4/18 Belle -AMPS 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Ok,

So her BG is up again after 1U last night, to 240, so I'm going to take the advice I got from the board last night and be more aggressive. She was regulated on 2U twice a day but at a higher BG than I would like, and she was on the low(but apparently very acceptable) side on 3U. I'm going to go with 2.5U since it makes sense to my brain to go in the middle. I don't want to be skipping shots or having huge swings in dosages, so I know 2.5U will put me in the ballpark and I should only need minor adjustments to get her stabilized.

I intend to test her at +6, but find testing to be sort of addictive, so I may end up doing it more frequently. In any case, I will be doing at least AMPS, PMPS, and +6 during the day for the foreseeable future and more frequently when possible.

Thanks again all for your help and support.
 
Good morning Jason!

Some FYI type stuff:
We link our condo (i.e., thread in Lantus-speak) from the previous day to the first post of the new day. Here's your condo from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12254. This saves a great deal of time if we need to go back and find some information that was referenced or need a greater context.

A mid-cycle check is great. The nadir, however, can be a moving target -- it's not always at +6. I tend to get a +2 since it gives me a clue as to how the cycle will go. (And yes, testing can be addictive. It gives a sense of control over what's happening. Many here, myself included, are testaholics!)

Unless Belle's numbers dictate otherwise, you will stick to this dose for the next several days. This will allow the dose to settle so you can get a reasonably good picture of who it's working.

Please ask questions, visit our condos, and look at our SSs. It's a great way to get the bigger picture of how Lantus works.
 
Hi there!


A mid-cycle check is great. The nadir, however, can be a moving target -- it's not always at +6. I tend to get a +2 since it gives me a clue as to how the cycle will go. (And yes, testing can be addictive. It gives a sense of control over what's happening. Many here, myself included, are testaholics!)

This is so true, what Sienne said, a moving target, my own kitty began nadir very early and eventually moved on up to around +6 or so.
My personal fav spotchecks are a +3 known as "onset" when Lantus starts to kick in. And don't neglect a later check in the cycle too, as Sienne mentioned looking at others spreadsheets gives you a pretty good idea of common spotchecks times, don't feel like you HAVE to test as much as some of us :roll:
And ECID (every cat is different) does apply, but data collecting does help to see how Lantus is working thru each cycle. When you're able to, grab the kitty and test those ears! :lol:

And dont worry - testaholics can be cured :lol:
 
I will likely test her more frequently, but I felt bad yesterday waking her up to do them. I'm going to let her relax today and get them when she's up and around. I initially tested her ears, but she bruised easily and hated it, so I went to her paws and she's been a peach about it. I do plan on sticking with the 2.5U dose since I have a good idea on how she reacts at both 2 and 3, so I'm very comfortable with 2.5. I also watch her like a hawk, so it's likely I would notice any issues. I'm so tuned into her after all these years and illnesses that I can tell what she's thinking.

I will be sure to link the previous days "condo" from now on. I was wondering how folks would know history, and I guess now I know!

Thanks,

Jason



Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi there!


A mid-cycle check is great. The nadir, however, can be a moving target -- it's not always at +6. I tend to get a +2 since it gives me a clue as to how the cycle will go. (And yes, testing can be addictive. It gives a sense of control over what's happening. Many here, myself included, are testaholics!)

This is so true, what Sienne said, a moving target, my own kitty began nadir very early and eventually moved on up to around +6 or so.
My personal fav spotchecks are a +3 known as "onset" when Lantus starts to kick in. And don't neglect a later check in the cycle too, as Sienne mentioned looking at others spreadsheets gives you a pretty good idea of common spotchecks times, don't feel like you HAVE to test as much as some of us :roll:
And ECID (every cat is different) does apply, but data collecting does help to see how Lantus is working thru each cycle. When you're able to, grab the kitty and test those ears! :lol:

And dont worry - testaholics can be cured :lol:
 
I intend to test her at +6, but find testing to be sort of addictive,

Welcome to the Vampire Club! :twisted:

Seriously, frequent testing is really necessary to get a good idea of exactly how to adjust her dose. I Tess is sleeping I'll just go to where sheis warm up her ear if necessary, test and treat. The last is important, Tess actually purrs through the test, 'cause she knows she'll get the treat. Then she goes back to sleep.

Put pressure on the ear for 15 - 20 seconds after the test, it helps to reduce bruising. Also, apply Neosporin occasionally and I use a little Vitamin E oil once in a while, it helps prevent scarring. Both of those also help to make the blood bead up and not disperse into the fur.

Happy testing! :lol:
 
good, I think 2.5 will be a good dose for Belle for right now. Insulin needs do change, sometimes rapidly, as you've seen! Sometimes once a cat's numbers "click" into place, like Belle's just did, they will go through a period where their dose will need to be decreased several times in quick succession. It's a good thing, it means some of her beta cells are healing. It can be a little unnerving, though, to see the numbers changing so quickly. Many (most) of us here have been through that, so never hesitate to post.
 
Hi Jason and I hated frequent testing in the beginning too but now Do Lou purrs thru his tests and I have a freeze dried treat for him each time so that has really helped us I use wild side salmon puffs as my treat or freeze dried chicken :mrgreen:
 
Hello Jason,

My name is Gayle and I am a testaholic haha_smiley haha_smiley

Yes, it may seem like alot but it's the only way I can see what's REALLY happening with Oliver's and Shadoe's numbers. By now, both pretty much sleep through the tests and Shadoe often comes over to remind me that it's time to test!
Despite the below, Shadoe seems to be on her way up earlier, and Oliver is sometimes still dropping at +8!
So you never know.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Belle's tail wags the whole time I'm taking the test, and as I mentioned earlier, she doesn't mind it at all on her paws. She's a trooper, and is used to me messing with her, from multiple pills a day to using her asthma inhaler. This is just one more thing in her routine. I have tried treats, but she usually puts her nose up(even treats she'll eat 5 minutes later). She was up to 249 +4, so I guess the lack of continuity has affected her, but we'll be back on track in no time. I have yet to see any real fluctuation in a single cycle(Friday her +8 was the same as PMPS, and Saturday, she was pretty much the same all day), so I'm looking forward to getting things settled down so I can have some idea of what to expect.

Jason
 
Testing is AWESOME.. and I know you'll hear me on this one because of the health issues Belle had/has.. if I could poke Jerrys ear, sip up some blood in a meter and tell how his HCM was doing.. I'd NEVER sleep ;)

My name is Dawn and I'm a test-a-holic too ;).
 
Hi Jason
Welcome to Lantus Land.
You are in the best place to be to help Belle.
Max and started in Nov/09 and he was a tough nut to crack.
We just had our OTJ (off the juice) party on Friday.

Max has been off insulin for 2 weeks now and we could not have done it without the support
of the people here. We had been to 4 vets who did not believe this could be done and were
not supportive of hometesting, one bit.

Have a look at Max's ss in my signature to see our jouney and if you want a real smile,
click on the OTJ video in my signature as well.

It was an enormous amount of work, love and devotion and I would not have done it
differently. These people here are utterly amazing.
Best of luck, we will be watching you.

My name is Randi, and I too am a testaholic :-D
 
Randi,

That is great news about Max. He seems to have had a major breakthrough at the beginning of March, and it coincides with the new insulin cartridge. Interesting. From where you started, it's a great outcome. Fortunately, Belle was diagnosed and started on Insulin no more than 2 weeks after she may have gotten Diabetes. She has been having bloodwork regularly, so we know it was not present for longer than that. Hopefully, that gives us an edge.

That video is too cute! It warms my heart to see the love that people have for their cats.

Jason


Randi & Max said:
Hi Jason
Welcome to Lantus Land.
You are in the best place to be to help Belle.
Max and started in Nov/09 and he was a tough nut to crack.
We just had our OTJ (off the juice) party on Friday.

Max has been off insulin for 2 weeks now and we could not have done it without the support
of the people here. We had been to 4 vets who did not believe this could be done and were
not supportive of hometesting, one bit.

Have a look at Max's ss in my signature to see our jouney and if you want a real smile,
click on the OTJ video in my signature as well.

It was an enormous amount of work, love and devotion and I would not have done it
differently. These people here are utterly amazing.
Best of luck, we will be watching you.

My name is Randi, and I too am a testaholic :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top