4/20 Jenks AMPS X +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145 +5 123 +6.5 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/19

Ignoring for a moment other human's valiant 30-minute attempt to unsuccessfully draw blood this morning, it appears we have a breakthrough. Unless I'm mistaken, Jenks now appears to be nadiring around shot time.

167, while excellent, was also very unexpected given his past 2 weeks of PMPS readings. I have responded to PMPS blue numbers in the past twice with a reduced dose, only to observe rising overnight numbers. With that history in mind, I gave him the full dose of 3.0U, which makes me very very nervous. If he behaves anything like he has been, he'll remain flat the entire night. And if he's truly nadiring at +11 or +12, then I expect a lower-than-usual AMPS number. I respect other human's attempts, but when dealing with 3.0U and a BG apt to suddenly change like this, I'm going to have to ensure we get a BG reading tomorrow morning by doing it myself.

As nervous as I am, I'm going to check him at +2 to see where he is, and probably two more times before heading to bed around +7. Then I'll be back at AMPS.

Any other recommendations?
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS fail +5 336 PMPS 167

He's not nadiring at PS, he's clearing a bounce. When they clear a bounce, they often start higher at one PS and then come down, sometimes slowly or sometimes fast, until the next PS. Nymph shot what we call a dropping number. Many experienced caregivers shoot dropping numbers.

I would urge you to get a +1 and a +2 any time you shoot a dropping numbers until you are very familiar with his cycles and his onset, nadir, and duratio.

Hope you all had a great Easter!
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS fail +5 336 PMPS 167

Thank you for the Easter wishes! I hope your's was wonderful as well.

Please forgive my confusion, but clearing a bounce from when? 16 days ago?
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS fail +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145

+2.5 145. So far so good.

Are there any other resources I need to have ready to go in the morning, in case AMPS is lower than expected? Because honestly, I'm not entirely sure how to shoot blue numbers or what kind of numbers warrant a reduction (scheduled or otherwise). I'm definitely anxious with this happening while we're newly back up to 3.0U, so I don't want to do anything to put him at risk.

STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL
Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL!
jojo and bunny's HYPO TOOL BOX
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS fail +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145

This post talks about how to handle low preshot numbers. The rule of thumb here is that anything over 150 is fine to shoot. Anything below that, post the +12 number or AMBG (AM blood glucose) and ask for help. Usually you can shoot any number that is rising or surfing. But if you don't have a +11 or +10 to tell you that, one option is to delay 20 minutes or so and test again. Any time in the cycle Jenks goes below 50, that earns a .25U reduction.

Paws crossed for a nice blue surf tonight.
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS fail +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145 +5 123

123 at +5. Coming down nice and slow. So far, blue all night.

He'll eat in a few minutes, which should give him a little bump.
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS X +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145 +5 123 +6.5 1

120 at +6.5, so perhaps slowing down or bottoming out? He ate some Turkey & Gibs, so he'll probably show a post-food bump from here.
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS X +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145 +5 123 +6.5 1

Very nice blues :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/20 Jenks AMPS X +5 336 PMPS 167 +2.5 145 +5 123 +6.5 1

Thanks Dyana! We'd certainly love to see more blue surfing too! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top