4/20 Billie PMPS 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello!

Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-17-billie-pmps-349.136383/

I decided to hold Billie's dose of 1.75 even after her trip to the 40s, but I ended up giving a reduced dose yesterday AM, so it will take a few cycles for the depot to get back to normal. Yesterday was the first truly warm day we have had this spring and it was also a rare day that DBF and I both had completely free, so we decided to go exploring at a nearby nature preserve. I really wanted to get outside but didn't want to risk Billie dropping too much of course, so I went with a 1 unit "vacation" dose.

Billie seemed like she was doing really well appywise, so I experimented with skipping another ondansetron dose today - no good. Her appy wasn't as absent as it was last time I tried skipping, but it definitely hasn't been great today. She ate pretty well for the first couple hours after she would have had her dose, but then she was acting hungry yet turning down food. I gave her pill maybe 6 hours ago, and she still seems a little off. She is eating, just not as much as I want her to eat.

She also had a soft poo today and one yesterday, which worries me. It was formed, so not pudding diarrhea, but it was definitely soft. But, I did cave and give her a little cheese Friday night (it was late, I was having a snack after getting home from work, and she was very persuasive...bad bean) so maybe her stomach is upset from that. It makes me nervous though, wondering if IBD/lymphoma is still a possibility and if I should investigate further. I hope it just passes. I have been weighing her pretty regularly, and her weight is stable, so I'm taking that as a good sign. And her appy has been good on the ondansetron which I will keep her on.

I hope everyone is doing well! Sending vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines.
 
I've added more cheese as of late too. Luckily, we've had no issues.
Appy is definitely worse when stomach is bothered or litter box issues... is what I'm learning .
I think I'll go back to giving ondansetron again too. It sure doesn't seem to hurt any... just so many pills.

Sounds good to have gotten out.
 
Sometimes you just have to do something for you. Good call.

I know what you mean about too many pills. Minka is on so many of them, but I know each is important. I'm lucky she's so agreeable about being pilled. Cheese is a little dicey with cats - supposedly they have trouble digesting dairy. Harvey loves cheese and has no problem with it, but then, he isn't a typical cat at all! :rolleyes: It's quite possible that's what upset Billie's tummy.

Sending good poo and good appy vines.
 
Sorry Billie's tummy was off yesterday. I bet it was the cheese. Dairy can bother some cat's tummys. I hope she's better today.

I just saw the nanner picture in Mannie's condo. She is so beautiful. Her avatar doesn't do her justice.
 
I hope it's the cheese upsetting her tummy. It is a little concerning that if you gave it Friday it was still bothering her Sunday. I hope she's back to normal now.
 
Thank you all for the visits! Carla, Billie says thank you very much for the compliment :)

Billie had another soft poo this morning. Formed, but soft. Hmmm... Her appy has been fine and her energy level has been good. She did a lot of playing this afternoon. I'm going to keep an eye on her for a couple days and see if this resolves, then go from there. Of course I ran out of Fortiflora, but I have more arriving tomorrow.
 
Good appy. Check. Energy. Check. Playing. Super. Glad Billie's acting well. Now, little girl. About those poos. Firmer, please.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks Marilyn and Ella!! I was about to make a new condo for today but I think I missed the boat already. I'll be less confusing tomorrow.

Billie's appy is even better tonight. It looks like she recovered from the skipped ondansetron dose (and is giving me more proof that she definitely still needs it). I came home from running errands to find her devouring the food I had left her! It was PMPS time and she also put a little dent in the fresh food I gave her. Good stuff, Billie. No additional poo to speak of.

Billie's attitude is also present tonight. Brooklyn pawed at her in what I interpreted as an innocent "hey, let's play" kind of manner, but Billie was not interested and gave her a big "back off, lady" hiss. Brooklyn has a history of not playing nicely (their first introduction 6 years ago resulted in a trip to the ER vet!!), so I don't blame Billie for not wanting to engage. But, usually she just walks away. It is good to see her hold her ground. They do get along now aside from the occasional altercation - they like to sit in the window and watch birds together, and I sometimes catch them giving each other kisses.

I hope everyone is having a good night! From Billie's numbers, this sure doesn't look like the dose that got her into the 40s last week, but it is only cycle 5 since Saturday's reduced shot. We'll see what she has in mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top