4/18/15 Jubalee 44/PMPS NO INSULIN 49/+0.5 80/+1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Good day everyone,

Last night was sort of a doozy!
4/17 PMPS 380 (no insulin given in am)
192/+2 (fed 1.5 teaspoon so she wouldn't drop crazy low)
294/+4
341/+5

Today 4/18 Juba was 430 AMPS (0.5u shot after breakfast)
342/+2

A drop, but she's still high, so I'm probably not going to worry as much as yesterday.
I want to get another test in a couple hours to see how she's doing.

And we will be sticking with this 0.5u 2x/day strictly now unless something drastic changes in her glucose level. No more skipping a shot!
 
Your whole day yesterday was sort of a doozy, but you did great!! Here's your condo from yesterday too. It's helpful to post the prior day's link so it's easy for people to go back and look at what's been happening.

That's still a pretty good drop at +2, so yeah, I'd get that +4 or so

Hopefully Juba will give you a break today!
 
Your whole day yesterday was sort of a doozy, but you did great!! Here's your condo from yesterday too. It's helpful to post the prior day's link so it's easy for people to go back and look at what's been happening.

That's still a pretty good drop at +2, so yeah, I'd get that +4 or so

Hopefully Juba will give you a break today!

Lol, yep yesterday and the day before were quite colorful!
I got a test in at +5 and she was 225. She got another small tuna snack too.
I'll get another test in at +7.5 and see how she's doing.
 
Hmmm...now Juba is 120/+8. (Was distracted at +7.5)
Depending on where she is tonight PMPS, I assume will determine if we need to give her insulin or not?
This kitty! lol
 
Nice recover today Juba! She could still turn it around by preshot time tonight. If you see a number below 150 at +12, do not feed, and post here for help deciding what to do. Over 150 it's fine to shoot.
 
Way to clear a bounce Juba! It's the first time I've had a chance to look in on anyone today - we've been making the most of some decent weather and been out all day. She's looking great!
 
Ahhh!!! Juba is now 44 at her PMPS.
We're going to feed her because she's starving (after getting 3 snacks today inbetween testings.)
I assume no insulin tonight??
And check her again in an hour or 2?
 
Wow Juba - what are you trying to do to your bean?

Definitely no insulin at that number - I doubt you'd get her high enough to be comfortable shooting even if you did stall on the food. Being hungry is a sign of going low with some cats - the way I could always tell with Rosa is that she'd empty out both food bowls (that are put out for 3 cats to share twice a day) and then go looking for more!!

I would definitely check her again tonight - with no new shot on board she should start to come up fairly soon, but it's always best to be safe as she will still have some insulin in her depot that will still be working on her numbers. If you can check about 30 minutes after she eats just to see if she can come up above 50 that would be a good idea at this point.
 
Wow Juba - what are you trying to do to your bean?

Definitely no insulin at that number - I doubt you'd get her high enough to be comfortable shooting even if you did stall on the food. Being hungry is a sign of going low with some cats - the way I could always tell with Rosa is that she'd empty out both food bowls (that are put out for 3 cats to share twice a day) and then go looking for more!!

I would definitely check her again tonight - with no new shot on board she should start to come up fairly soon, but it's always best to be safe as she will still have some insulin in her depot that will still be working on her numbers. If you can check about 30 minutes after she eats just to see if she can come up above 50 that would be a good idea at this point.

Lol, right?!? @manxcat419 !
I'm beginning to wonder if maybe Juba is either a 0.5u 1x/day OR a 0.25u 2x/day. If she is indeed a 0.25u then we would need to research where to purchase syringes that have those markers on them. Her current syringes only go down to 0.5.

I'll check her in 30 min. and see where she is. Hopefully her numbers go up!!
Do you think maybe Lantus lasts longer in Juba than 12 hours? Or maybe that's telling us she needs another dosage decrease.
We shall see in 30 minutes.
 
I would check her in 1/2 hour after she eats. We want to make sure she is coming up.

Looks like Juba wants to try .25U on for size. :D She earned that reduction, .5U is too much. There are pictures of how to measure the .25U dose in the New to the Group Sticky - about 2/3 or the way down.
 
Sorry Kadie - I got caught on a phone call. As Wendy says, that 44 earns her a reduction to 0.25 so congratulations! :D I'm glad she gave you that number at pre-shot rather than dropping low late tonight - you should be able to get her back up without having to stay up all night with her. :)
 
Juba's now at 80/+1
Whew, I think we're good everyone!
I've had enough craziness the past couple days. I am turning on NetFlix and going to bed.
Follow up tomorrow, a new dose of 0.25u and spread sheet updating!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top