? 4/12 Djoko amps 308; +7 = 104; +8 = 139; pmps = 524 :(

Marj & Djoko

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...212-7-122-9-160-pmps-277.228332/#post-2557143

Hello,
We are seeing some good results with 1.5U. However, last time we held this dose, Djoko started to have very low pre shot values and we could't give him his shot (e.g. 108 on March 16,). I envision the same will be happening very soon. Dp you have any advice as how to deal with this? When we reduced the dose last time, he came back in really bad PS numbers (black and blue) and we had to start all over again to come back to blue or below renal thresholdold. Djoko's safety matters but high values are not healthy either.

Also, I am having troubles sleeping because I am terrified about hypo and always wonder if I will wake up to a dead cat. How do you guys manage this especially when many of your cats get into low numbers (green)? I am struggling with this very much to the point where I over fed Djoko yesterday night because his +3.5 was 209 and I was concerned he was going too low, which totally defeated the purpose.

Thank you very much!
Marjorie
 
I forgot to ask: when you get a big amount of blood, does it affect the result or not? Should I take for granted that as soon as I hear the "bip", this means there is sufficient blood and the result is therefore reliable?
Merci
 
I forgot to ask: when you get a big amount of blood, does it affect the result or not? Should I take for granted that as soon as I hear the "bip", this means there is sufficient blood and the result is therefore reliable?
Merci
Yes when you hear the bip of the meter, that is telling you there is enough blood
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...212-7-122-9-160-pmps-277.228332/#post-2557143

Hello,
We are seeing some good results with 1.5U. However, last time we held this dose, Djoko started to have very low pre shot values and we could't give him his shot (e.g. 108 on March 16,). I envision the same will be happening very soon. Dp you have any advice as how to deal with this? When we reduced the dose last time, he came back in really bad PS numbers (black and blue) and we had to start all over again to come back to blue or below renal thresholdold. Djoko's safety matters but high values are not healthy either.

Also, I am having troubles sleeping because I am terrified about hypo and always wonder if I will wake up to a dead cat. How do you guys manage this especially when many of your cats get into low numbers (green)? I am struggling with this very much to the point where I over fed Djoko yesterday night because his +3.5 was 209 and I was concerned he was going too low, which totally defeated the purpose.

Thank you very much!
Marjorie
Marj, Djoko is giving you some lovely blue numbers and the aim is to try and keep him in those blue numbers and in green numbers as well. To do this you are going to have to learn to shoot lower Preshot numbers, which you can do gradually over time.
You do not want to reduce the dose unless he drops under 68.
Next time you get a lower Preshot number, stall, don’t feed and test again 20 mins later and ask for help. Remember that the insulin doesn’t start to take effect for a couple of more hours so the BG has time to rise. When you have a lower Preshot the BGs don’t fall as much as when you have a higher Preshot.
As far as sleeping at night.... do you have an auto feeder? They can be invaluable. Also if you routinely get a before bed test done, that will usually tell you if it’s going to be an active cycle. If the before bed test is lower than the Preshot, then the cycle could be active so set your alarm to get another test in.
 
Marj, Djoko is giving you some lovely blue numbers and the aim is to try and keep him in those blue numbers and in green numbers as well. To do this you are going to have to learn to shoot lower Preshot numbers, which you can do gradually over time.
You do not want to reduce the dose unless he drops under 68.
Next time you get a lower Preshot number, stall, don’t feed and test again 20 mins later and ask for help. Remember that the insulin doesn’t start to take effect for a couple of more hours so the BG has time to rise. When you have a lower Preshot the BGs don’t fall as much as when you have a higher Preshot.
As far as sleeping at night.... do you have an auto feeder? They can be invaluable. Also if you routinely get a before bed test done, that will usually tell you if it’s going to be an active cycle. If the before bed test is lower than the Preshot, then the cycle could be active so set your alarm to get another test in.
Thank you for this. I will buy an auto feeder this weekend. I may have jinxed Djoko because he is high in black. Bouncing again...
 
Thank you for this. I will buy an auto feeder this weekend. I may have jinxed Djoko because he is high in black. Bouncing again...
I’m glad you are getting an auto feeder. You were given some good choices for the auto feeders a few days ago.
Yes, he’s still bouncing but he’s not bouncing for long though which is good
 
Back
Top