4/16 Binx AMPS 236, +2 256

Briana + Binx

Member Since 2024
Last post

Bare with me, as it feels like there's so many things to report!

A couple of changes from yesterday/today - I'm switching Binx to an entirely FF Classics diet (previously in combination with PVD DM). Thanks @Bandit's Mom for your insights and talking that through with me.

We've also gone ahead with an increase to 4 units - this is a big scary number to me, but I'm hoping it gets him down.

And lastly, we finally had our first visit with the new vet! Here's the initial post that sparked this change. I'll try to be brief, but the big things were: pancreatitis? - IBD? - bowel obstruction? - dental? - hyperthyroid? That's actually so many things, here's what we know:
- Pancreatitis: The vet confirmed that the spec fPL test really can't fully diagnose pancreatitis and they would need to confirm it via ultrasound. However, the vet himself has some prior training on ultrasounds (and while not a specialist) offered to take a look (at no cost). He doesn't suspect pancreatitis and also agreed that since Binx doesn't have symptoms, it would be difficult to manage symptoms (if they're not present).
- Bowel Obstruction: Not present in ultrasound and since he's not vomiting regularly or with any other symptoms, this has been ruled out.
- IBD: We are going to wait to confirm some other items before jumping to IBD. The vet has suggested holding on B12 right now, once everything else has been actioned.
- Dental: Very very likely needed. It's not the worst he's seen, but he thinks there are some rotten teeth... and as we know, this can impact BG. They work with a dental specialist and we'll be discussing options soon, pending the last item below.
- Hyperthyroid: This is the big question mark right now. Since Binx's total T4 was basically near hyperthyroid, the vet thinks it might make sense to start him on medication. However, in order to be overly cautious, he is going to review Binx's case with an internal medicine specialist he works with (at no cost). If they agree, we may do another test to see if his numbers have gone up (past the certain threshold) or we may start treatment. We'll then want to monitor Binx and his BG closely.

I showed the vet my spreadsheet and it took some time to understand, but he did ask for me to send it over so he can review further. I'm not surprised, but when he saw how much sleep gets interrupted, he did find it a bit obsessive... but I think we can all agree we are a bit obsessive with our little ones. The openness to understand was appreciated.

On top of all the above, a vet tech there has a diabetic cat (2 years now) and we chatted for almost 30 minutes about everything (outside appointment time). She is a FD nerd just like us! She was really excited to see the spreadsheet and the graph I'd put together. She offered her knowledge and advice and told me the days she works, so I can schedule visits when she's there. This was a truly unexpected added benefit.

I never thought I could leave feeling this positive about a vet experience. I do hope it continues - for now, I'm feeling very good about the decision to switch.

Thanks to all who made it through that novel. Hope everyone is having a nice day :bighug:
 
I'm so pleased you had a positive vet experience and now have a little team assembled to help treat Binx's health challenges. Such a positive development.

I just looked up hyperthyroidism and it is interesting how much overlap there is with FD in terms of symptoms: weight-loss, increased hunger, thirst and urination. A curious symptom is nervousness.

Best of luck with the increase!
 
I'm so pleased you had a positive vet experience and now have a little team assembled to help treat Binx's health challenges. Such a positive development.

I just looked up hyperthyroidism and it is interesting how much overlap there is with FD in terms of symptoms: weight-loss, increased hunger, thirst and urination. A curious symptom is nervousness.

Best of luck with the increase!

Thanks, Helen :bighug: Feeling like a positive development for sure!

It is an interesting overlap! When Binx initially got diagnosed, my previous vet actually thought it was hyperthyroidism before doing blood work.
 
I like your vet! And his approach.

Thank goodness for no bowel obstruction. :)

Lots of good information on hyperthyroid on the Feline CRF site. It shows that Binx is definitely in the gray zone for HyperT. I like that your vet is doing more testing. The link above talks about the other tests that could be suggested.

I'm a big fan of dental vets, especially with more complicated kitties. They do more monitoring during anaesthesia and tend to be more knowledgeable about older and more complicated kitties. Bonus for Neko's dental vet, he saved her canine tooth cause he discovered her red gum was not dental disease, but due to acro growth.

Definitely wait to test if B12 levels are low before jumping to supplementation.
 
I like your vet! And his approach.

Thank goodness for no bowel obstruction. :)

Lots of good information on hyperthyroid on the Feline CRF site. It shows that Binx is definitely in the gray zone for HyperT. I like that your vet is doing more testing. The link above talks about the other tests that could be suggested.

I'm a big fan of dental vets, especially with more complicated kitties. They do more monitoring during anaesthesia and tend to be more knowledgeable about older and more complicated kitties. Bonus for Neko's dental vet, he saved her canine tooth cause he discovered her red gum was not dental disease, but due to acro growth.

Definitely wait to test if B12 levels are low before jumping to supplementation.

Thank you for the helpful info, Wendy! Always such great resources :cat: :cat: I will certainly be spending some time on that site :bookworm:
It's reassuring to hear your understanding of the discussions I had today with the vet - his approach seemed promising to me too :)

How fascinating about Neko's tooth! I'm recalling your discussion on Jess' post about Charlie and resistance to acro testing and how you were met with the same before research was out. The vet tech I talked to today said she has tested her own diabetic cat for it - so extra points to them for knowing about it and understanding!
 
Last post

Bare with me, as it feels like there's so many things to report!

A couple of changes from yesterday/today - I'm switching Binx to an entirely FF Classics diet (previously in combination with PVD DM). Thanks @Bandit's Mom for your insights and talking that through with me.

We've also gone ahead with an increase to 4 units - this is a big scary number to me, but I'm hoping it gets him down.

And lastly, we finally had our first visit with the new vet! Here's the initial post that sparked this change. I'll try to be brief, but the big things were: pancreatitis? - IBD? - bowel obstruction? - dental? - hyperthyroid? That's actually so many things, here's what we know:
- Pancreatitis: The vet confirmed that the spec fPL test really can't fully diagnose pancreatitis and they would need to confirm it via ultrasound. However, the vet himself has some prior training on ultrasounds (and while not a specialist) offered to take a look (at no cost). He doesn't suspect pancreatitis and also agreed that since Binx doesn't have symptoms, it would be difficult to manage symptoms (if they're not present).
- Bowel Obstruction: Not present in ultrasound and since he's not vomiting regularly or with any other symptoms, this has been ruled out.
- IBD: We are going to wait to confirm some other items before jumping to IBD. The vet has suggested holding on B12 right now, once everything else has been actioned.
- Dental: Very very likely needed. It's not the worst he's seen, but he thinks there are some rotten teeth... and as we know, this can impact BG. They work with a dental specialist and we'll be discussing options soon, pending the last item below.
- Hyperthyroid: This is the big question mark right now. Since Binx's total T4 was basically near hyperthyroid, the vet thinks it might make sense to start him on medication. However, in order to be overly cautious, he is going to review Binx's case with an internal medicine specialist he works with (at no cost). If they agree, we may do another test to see if his numbers have gone up (past the certain threshold) or we may start treatment. We'll then want to monitor Binx and his BG closely.

I showed the vet my spreadsheet and it took some time to understand, but he did ask for me to send it over so he can review further. I'm not surprised, but when he saw how much sleep gets interrupted, he did find it a bit obsessive... but I think we can all agree we are a bit obsessive with our little ones. The openness to understand was appreciated.

On top of all the above, a vet tech there has a diabetic cat (2 years now) and we chatted for almost 30 minutes about everything (outside appointment time). She is a FD nerd just like us! She was really excited to see the spreadsheet and the graph I'd put together. She offered her knowledge and advice and told me the days she works, so I can schedule visits when she's there. This was a truly unexpected added benefit.

I never thought I could leave feeling this positive about a vet experience. I do hope it continues - for now, I'm feeling very good about the decision to switch.

Thanks to all who made it through that novel. Hope everyone is having a nice day :bighug:
That's fabulous, I can feel the relief that you may have found the right vet, with all the needed connections, at no addional charge. :bighug: I'm also very jealous!

I hope this increase is the one to break through! I just upped Petey to 3u tonight. I'm really curious if these guys end up with the same diagnosis in the end. :bighug::bighug:
 
That's fabulous, I can feel the relief that you may have found the right vet, with all the needed connections, at no addional charge. :bighug: I'm also very jealous!

I hope this increase is the one to break through! I just upped Petey to 3u tonight. I'm really curious if these guys end up with the same diagnosis in the end. :bighug::bighug:

Thanks, Laurie! You nailed it. Feels like relief.
I was just reading your response on Peteys condo, about how you don’t have any other options, and I’m so sorry. I wish you (and many of us) could find better care. I hope the dental goes well :bighug:

Good luck with your increase! I’d be so pleased if these increases were it for us. Will be keeping an eye in case these boys mirror each other again!!
 
I've been so looking forward to hearing how today worked out for you and wow! What a great update!

It sounds like the new vet is much more open and curious instead of guarded and closed off to so much as concerns or ideas like the last one was. It's amazing that he's willing to consult on some things (for no charge) to get a clearer picture without you having to spend even more for it. So glad he's willing to just run some tests like you wanted in the first place!

And having a vet tech there who also gets it and is engaged and wants to help is just such a great development!!!

I'm so glad it went so well! You must be so relieved and more positive than you have in a while.
 
I've been so looking forward to hearing how today worked out for you and wow! What a great update!

It sounds like the new vet is much more open and curious instead of guarded and closed off to so much as concerns or ideas like the last one was. It's amazing that he's willing to consult on some things (for no charge) to get a clearer picture without you having to spend even more for it. So glad he's willing to just run some tests like you wanted in the first place!

And having a vet tech there who also gets it and is engaged and wants to help is just such a great development!!!

I'm so glad it went so well! You must be so relieved and more positive than you have in a while.

Thanks, Brianna :cat: Exactly right, feeling relieved and like there's something positive amidst many weeks of not much. Unfortunately, it feels like the bar is so low for many of us with our vets. I would've been happy with just the open/curious part, but feeling lucky to get extra benefits like second opinions and a vet tech with FD experience.
 
Thanks, Brianna :cat: Exactly right, feeling relieved and like there's something positive amidst many weeks of not much. Unfortunately, it feels like the bar is so low for many of us with our vets. I would've been happy with just the open/curious part, but feeling lucky to get extra benefits like second opinions and a vet tech with FD experience.

Exactly, it seems to have gone even better than you dared hope for. I'm so happy for you!
 
Back
Top