Hi Alaina
Many cats have different cycles day to night and are more active at night. Sienne is spot on when she says he's bouncing from the lower numbers last night. If you look at my Gracies SS, you will see she was lower last night and bounced up today. It's very typical. Sometimes, they will flip flop cycles and you can also see this on Gracies SS. She was low during the day and came up at night....now she's the opposite.
You can ask anyone who has been around a while and they will tell you that lantus teaches patience. Each shot builds upon the previous so you have a cumulative action of the insulin as the depot fills. You can also liken it to a cruise ship. You can turn the wheel to change course, but it actually takes time to see the course change.
I would suggest that when you get a lower number, like the 88 last night, you should follow it up with one more test to be sure he's coming up.
The Tight Regulation protocol states:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
George is getting nadirs less than 200 so I would hold the dose a bit longer. I also agree with Sienne that you don't want to decrease the dose.....you are starting to see some progress.
You might want to take a peak at a few other SSs so you can see that George looks very similar. I like
Leos SS. He was really bouncy and then...poof...stopped bouncing and just had his OTJ party.
One last request, if you could please do a
Profile for us, we'd appreciate it. It helps us help you.
thanks!