4/15 Boots amps 219

Status
Not open for further replies.

lizwardia

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11951 OK I typed this all in from the top of the page and used the URL insert thing. Work???
Can someone tell me how to find my SS without searching through the messages. My computer turned off and I lost it .

The testing is going well. The numbers are still dropping with 1 unit. Does everyone have a hard time knowing if the one unit is injected? There's so little movement of the syringe. Couldn't the pharmacist dilute the solution so you could add more liquid? I am using the 3/10 which I think is the smallest syringe.

I am hoping for the day this all comes second nature.

Have a great day enjoying your wonderful kitties!

Mary

dancing_cat​
 
You can log into docs.google.com and it'll be there.. or you can bookmark your spreadsheet..

That's a really nice amps!! esp with the shot 30 mins late.. hope you can get a bunch of tests in today..

Can't dilute Lantus.. the way it works is that it's regular insulin with magical "stuff" wrapped around it..that the body breaks down so the insulin is released slowly.. mixing anything (ANYTHING) with it breaks down the magical stuff.. (here's me being all technical ;) ).

You are using the smallest syringe.. what I wouldn't give for smaller than 3/10cc... Little kitty doses are ridiculous.. it's just the way it is.. hehehe.
 
Just wait until you get to .1u shots!!! @-)

YourCondo link for yesterday works just fine. You don't have to type it though, just highlight the whole thing (I'm on a Mac and I triple click or just place the cursor in the Url some where and "Select All") copy it and paste it in between the brackets.

You have a link to your SS in your signature, just click. If you do that you will have to go to the very bottom of the page and click the link "Edit this page if you have permission". You will have to do this every time you shut your browser down. OR Bookmark it when you are on the editable page. Periodically google will make you re-Log In, for security. Geeky enough yet?
 
Hi Liz! I wanted to say welcome to LL and you are doing great. I chuckled a little when you asked about 'finding' your SS after your computer shut down. The first time I did that, I was mystified for a few minutes too. As Dawn and Tess have said - After you open it sometime, just bookmark the page, it makes it quick to find.

Oh boy, yes, shooting the small amounts seems weird doesn't it? Wait until you have a micro dose and you think you are doing nothing. But that one little drop of insulin is powerful stuff.

Lots of people have suggestions to help with making sure the insulin goes into the kitty. Some owner shave a small area so they can see the skin better, this is especially helpful for long haired kitties. Some people use longer needle syringes, others like the shorts. I tried to always remember to hold the plunger down firmly and not release the pressure as I removed the needle from the kitty, to make sure all the insulin stayed in kitty. There is a natural tendency to relax the thumb or finger after pushing the dose into the cat, but if you push and remove the needle while keeping the slight pressure, it's best. Especially when dosing the micro doses, which I hope Boots will be getting in the near future. :-D

If you ever think you 'missed' when giving insulin, just call it a fur shot and DO NOT reshoot. You can never be 100% sure that some insulin didn't get into the kitty. That makes it too dangerous to re-shoot. We've all missed at one time or another.... or THOUGHT we missed, only to find out later that the kitty really did get his insulin and his numbers went down nicely. So you see how giving more insulin would have been a bad move.

Good to see you and Boots here!
 
great numbers today (and I see blue on the spreadsheet too!). This proves that Boots doesn't need 5 units anymore. He might even hit green!

How is Boots doing today?

Very nice. :smile:
 
I see your ss and you're shooting 1 unit and just hit a blue too! Yippee way to go!

the easy way to link your previous post - take the mouse and highlight the top area, then copy/paste with mouse - or using the keyboard -

hit control (ctrl button) c

then go to where you want to put it and hit control (crtl button) v

that will paste it for you.
 
Thanks for the help. I have the SS bookmarked so I can't lose it anymore. And I will try the other suggestions tomorrow and see how it works.
Boots is doing good today, and his numbers are wonderful. I agree, we should never have been at 5. I am so glad I found you all and followed your instructions! On Saturday I didn't think it possible that I could do these tests by myself, now I'm pretty secure and Boots feels the vibe too. I am forever grateful. Thank you!!!!!!

dancing_cat​
 
Wow some really awesome numbers today for Boots!!!

Does he seem to be feeling better?

Testing is so absolutely horrible to start.. but so valuable.. no amount of trying to convince people that it gets easier seems to work.. it's just something that people have to suffer through I guess.. I wish that I could go back in time and video our testing at first (DISASTER!).. and video now (piece of cake).. to help people starting out.. I know I watched videos online of testing when I started and thought "yeah.. right.. not THIS cat"..

It's laughable how easy it gets.
 
What a great string of blue numbers today! It looks like this dose is settling in nicely. No doubt, Boots' dose will require a bit more adjusting but it certainly looks like you are in a much better place with regard to knowing what's going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top