4/12 Stella AMPS/231 PMPS/209 Kitty Sitter=Success

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning everyone!

Wow, what a shocker to see Stella at a 38 yesterday! I had to give her her insulin injection for the PM late last night, and her BGs were wacky, so hopefully I will figure out her correct dose before my next work trip. It looks like she had a sunshine surf last night. I expected that sunshine surf because after a 38 I knew she would overwork the pancreas to get her BGs up, and bounce. On top of that I reduced her dose so I could sleep last night because I have to be into work early...meaning her AM injection will be early. I will most likely keep the 1F trying to balance all of these variables. Hopefully Friday and Saturday I can get us back on track. Hopefully she will wiggle her way down to the 1 F and we will be able to keep it.

I have also been thinking that on this work trip I may have the kitty sitter do a 'token' dose anyway so I don't come to a droopy hypo kitty like last time. I still can't get that image out of my head. Stella is probably still trying to adjust to the too much insulin while I was away. Seeing her 'state' I wonder how any vet lets people just 'blind shoot'. What a game of russian roulet! My vet tech doesnt really 'know' Stella so she wouldn't be able to see the change in Stella like I can.

Everything is in place with all of the P's. Even Boo has better poo with the new food. :lol:

Tonight is our Meet and Greet with another kitty sitter. This one came off of care.com, so let's hope it is a good one!
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Morning Mary! Ihope Stella clears her little bounce for you and does well with this dose. I can sure understand giving a token dose while you're away. It seems like the safe thing to do. REALLY... how does a vet say "just shoot and bring 'em in for a curve in a couple weeks" It's beyond me. Good luck with your meet and greets! Whoo Hoo on the new fuds!! Take care, many hugs and scritches from our house to yours
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Thanks ecurie! Stella can use all of your cheerleading vines.

Also, I forgot to say thanks to everyone who dropped by our condo last night. ;-)
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Thanks Dyana! I really do hope this kitty sitter is one to keep on the 'short list'. I was talking about it to a coworker and she said this city (Orlando) is very 'transient, so she wasn't suprised finding a kitty sitter had been a challenge for me. She also agreed that my trying to find several suitable candidates was a good idea in case they all leave. :roll:
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Morning Mary and wow, so sorry the sitter didn't work out last time. It's so hard to find someone we can trust. Lots of luck and good vines for the meet and greet and finding a good sitter. Give Stella some scritches from us,
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Morning Mary,

I've only gone away once since Zeus was Dx, and I had a vet tech come too for shots. I had her give a reduced dose while I was gone, so that I wouldn't worry as much and so that Zeus wouldn't go too low.

Good luck with your meet and greets :smile: I hope you find someone great, and at least one really good backup, just in case.

Hope Stella comes down for a pretty blue green surf :smile: have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Fingers and paws crossed for a good sitter. We could never go away - one of us always had to be home every 12 hours and testing times in the middle. But it's what we have to do to keep them safe and with the goal of remission but life gets in the way. I certainly understand the token dose and I would do the same thing if I had to. I came home to a very low number early on when I had my sitter blind shoot for a day or two. That freaked me out and it was the last time I let a blind shoot happen.

Boy Stella is starting to show some real progress lately! Go Stella go! Why won't the vet tech test? All the ones I interviewed could do it - they were just unreliable.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Clear the bounce Stella. :mrgreen: 38! Impressive! Good luck with the reducie.
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

Hi guys .. 38? Bet that was an eye opener! I hope that stella comes down for you nice and easy today .. I hope the new sitter works out for you, and I hope you can get all these variables working together! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231

I hope you can find a good petsitter for Stella before your next trip. Hopefully she slid down for you today and will settle into this dose for you.
 
Re: 4/12 Stella AMPS/231 PMPS/209

Wow. Hello EVERYBODY!!! It sure is nice to see that Stella has her own little Village, because it sure does take one and you are it! ;-) :smile: :-D

I was at work all day long, so I have no tests for the day. :roll: Just when I need to know what is going on too! I came home to a happy cat...so Stella must have been ok.

We have SUCCESS by the way with the kitty sitter! She has shot insulin, is insured, bonded, and does kitty CPR and belongs to all of these kitty organizations which I am sure everyone knows about but me. I like the insurance and her being bonded. She is a pro and I loved her. I think Stella picked up on my like of her, and as a result for the first time ever...Stella didn't hide behind the couch. This woman is amazing! Let's hope I come home to a happy Stella after this next trip! This kitty sitter respected me as much as I did her...she, like all of the others was very impressed with my 'kitty care' organization. Ironically one of her cats looks like Stella...Boo loves her and she loved Boo (they became immediate 'freinds'). Can you tell I am overwhelmed with the great kitty care match? She just understood Stella immediately and didn't push a relationship....which is probably why Stella stayed out to watch us interact. Stella is super smart.

This kitty sitter's husband is diabetic, so she watched me test Stella's BGs and immediately said she could and would do that too. I asked her not to this first visit (I want Stella to get insulin and this time also the High Blood pressure meds she didn't get from the vet tech), This kitty sitter said she would come over and watch and try again because she understands the comcept of needing to test BGs. All in all a great Meet and Greet. She said her and her husband weren't going anywhere for two years -Australia- so she didn't necessarily think I would need a 'back up'. But I said things happen...but I hope she is right.

OK...sorry for the novel! I am just so happy! Whew what a relief...to know I can go on these work trips and Stella will be ok. BTW...she also said she hoped she could 1. make Stella her freind so she could give her a 'tummy rub' - Stella loves that. 2. See Stella go OTJ :-D I thought that was a very positive message. What do you think?
 
Oh Carfurby, I think she will be a great kitty sitter...I really do! Let's hope so, right? We shall know for sure when I come back and Stella is still joyful. ;-)
 
YAY!!! That is GREAT to hear about the sitter you met! And it sounds like it will be a comfortable relationship for all of you, especially since Stella came out for her. I'm glad she understands the importance of testing and is completely fine doing it. Congrats!
 
Thanks Lisa & Leo! Yes, let's hope it all works out well for everyone. She said she had a kitty that looked like Stella, and she just sent me a pic of one named Oreo who is only six months old and looks very much like Boo. She has 5 cats. Two of them look like mine, so I guess automatically she already has a 'good vibe' when she is with my kitties. :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top