4/17/13 George AMPS-486 +4-321 +10-275 PMPS-461

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well what seems to be happening during the day is different than what happens at night. Not sure if this can be attributed to the pancreatitis or dosage...

What do you guys think? I think for tonight I will stay at 1.25 and try to get some night time numbers in order to make a decision about increasing back to 1.5u in the morning. Or perhaps 1.25 is too much and causing bounces and higher numbers... Maybe I should try 1 u. Not sure.

This can be so frustrating at times.

Thanks in advance~
 
I would not decrease the dose unless you want to see more numbers in the 500s. This is a bounce. George's numbers are still bouncing around from the 88 last night. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

FWIW, any time I've seen someone decrease the dose in the hope that numbers will come down, they typically end up having to increase back up and more often than not, to an even higher dose. In addition, you lose time.
 
Hi Alaina

Many cats have different cycles day to night and are more active at night. Sienne is spot on when she says he's bouncing from the lower numbers last night. If you look at my Gracies SS, you will see she was lower last night and bounced up today. It's very typical. Sometimes, they will flip flop cycles and you can also see this on Gracies SS. She was low during the day and came up at night....now she's the opposite.

You can ask anyone who has been around a while and they will tell you that lantus teaches patience. Each shot builds upon the previous so you have a cumulative action of the insulin as the depot fills. You can also liken it to a cruise ship. You can turn the wheel to change course, but it actually takes time to see the course change.

I would suggest that when you get a lower number, like the 88 last night, you should follow it up with one more test to be sure he's coming up.

The Tight Regulation protocol states:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

George is getting nadirs less than 200 so I would hold the dose a bit longer. I also agree with Sienne that you don't want to decrease the dose.....you are starting to see some progress.

You might want to take a peak at a few other SSs so you can see that George looks very similar. I like Leos SS. He was really bouncy and then...poof...stopped bouncing and just had his OTJ party.

One last request, if you could please do a Profile for us, we'd appreciate it. It helps us help you.

thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top