4/20 Victor AMPS 16.8/302 +3 12.9/232 +6 8.9/160 PMPS 6.0/108

+6 8.9/160 - today is a good day! Last night I noticed Victor had some bad anal smells- I'd been paying attention to him peeing but not pooping- anyway through the night he had a poop and the smell has subsided- any thoughts that maybe he was constipated and yesterdays numbers could be related to that? Any recommendations on avoiding this?
 
+6 8.9/160 - today is a good day! Last night I noticed Victor had some bad anal smells- I'd been paying attention to him peeing but not pooping- anyway through the night he had a poop and the smell has subsided- any thoughts that maybe he was constipated and yesterdays numbers could be related to that? Any recommendations on avoiding this?

are you familiar with cat/dog anal glands? That is what it sounds like to me, the glands get naturally expressed (hopefully, anyway) during bowel movements.
 
are you familiar with cat/dog anal glands? That is what it sounds like to me, the glands get naturally expressed (hopefully, anyway) during bowel movements.
I've NEVER had this type of issue before with any of my cats- but yes this is what I suspected as well as it was a musky/skunky smell? Any recommendations on keeping him regular? Or maybe just the food change did this?
 
Is VIctor still getting the same amount of liquids in? It's a key to helping things pass through. Also, a little light reading for you: https://felineconstipation.org/
Yes, there's a site on just this one topic! If you ever see him scooting on his behind, that's a clear signal the anal glands are impacted, which means a quick vet visit. I've had two cats who had this condition but only the second one ever scooted. The first I could see swelling.
 
Is VIctor still getting the same amount of liquids in? It's a key to helping things pass through. Also, a little light reading for you: https://felineconstipation.org/
Yes, there's a site on just this one topic! If you ever see him scooting on his behind, that's a clear signal the anal glands are impacted, which means a quick vet visit. I've had two cats who had this condition but only the second one ever scooted. The first I could see swelling.
Thanks! I'll check it out!
Yes yesterday when he was 'bouncing' I guess we call ithe was literally drinking and within 10 minutes urinating and when he came to bed last night he was stinky in the hind end- I thought maybe he had old pee dried on him, anyway through the night he had a poop and the smell has dissapated. Today he's eating, drinking and haven't seen him urinate since early AM so I think today is a good day?
 
so....PMPS was 6.0/108 and I shot....I followed the anything over 90 in the SLGS protocol- now I'm a sweaty nervous mess eeks!
 
I'm glad you got a +2 test. I was going to suggest an early PM test. Looks like another bounce. :rolleyes: The good news is that the 2.0 units dose is taking him down into nice numbers.
 
I'm glad you got a +2 test. I was going to suggest an early PM test. Looks like another bounce. :rolleyes: The good news is that the 2.0 units dose is taking him down into nice numbers.
I was a mess I woke up and put my hand on him so many times last night to make sure he was alright- I did get a +8 test around 230 am and it was stable.....see what today brings!
 
Back
Top