4/13 Max amps 80--how long on fat zero?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mindy & Max

Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11764

So...is it really possible for them to be ready to OTJ when they've only been on a fat 0 dose for 2 days?!? Max threw me a 54 at just under pm+4 last night. Had I not already been nearly asleep on the couch, I would have stayed up yet again to see if he went below 50. Instead I fed him MC and went to bed (really, the weekend was NOT restful, it never is at my brother's house, and work kicked my arse yesterday). This morning his number was 80, and he was clearly dying for some food because he kept following me around and yowling until I tested and fed him. At +1 this morning, he'd only gone up 4 points...not enough in my book for having breakfast entirely gone and being in the 50s last night. So I gave him another spoonful of MC before I left in the hopes he doesn't bottom out.

I'm starting to think my suspicions over the weekend with the weird high numbers being rebounds/bounces was right. He really seems to want to be OTJ. If he drops under 50 tonight, is it really okay to stop the juice? OMG, could we really start chewing tomorrow?!? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/13 Max amps 80--is it possible?!?

If you are planning on sticking with the protocol, in order to earn the reduction Max's numbers need to go below 50. He could have surfed in the 50s for the rest of the night -- there's no way to know what happened if you fed him MC and didn't test. Just thinking that his numbers might have gone down isn't the same as knowing. Especially at this point, you want to give his pancreas as much support for as long as possible before a trial.
 
Re: 4/13 Max amps 80--is it possible?!?

Max is doing really great, and I have to agree with Sienna. Wait a little long and see what happens. Healing time is so important! Patience is the key. Max will get there soon!
 
Re: 4/13 Max amps 80--is it possible?!?

Yes, I know he needs to actually drop below 50 (which is why I still gave his shot today). My question was that if he does that tonight (I should be able to stay up and watch him if need be), then is it okay to stop the juice after only 2 days of being on the fat 0 dose? I remember being told sometime before that it's better if the fat 0 dose can continue for more than just a few days, but if he's dropping below 50, then we HAVE to stop it, regardless of how long he's been on the dose, correct?
 
Re: 4/13 Max amps 80--is it possible?!?

Hi Mindy.
Terrific news for "your" Max today.
I guess you will see what happens tonught with Max to get more answers.
Sometimes you have control as to whether it is time to stop and sometimes you don't.
I guess the problem you face though is knowing if you should shoot tomorrow as you
will only have access to internet afterwards.
 
Re: 4/13 Max amps 80--is it possible?!?

Ooohhhh! That's GREAT. My 2 cents is that if he does below 50 tonight then you can start a trial. That's only my opinion and I'm not a dosing expert. I only know what happened to me and Boomer and my Mom's cat Francis. Boomer was on fat 0 for over a month, my mom's cat Francis not long at all. ECID, but it's looking good. I'm sure you'll get other opinions soon!
 
Hi Mindy, the short answer to your question is that we usually want to see at least 7 days of mostly green numbers on the 0.1 dose, or a number that drops below 50. There are other signs too, but those are the norm.

*Most* cats don't drop below 50 on 0.1 unit of insulin, unless they are a cat whose normal range (off insulin) is that low. Happens sometimes, not a lot.

I see some notes on your spreadsheet about schedule changes, which of Max's shots in the last few days have been given early, and how early? Can you mark those on your spreadsheet, so all the information is in one place?

No worries, people have an eye on Max's spreadsheet and we'll help you know what to do. :smile:
 
Thanks Libby. I've adjusted the ss. Darker dose color indicates a late shot. Lighter dose color indicates an early shot. All early shots were no more than 30 minutes early. The shot that was 2 hours late may have been a fat 0 dose--I remember telling DH to only give fat 0, but he wrote down .25u, so I don't know what actually happened.

Honestly, I didn't expect him to drop below 50 on either the .5 or the .25u doses. I was shocked at the 54 last night on the fat 0--really, I never thought that would happen. I realize it may have been because of the early shot, but this morning wasn't early, it was within +/-5 minutes of 12 hours, and he didn't really rise after eating (which he normally does). Tonight will definitely give some good info, but the question is what do I do in the morning since I can't talk to you all until after I get to work. I had been figuring we'd get to the weekend on the fat 0 before even thinking about an OTJ trial. My vet thinks I'm nuts for doing anything under .5u, but the proof is in the pudding here, and I do believe the protocol works.
 
Hi, Mindy & Max.. droppin thru to check on you two!! Sounds like things are going great for Max!! Cheering you both on!! Gooooo Max :mrgreen:
 
If I understood Libby's note, unless Max drops below 50 this evening or before AMPS tomorrow, continue to shoot a fat 0/0.1 dose. Continue to do so for 7 days unless Max earns the OTJ trial by dropping below 50.

Does that clarify?
 
How exciting it is over here! Glad you are going through it first so I can get some info lol, I wondered how long you stay on that dose myself? Looks like Max is racing to the finish, good luck tonight!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top