Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl
Barb:
I think when you increase you have to increase in more than a drop here and there. Libby has said that on several condos. The other day when I suggested an increase, I suggested a full .25u but I think you just added a bit. I think you were right to increase him this morning but I would have taken him up to a full 1u and I think you need to keep increasing every six cycles by .25u unless he comes down and bounces. If you only increase in drops, and it isn't enough, then you have to keep dealing with NDW. Sometimes they need a good increase in order to kick start them. IMHO, even though you added a bit this morning, unless he comes down today, I would take him up to 1u and then monitor closely like you normally do. Sometimes it only takes a few cycles at a higher dose to get things rolling.
I have had some problems with my levemir....in fact, the company did replace my first package because every single pen petered out early. I found out that Costco had left it sitting out of the frig from the time I called to have it refilled until I picked it up...about an hour. And all the pens were full of bubbles. The manufacturer did say they can get bubbles in them from shipment. This second pack of pens seems to be much better.
Lev should last until you use the entire pen if you store it correctly BUT one thing I read on Think Tank and makes sense is that if you leave it out of the frig for ten minutes or so twice a day (like I was doing), as the volume gets less...then the last 25-30 mls can be not as potent due to the changes in temp. So now, I take it out, draw the dose, put it immediately back in the frig to minimize the temp change.
I bet if we get the right dose for him, he'll do well on levemir. I think we all want to get "married" to a certain dose. It was hard for me to realize that Gracie was going to take alot more levemir than she did lantus. When I switched her, she was on .75u of lantus and I have not been able to get her below a f1u on lev.
I hope this helps .....and if not...here's an extra hug. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: