4/15 Checkers pmps 435+2/371

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281 +3.352

Morning Barb! I am glad all is normal in Checkers World. Normal is good! So Checkers.... maybe some blues for you? What'd'ya say? I think that would make your bean very happy.

Enjoy your day Barb - I hope it is a good one!
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281 +3.352 +3/353

Ann, I wish that is what I meant. I meant the pink floor. :smile:

Checks seems to be stuck here.

-Do I keep waiting for a bounce to clear, when I don't know that it is a bounce?

-Do I raise dose more? I increased from f.5 to 0.75, on 4/10
I added one extra drop this morning. He gets 1unit, minus 2 drops. It was minus 3 drops

Keep waiting? How long?
Increase? To what?


thank you
Barb
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

Wow, barb...i feel for you!

chex keeps you guessing, doesn't he?

If you're anything like me...

confused-blackfive.net_.jpg
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

Right there with you Barb! very frustrating and confusing isn't it? I too don't understand how you can tell the difference between a bounce and not enough insulin when you are doing the decreases. Seems a little bit of a circular argument to me.. if they earn a decrease by getting a low number... you then lower the next shot... but then how can you tell if they are bouncing from the lower numbers, or it's simply a case of lowering the dose too soon and them not having enough insulin on board and it's just a 'normal' increase in BG numbers. Seems hard to tell the difference. I guess that's why some people say shoot thru the bounce and then lower after. but then others say take the decrease and wait. gahh ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

I was at my wit's end, but fell over the edge. I'm now downright nuts!

I was even beginning to think it is the lev. Spoke to pharmacist, and was told to call the manufacturer if I had doubts
They don't just replace it. Which I figured anyway.
He said all the things I expected him to. See doc in case of infection. Keep raising dose until cat responds, etc etc.

Now I come home to a 406, at +7.5
He ate nothing for the couple hours I was gone
He eats nothing but FF low carb and chicken simmered in plain water for snacks/treats.

I think I'll scream now...excuse me.....Arrrrgggggghhhhhh!!

There, that's better.

so....hold on with fat .75 otherwise known as skinny 1u, and hope this is a loooooooong bounce from I don't know what?

raise dose?
Is it possible Lev isn't right for him?
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

not that I'm glad, but I'm glad I'm not the only one going bonkers!! At least I'm in good company! Lets hope our boys quit this conspiracy to send us both crazy and get their acts together soon..
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

Barb:

I think when you increase you have to increase in more than a drop here and there. Libby has said that on several condos. The other day when I suggested an increase, I suggested a full .25u but I think you just added a bit. I think you were right to increase him this morning but I would have taken him up to a full 1u and I think you need to keep increasing every six cycles by .25u unless he comes down and bounces. If you only increase in drops, and it isn't enough, then you have to keep dealing with NDW. Sometimes they need a good increase in order to kick start them. IMHO, even though you added a bit this morning, unless he comes down today, I would take him up to 1u and then monitor closely like you normally do. Sometimes it only takes a few cycles at a higher dose to get things rolling.

I have had some problems with my levemir....in fact, the company did replace my first package because every single pen petered out early. I found out that Costco had left it sitting out of the frig from the time I called to have it refilled until I picked it up...about an hour. And all the pens were full of bubbles. The manufacturer did say they can get bubbles in them from shipment. This second pack of pens seems to be much better.

Lev should last until you use the entire pen if you store it correctly BUT one thing I read on Think Tank and makes sense is that if you leave it out of the frig for ten minutes or so twice a day (like I was doing), as the volume gets less...then the last 25-30 mls can be not as potent due to the changes in temp. So now, I take it out, draw the dose, put it immediately back in the frig to minimize the temp change.

I bet if we get the right dose for him, he'll do well on levemir. I think we all want to get "married" to a certain dose. It was hard for me to realize that Gracie was going to take alot more levemir than she did lantus. When I switched her, she was on .75u of lantus and I have not been able to get her below a f1u on lev.

I hope this helps .....and if not...here's an extra hug. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

Marje, you're correct about being married to that dose.

He hasn't been up to 1 unit, since January, and has had many green cycles on 0.5, or less..
He was doing well on 0.5, but dropped on 2/11, earning a decrease. of .25.

But that didn't seem enough, so I fattened it.
Somehow I got totally lost in the dental and antibiotic and back pain, and now don't know how to get out of this maze.
I'm not getting consistency on any dose.

I'm trying to shorten this to facts, but there's so much that makes me suspicious of the vial full of bubbles I bought.


Are you saying I should now raise to solid 1unit, and watch carefully?
I could start in the morning. I can't do nights.

I really really need help...
thank you for response
Barb
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

My first thought was the same as Marje's -- it may make more sense to increase in 0.25u increments.
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers amps 266 +2/281+3/353+5/347 Dose Advice Pl

I've been getting as close as possible to .75 consistently, except for today, when I added a drop.

I will raise to solid 1u, probably in the morning.

Thank you, Marje and Sienne

Barb
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

amps 266. f.75
+2/281
+3/353
+5/347
+7.5/406
pmps /435~ 1u

Raised tonite to 1unit, from 0.75...(except this morning was f.75)
It wasn't fair to make him wait until morning, in high numbers again.
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

no advice from me barb .. but I sure do hope the extra juice starts working for checks .. it's hard to get past a certain number in our head .. but we have to remember, the cat's don't care how much insulin they are getting .. hugs to you and scritches to checks .. you guys sure have been through a lot .. if I were you, I'd do a lot more screaming :-D
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

Good luck with the new dose Barb - I hope it works for Checks, gets him back to those blues. Go Checks! but not too fast, OK? I would agree that once you find the right dose checks will do well on the Lev - he's so much flatter without those huge dives that he had on lantus.
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

Good luck with the extra juice! Use it well Checkers! Hang in there Barb. You are a great Bean and Checkers knows it. Have a wonderful night! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

Good luck with the new dose, Barb and Checks! You've gotten some great info and advice today. I know how you feel; I haven't been able to get consistent results from Trix lately, either, despite the fact that she used to be a very consistent kitty. Good ole FD, right?

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

Barb, dont be too hard on yourself! You've done what's best for Checkers. Take it easy & hope Checkers will work out his new dose. I guess we all have the 'same naughty type" here! cat(2)_steam Checkers, Rosy & Rupert work out the juice!
 
Re: 4/15 Checkers pmps 435

You're welcome and good luck with it, Barb. I want to see Checks in :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top