4/17 Boots amps 367

Status
Not open for further replies.
Boots is doing great. Very happy and comfortable. I wouldn't know there was anything wrong with him if I wasn't testing for this. Makes me wonder about the others.... He has such clean white feet now too, he was so sad when he found me. Dirty and wet most of the time, it was when we were having that cold spell in FL. Now he looks and acts as if he's always lived here with me.
I'm trying to figure out the most necessary test times because I just ran out of strips. I thought there were 100 but it was half that. I just bought another 50 that have to last me till May 3. So I'm going through the literature to see what's been said.
Have a great day!
Mary

dancing_cat​
 
Mary,

I think it's time to increase Boots' dose, what do you think? We don't want him sitting in red too much of the time. It has been 9 cycles on this dose, with nadirs in blue, so I would suggest increasing to 1.25 units BID.

About that repackaged Lantus, if you bought 3mL in early March, is it almost gone? It would be really good to get new Lantus as soon as you can, there's a good chance yours is not as effective as it should be.
 
I hate to say this, but I suspect you will need more than 3 strips per day. The bare minimum testing is 4 times per day -- AMPS, PMPS, and at least one additional test per cycle. If a strip is bad or you get a meter error for the strip or, more importantly, if Boots has low numbers and you need to test every 15 or 30 minutes to insure his safety, you will need more strips. You might want to check in the Supply Closet (one of the forum groups) to see if anyone has strips you can use.
 
I just now found these messages. So sorry for the late reply. A very kind cat lover donated 200 strips so that I may test Boots as often as I need to.
I have been following the instructions for regulation and he is up to 2 units twice a day. His numbers were getting better but as of yesterday, I am in NJ because of a family emergency and have my daughters caring for him in FL. I'll update the spreadsheet when I get back.
Thank you all for your help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top