4/2 Gracie PMPS 317 +2 260 +4 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 289 7th cycle sk .75u
+2: 334
+4: 317
+10: 276
PMPS: 255 1st cycle sk1u NEW DOSE
+2: 221
+4: 215
+5: 251


HAPPY CATURDAY!!!! Sending congratulations to GracieD and Julius on being OTJ this week and to Max for his one year OTJ Annifursary!! Also sending healing vines to all our LL ill kitties.

Despite these high numbers this week, Gracie never ceases to amaze me. The one good thing is that she has been playful and happy and she is currently laying in her favorite position on her condo on the enclosed patio....torso actually on the condo bed but front legs hung over the edge (under her armpits) and back legs hanging over the back. It seems like the most uncomfortable position to me but she loves it. We increased her dose last night back to sk1u. I hope any NDW is short lived.

Thank you all who visited yesterday and gave us support and for all your encouragement this past week. With Mike home this weekend, I actually got to go out in the morning for the first time since Gracie was diagnosed (other than to work). I promised my BFF over a month ago to go to the nursery with her and help pick out plants so I got up early, got the black beans in the slow cooker for dinner, and we headed out by 9:30. I came back a few hours later just long enough to get Mike and we spent the afternoon looking at kitchen sinks and faucets as that is the last piece of the puzzle for the kitchen granite redo. We got home about an hour before our friends were coming for dinner so it was a little hectic between making dinner, giving squids to the civvies, and getting the cats fed. We had a lovely evening.

And since this is a support group and I've got my drama queen crown on today, I also want to say that this has probably been the hardest week for me in a very long time. And please know I am not looking for any sympathy here but it's been difficult for me to even look at Gracie's SS. She was doing so incredible and we felt we were getting close to a breakthrough and then I decided to take her dose down sooner than I should have....I held the syringe, I made the decision, and it was a very bad one and now my baby girl has had to pay for that. I only pray I have not set her back too far. Every test this week has been agony for me (drama queen again) but I've at least tried to look on the positive side that she is happy and that we haven't gone over 350 antijinx. So...enough of my pity party....time to get back to good numbers, my girl. Time to do this.

We love you all...we couldn't do this without you. Thanks for hanging in there with us. Have an awesome day. Time for breffis #2.
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324

((((((((((((((((((((Marjorie & Mike))))))))))))))))))))) We all have times when we regret decisions, all of our crystal balls are on the fritz sometimes. Or it could also just be a step back in the sugardance. We do what we can. Hang in there!

To make you feel good, go to Tessie Lou's condo the link to the eagle hatching is awesome!
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324

gracie may decide to do what Binks did...
I think he just got fed up with his incompetent, fumbling bean and decided to take matters into his own paws!

She'll have you feeling better in no time, Majorie...Gracie is the queen of surprises!!

so this morning...we're offering you this...

funny-pictures-kittens-coffee-cups.jpg
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324

Celi and Ann: thanks, girls...you two and Michelle are like my homeys :lol: :lol: :lol:

DS just called; the "unamommer" (this is another term we now need to add to the LL dictionary thanks to Celi) is the hospital. She fell a week ago and did a number on her hand...they had to call a hand surgeon in on a Sunday to fix it. She had to go to the ER today for cellulitis in her legs; she is overweight and has gotten this many times and has to have IV ABs. She just won't do what they tell her to.....
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324

Hi guys, sorry things have been going a little rough lately and I do hope things start to get better. Hopefully Gracie girl will turn around soon. On a yummier note, black beans in the crockpot sounds oh so mmmmmmm. Care to share the recipe? I love the crockpot but don't have too many recipes so, I don't use it much. Have a great Caturday and enjoy the beautiful weather! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324

Oh Marjorie, it made me feel sad to hear you beating yourself up for a bad decision. We all do it. Lord know I have. Checks doesn't always hold reductions, and I have to start all over with last good dose.
This whole sugar dance is made up of decisions. Sometimes we make a wrong one. Yes it is the kitty who pays...temporarily.
We correct the mistake and make it better. It will get better. Gracie is just on a bumpy road at the moment. It will smooth out, and we will all be dancing with happiness for you, Mike and Gracie. :-D
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324

Hi Maria: thank you so much for your thoughts. All these positive wishes should put her back in green soon!!

Oh, dinner was delicious if I say so myself. We made shrimp with orzo, feta, basil, and tomatoes (so yummy), black beans, and pepper slaw. And then I made a simple strawberry mousse for dessert...it's not even mousse but it seems like it...very light and low calorie/fat. So for the beans, just buy a bag of dried black beans, soak according to instructions (I boil for five mins and then let them sit in the pot an hour...heat off). Put them in a crockpot, cover with water, add salt and pepper to taste, throw in about 1/2 onion (don't slice or chop...just a chunk), some fresh garlic cloves, a little bit of olive oil, and then let them cook for hours until they are tender. AND WE HAVE LEFTOVERS FOR TONITE!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180

Aahhh....finally....my old diving Gracie back. As Celi said, Gracie is always full of surprises so let's see how her day will unfold.

Hey all my friends!!! Both beans are home and it's warm and sunny here in AZ. We're all tired from the party last night so how about some chillaxin' by the pool? Beans will make chilled and poached roadrunner wraps and niptecates for all who need them!!Oh wait....guess I better go wake up daddybean (aka cabanabean) and let him know!!!
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180

Maria: you're welcome!!

Barb: we must have been posting at the same time cuz I didn't see yours but thank you, my friend. Ya'll are always there when we need that extra emotional support. I've been kicking myself in the pants alot lately....guess I should kick harder and get my good attitude back :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180

Hey Marjorie, Gracie is being her diving self, just because she wants to keep you on your toes! Looks like the increase is working already. I'm thinking of taking Rusty up tomorrow morning (or even tonight) if he seems stalled (also through no fault of his own: just his beans taking him on a 6-hour car trip and then giving 2 fur shots with insulin that got too cold!).

Rusty is on his way to chillax by your pool with the gang and eat and drink those goodies. He had a little play with Big Bug before he left. Things seem to be improving here, too (antijinx).

Thanks for the black bean recipe. I'm going to try it.

Ella
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166

Hmmm....slowing down but that's ok...Rome wasn't built in a day and at least she's in blue for a change. I think maybe this is still her sk .75u...not sure the increase has had a chance to fill her shed yet.

Ella: glad Rusty is feeling a little better and playing. I hope you don't have to dosecrease and that he'll come down on his own. HOpe you like the beans.

I'm off to Lowe's and Home Depot to run some errands while DCB (dear cabanabean :lol: :lol: ) hosts the party for the kits.
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166

Marjorie, this has to be one of the most difficult diseases anyone has to figure out, especially on cats. I'm sorry it was such a bad week, but just try to look at the big picture. I was just remembering Mocha's journey. Didn't it take them 2 years or so? And, I bet if you asked Peter and Devon how many "mistakes" they ever made during that time, you would feel not so bad about your decision. Still, I understand your pain. We love them so much! It hurts to see their little bodies on such a roller coaster at times. Still, they are incredibly resillient! And, they are so intuitive, they know everything we do is for their well being. So, carry on! Don't look back! How's that for a pep talk? :lol: :lol:

Now, on to happier things! Did you check out the baby eagle live cam? It's awesome! Tessie Lou just had her special tuna lunch, but when I asked her about going to Gracie's for poolside fun, I could tell she was thinking "hors d'oevres?" So, yes, count her in! Sounds like a lovely time! She is looking for her sunglasses as I type...

I'm going to try your bean recipe, too. I love sticking things in the crock and letting them go. I do pinto beans like that sometimes. My DH likes things spicy, so I might chop up a few jalepenos in there as well. Yum! :razz:
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166

MY gracious - look at all I have missed her this morning! :oops:

I am so happy for you and your granite redo. It reminds me so of what we did when we redid ours - so much fun!!!!!

Did you do with a granite sink too?? We did - they are awesome!!! seriously - best decision we made there.... Our counters are a black/brown/beige color, and with that black granite sink. well - i just love it. :cool: :cool:

I know on the decisions comments. There are sections on Mannie's SS that I would like to bury forever. I have never seen so many reds an blacks., and that day not too long ago where he was black all morning? for me they were exceptionally difficult days - so I can so understand your feelings. all I could do was look ahead, learn from what went on, and keep reminding myself I am only human, it's such a short period of time for this ugliness, it isn't forever.... You will get her back on track - already a nice blue at +3. and the thing of it was - he felt fine, acted fine, was as happy and active as he ever is.

looks like as short period for NDW. YAY!!

I am so glad that you had a nice evening with friends. it is, for me, so important that we do take time for the things that we like. The kitties always end up being just fine. so kudos to you and Mike.

GRACIE!!!!!! SWEET!!!!!! I am on my way. I am sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo excited to be coming to your pool. POOL PARTY! AWESOME! see you soon! ~ ~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166 +4 146

Marjorie, know you have a sister in frustration this week. :) You guys so such an amazing job for Gracie, and this is a long, slow process. You tried something, it didn't work, and that is okay. Miss Gracie knows how much her beans love her! I'm so glad to see you got out to do some things this week, and I may be pulling out the crock pot shortly, as I think I have everything needed to make those beans!! I know you guys will have Gracie back on track in no time. ((hug))

Hope the rest of your weekend is spectacular!!

Tanks for de invite, Miss Gracie!! I'z lubs hangin at ur place!! Can't wate to try de roadrunner!!! --Willie
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166 +4 146

I've been on the phone for hours, so just catching up now on some condos, and I always love seeing how little Gracie is doing. Sorry you had such a hard week. You and Mike both do such a terrific job with Gracie and she is a challenge. It sure looks like she is getting back on track. I got Maggie off track skipping a pm shot last Thursday, and I felt terrible, so I'm one ahead of you! We are having a time with my Mom, too - what is Celia's term - Unamomer? She is 93 years old and not taking her meds. Take care and enjoy the rest of the weekend.
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166 +4 146 +6 239

DH here - Back up to 239 at +6. I guess between the NDW and fast drop this morning she just couldn't keep going down. We'll give her the rest of the day off and try again tonight. Only the second cycle on this dose, so I'm happy she got a little time in blue, and I'm sure she will start rockin' soon.
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166 +4 146 +6 239

I give you all the biggest, warmest hugs. You've all made me feel better and I didn't mean to try and get the sympathy vote. Just being a drama queen. What I also find amazing besides all of you is my husband. He's worked every bit as hard with Gracie and he could have been mad at me this week or laid the blame on me for making a decision without him that turned out bad. But he hasn't and he's been very, very comforting and told me to let it go and she'll be fine.

Sandy: thank you.....I know you've had and still have difficult times with this disease and you also deal with the bladder issues as we have and that alone can make you crazy. You gave me a WONDERFUL pep talk. (((Sandy))). Yes.. I watched the great eagle video earlier when I was on your condo this morning. Way cool!! And yes...that's exactly how I make my pinto beans...just like the black beans. We like things really spicy, too, but most of our friends are "gringo mouths" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ann: looks like we need more of those niptecates!! Mike is furiously churning them out today :lol: :lol:

Michelle: I should not complain...yes I hate to see the pink but I truly am thanking my stars that's all they are. And yes....we ordered a Blanco granite sink...it's called biscotti...it's gorgeous. And a Grohe Ladylux 3 Cafe faucet....can't wait but it will be about a month before everything gets in.

Christie: what a whiner I am!!! We all experience this don't we? And you all give me that jolt I need to shrug it off and move forward. You can make a whole pot of the beans and freeze them. I love to have them with fish tacos....we get these amazing fresh tortillas at the local tortillaria...right off the griddle...and then mango salsa. OH MY!!

Ann: Wow...93...that is spectacular. Isn't it funny that with our folks....they either take WAY too many meds (my mom) or they won't take any (your mom and my DBFs mom). And they are SO bullheaded!!!! :lol: :lol: Looks like Maggie is getting back on track....sometimes we just have to deal with life, eh, my friend?

We thought we might go to a movie but there is no way I'd leave this house with that wild gang of kitties out there. I had to go turn the stereo down three times!!! Binks is doing the merengue on the table!!! And Tess, Mannie, and Gabby keep looking for the diving board. And WILLIE AND RUSTY!!! They were running like wild children around the wet deck. Moonie is just chillaxin' on the chaise lounge looking like a princess and singing along with the tunes.....and bossing Tessie Lou and Maggie around. Chaos keeps trying to get everyone to rub sunblock all over him :lol: :lol: Choco and Attie keep eyeing the babes....and Gracie is just modelling all her mamabean's kinis cause she looks so fine in them :lol: :lol:

cf6c8_funny-pictures-cats-and-dog-have-pool-party.jpg
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie AMPS 324 +2 180 +3 166 +4 146 +6 239

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Marjorie and Gracie said:
We thought we might go to a movie but there is no way I'd leave this house with that wild gang of kitties out there. I had to go turn the stereo down three times!!! Binks is doing the merengue on the table!!! And Tess, Mannie, and Gabby keep looking for the diving board. And WILLIE AND RUSTY!!! They were running like wild children around the wet deck. Moonie is just chillaxin' on the chaise lounge looking like a princess and singing along with the tunes.....and bossing Tessie Lou and Maggie around. Chaos keeps trying to get everyone to rub sunblock all over him :lol: :lol: Choco and Attie keep eyeing the babes....and Gracie is just modelling all her mamabean's kinis cause she looks so fine in them :lol: :lol:

Nice on the sink - you will love it! I hope you went to the movies.... I watched an X-Files rerun: "Little Green Men" - dang I loved that show!
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie PMPS 317

No movie...I took a nap and we caught up on some TIVO shows.

All I can say is :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: I think even Gracie is getting tired of these numbers. She seemed much quieter today. I have an appt to take her to the vet on Tuesday and get some blood/urine work done.

Michelle...can you send that happy face over? I think it's missing from my page :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie PMPS 317

Hi Marjorie, Mike and Gracie: Don't get discouraged. One day after Tuffy had been going up and down the dosing scale, jojo pasted,‘one day she will stop bouncing’ ... She went green and did not feel the need to present you with stinkus pinkus afterward'. It does happen, hang in there. Lucy did it, Tuffy did it, quite a few have done it only some more quickly than others.
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie PMPS 317 +2 260

keep coming down Gracie - better things await. She will get there guys.

oh, and here you go. --------> :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

GRACIE!!!! Did I read that right? vetty for you? They gonna take parts of you and put in under one of the micro-whatever thingies... oh oh, that can't be good. is it? should I come with you? ok, it 's ok, we got a few days to plan.... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie PMPS 317 +2 260

i understand the frustration, marjorie. you just do the best you can and let it go when things don't work out. hindsight is brutal on a person - better to not look! Gracie will get back on her feet again in no time, and in the meantime you don't have to stay up all night testing.

thanks for the bean recipe - black beans are just about my favorites! i have a really good cold black bean salad that i just love. nom nom nom. have you ever made corn tortillas by hand? then are incredibly easy if you have a tortilla press. much harder by hand, but the press is maybe $18 and makes it very easy. i've made them several times now and you can't hardly beat fresh tortillas. now i'm hungry. :lol: we had frozen pot pies for dinner because i had a quilt occupying the entire kitchen floor. it's nearly done now, though, i'm working on hand-finishing the binding.
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie PMPS 317 +2 260

MJ: wow..thank you....with all you have on your plate, I appreciate you taking time to do this. It is certainly an eyeopener. It's been a week tomorrow since we've seen any green!

Barbara: I know....I go back and look at Tuffy's and Lucy's SSs and know you all went through this, too. Of course, we worry about the renal threshold issues and her becoming insulin resistant and getting used to high numbers so that we have to go higher on her dose to get her going.

Michelle: thanks!!! Maybe they will help me tomorrow. I've had enough for today :lol: :lol: :lol:

Julie: I appreciate your words of support. I just feel like we are starting over....and yes, we are getting sleep!!! The cold black bean salad recipe sounds great...can you pm me the recipe please? No...I haven't made tortillas but it sounds cool. I am in awe of you talented peeps like you and Violet...wow!!

Well...we've had enough excitement for one day so we're calling it a night. Have a super one and we'll check in tomorrow. And thanks again for being there for us. Sleep tight LL!!
 
Re: 4/2 Gracie PMPS 317 +2 260

Marjorie and Gracie said:
MJ: wow..thank you....with all you have on your plate, I appreciate you taking time to do this. It is certainly an eyeopener. It's been a week tomorrow since we've seen any green!

Wow. Uh... what I was hoping you'd see is that she hasn't gone any HIGHER than she has over the past two months. Yes, she hasn't dipped into Gravy Green for a while, but nor is she drifting upward into colors that shall not be mentioned. Green isn't always All That. Blue is pretty cool too. Just ask Mannie. Green seems to send him screaming into the stratosphere.

But I do hope you find a simple answer as to why she's avoiding greens now, so both you and she can feel better.

MJ&Donovan&Butthead
 
MJ: you are right and we actually did notice that the pinks were not any higher......or not too terribly higher. For what we felt like we've been going through, it didn't look quite as bad on the graph :lol: :lol: I was just so tired last night....haven't been sleeping well since we've had these higher numbers. At any rate, I think I took her down too fast and so we have to get her back up to a working dose and hold her. I really love that you do these graphs for us!! Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top