you being able to monitor that cycle. If you can't monitor skipping is a smart option.

I'm curious to see how she's doing today. Have you gotten that +2? Can you get a test at +11 or +11.5 tonight and post for advice on the dose for tonight?
 
Well...it looks like I'm regretting not shooting Juba her insulin this morning.
Throughout the day her numbers have just risen, and now after her PMPS of 203, she's now 249/+2.

She was given 0.25u at her normal time.

Should we be worried if she keeps going higher?

I'm planning to test again in a couple hours.

I hope I didn't break her green numbers for good!
 
Take a deep breath Kadie - you very definitely haven't done any harm to her long-term numbers with one skipped shot so please don't feel bad. :bighug: 249 still isn't a bad number - it's a little higher than you've got used to seeing, but in the overall scheme of things it really isn't bad at all. She might go a little higher yet or she might start to come right back down, but either way she'll recover from the skipped shot over the next cycle or two and get right back to business and back into green for you - I promise. Take a look at Rosa's ss - I had to skip a shot early on because I'd stayed up for 3 or 4 nights in a row with her and I just HAD to sleep...she got over it just fine. And later on there were other skipped shots too, and she's done just fine even with the number of shots I had to skip. None of us like having to skip, but you have to put safety first and sometimes skipping is the right thing to do. :)
 
Jubalee is doing really well, she will get back on track in not very long. Better a little high for a few cycles than her going too low and you couldn't monitor. I do plenty of fur shots. :oops: I just sigh and move on. Each cycle is a do-over. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top