4/12 Rocky PMPS 360 +2 281 +4 175 +8 204

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117079&p=1229489#p1229489

I'm still battling a migraine headache, and I'm not sure, but it looks like this is a failed reduction for Rocky? :roll:

It looks like the lowest number the Rocky's BG got to last night on the reduced insulin dose of 2.0u was 236. Four hours after that he was back up to 245 and then climbing even higher.

Rocky recap of yesterday:
AMPS 308 +2 388 +5 336 +11 281
PMPS 280 +2 236 +6 245

When should I raise him back up again? Should I try a skinny or a fat?
 
Re: failed reducie? 4/12 Rocky AMPS 367 +2 415

As you know, I am too new to know about when to reduce or increase but based upon what I have been advised to do, it is probably too soon for a decision. I "think" Rocky might be bouncing. Let's see what the pros say. I hope your migraine goes away soon.

Elise
 
Re: failed reducie? 4/12 Rocky AMPS 367 +2 415

I think it's too soon to tell if this is a failed reduction. (To be honest, sometimes it can be difficult to tease out a failed reduction from a bounce.) The other thing to keep in mind is that when you start seeing predominantly blue and green nadirs, you hold the dose for 5 days (vs. the usual 3). That being the case, I'd like to see what happens to Rocky's numbers over the next day or so.
 
Re: failed reducie? 4/12 Rocky AMPS 367 +2 415

Hi guys,

I don't mind holding a dose if Rocky's BG gets to the green or blue numbers tonight. Right now, it just doesn't look like Rocky is going to get down that low on this reduced dose. In addition, I have only been feeding him his normal NVIV zero carb food.

Tonight's shot will be 6 cycles on the reduced dose. If he doesn't touch the green or blue numbers overnight, I don't believe this dose is enough insulin for him.

I would, however, love it if his pancreas decided to kick in more juice and start working on the 2.0u dose! :-D

Sienna, when you are talking about "holding a dose," I think you mean to hold a REDUCIE for 5 days rather than 3 days after previously seeing a stretch of blue and green numbers? Why would a CG do that if immediately when the reducie is taken the cat's BG zooms straight up to red numbers? :roll:
 
Re: failed reducie? 4/12 Rocky AMPS 367 +2 415 +6 346

From the TR Protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Dosecrease? 4/12 Rocky AMPS 367 +2 415 +6 346 +11 359

The protocol Sienna posted makes no sense to me. A CG needs to know in what context to relate this to..

I don't understand it. Rocky has had both nadirs below 50 and above 200 in the last 6 cycles on 2.0u of insulin. If I keep him at 2.0u tonight, it will be 8 cycles on this reduced dose.

Rocky had his longest stretch of green and blue numbers when he received somewhere in-between 2.25u and 2.50u of insulin. This 2.0u hasn't done anything to improve or stabilize his BG. He has only gone higher the longer he is on this reduced dose of insulin.

Also, is Rocky "new" to green numbers?

I really do not understand how to read this protocol information.

Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top