4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +4 50 +5 58 +7 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL! :-D

Yesterday's condo

Today
AMPS 85
+3 50
+3.5 50
+4 50
+4.5 54
+5 58
+7 88

Do you know what today is? It's Billy's birthday! :-D My boy turned 9 today, so of course I had to take pictures.

He is really unimpressed to see me coming with the camera. Come on, boy! Play along a little!
Bill3.jpg


His official birthday portrait :smile:
Bill1.jpg


And that would be him telling the world that he's taking a bite out of life and enjoying it!
Bill2.jpg


He slept in my bed again. He was there when I fell asleep and there when I woke up. I slept through the entire night and couldn't wake up to test. If there is one thing that I fail to understand even more than Billy's cycles, it's my own sleep cycle! Well, he is in a really good mood this morning and so am I. I'll test to see if he earned a dose reduction. I don't know about today, but I'm thinking tonight might be the night.

I probably won't be able to be around a lot today - there is so much work left to do before I move out, ugh. Will you all take care of my Birthday boy for me? :lol:

Have a great day, everyone!
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85

Oh, what a beautiful boy, Billy is. Wonderful photos. :-D And Manouk, that amps, is a fabulous way for him to start off his birthday. :-D
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEAUTIFUL BOY!!! HAVE A GREAT BIRTHDAY!! HUGS FROM US! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50

Aww, thank you, guys!

Well, looks like Billy did earn a reduction. He's at 50 now. I should feed him, right? How does two tablespoons of food + a couple of drops of karo sound?
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 Advice?

oh, i think you only want to give him about a teaspoonful of the gravy part, not the food part, and retest him again. you don't need karo yet, and 2 TB is too much, i think. he'll probably soar with all of that.

then you test again in 20 minutes or so and repeat if he's about the same. ideally he'll sit in the 50's for a bit.

just making sure you have this info, too. i have to go take a shower in a couple of minutes.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33862#p353329
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 Advice?

and here's the essential part you need right now:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50

:-D you're welcome! i've just barely been doing this longer than you, but punkin keeps bopping down there so this part i've done.

btw, i love his photos - happy birthday boy. and i especially love the first one that shows his attitude. he's so impressed by you taking his picture. :lol: what kind of camera are you using here?
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BILLY!!

What a nice bg present he gave you on his birthday! Enjoy your day of packing, and do keep an eye on the birthday boy!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +3.5 50

Still at 50, so we're repeating the process.

My camera is a Canon 50D, I really love it. I do use it for more than cat pictures, though. :lol:

Ella - Hi! I am trying of enjoying it, but I think I'll enjoy the days of unpacking even more! :lol: Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +3.5 50

good job! i'm leaving but Ella is far more expert than me and you're doing great anyway. if ya get scared and need help, post it in your subject line.

i have a canon Powershot S3IS but it doesn't take the awesome close-ups yours takes. of course, it's possible that i need to learn more about settings and could make it work better. my dad gave it to me for my birthday a few years ago and the pics are nice, but it doesn't seem to do as well on close-ups as i'd like. so yours isn't a change-able lens, right?

have a great day!
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +3.5 50 +4 50

Things should be fine now. :) I'll scream for help if it's needed, haha.

50D is changeable lens one, so it helps a lot once you have the good lenses to use for portraits. Have you read the entire instructions manual? Sometimes a few settings can make a huge difference. ^^
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +3.5 50 +4 50

What a way to celebrate your birthday, Billy!! I think you will be getting a nice reduction for your birthday gift. I love the pictures -- he is one adorable boy.
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +3.5 50 +4 50

party_cat party_cat party_catHAPPY 9TH BIRTHDAY BILLY!!! drinking24 drinking24 drinking24 drinking24

Great surf going....good job Manouk!!! Billy is looking super. I love his pictures...he is so handsome!!

Also good job, Julie!!! Woot!!

I'm around, too, and checking in every 30 on my Gracie so if you need help just put up a "HELP" in subject line but looks like you have it really well under control.
 
Re: 4/16 Billy AMPS 85 +3 50 +3.5 50 +4 50 +4.5 54 +5 58

Love the cake pic! Happy B'Day Billy. How nice that Billy gives his bean a present of beautiful #s. You're a wonderful example. Julie, you sound like a low number expert.
 
hey, great job today.

and i totally want to take that bite off the fork. nom nom nom. :lol: i have no pride when it comes to cake.

read the manual? uh, well, i know where it is . . . i confess i've never read the whole thing! ok, i'll get on it. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top