4/12; Boris bounce +7 @ 126, & based on past will go low

Nathalie & Boris

Member Since 2022
I'm asking ahead of time so I can have info in the am when most people might not be on to respond.

Based on charts, after a high bounce he typically hits a low swing. So just to be safe, as long as he stays above 68 Alphatrak, hold dose. If he goes below, while I'm sleeping is when it typically happens, in case I have a low BG number at the amps as predicted, do I still shoot the same, or feed, reduce .5 etc?

As Frost mentioned, he has a pattern of a slow drop, that continues until the next PS. I have a feeling I'll get the paw pokes in the head sometime between 1-4 am before my 515 alarm goes off to get up and feed/shoot. I've found when he is on the down swing at night he tries to wake me and won't leave me alone.

Advice for what to do in am with ranges would help. If above 68 at amps stick with same dose? If below reduce by? I'll update once I get up, but at 530 am I'll be anxious as will he.

Symolgyi effect help | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Last edited:
I'm asking ahead of time so I can have info in the am when most people might not be on to respond.

Based on charts, after a high bounce he typically hits a low swing. So just to be safe, as long as he stays above 68 Alphatrak, hold dose. If he goes below, while I'm sleeping is when it typically happens, in case I have a low BG number at the amps as predicted, do I still shoot the same, or feed, reduce .5 etc?

As Frost mentioned, he has a pattern of a slow drop, that continues until the next PS. I have a feeling I'll get the paw pokes in the head sometime between 1-4 am before my 515 alarm goes off to get up and feed/shoot. I've found when he is on the down swing at night he tries to wake me and won't leave me alone.

Advice for what to do in am with ranges would help. If above 68 at amps stick with same dose? If below reduce by? I'll update once I get up, but at 530 am I'll be anxious as will he.

Symolgyi effect help | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

@FrostD

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom
 
Thanks Diane! I've read the links you posted. Boris typically goes to extremes and gets hypo easily. They told me to post the thread for help when I started the new shot, and as you can see within 1 hour he has gone form 126 to 78. Thanks for the tagging. I had no idea we can do that. You are all awesome!
 
Thanks Diane! I've read the links you posted. Boris typically goes to extremes and gets hypo easily. They told me to post the thread for help when I started the new shot, and as you can see within 1 hour he has gone form 126 to 78. Thanks for the tagging. I had no idea we can do that. You are all awesome!

I'm actually afraid to go to sleep now.
 
I'm actually afraid to go to sleep now.

what most members do is just set an alarm for an hour or two in the future, in that situation perhaps. Because yes, 78 is a pretty massive plummet from the preshot 437, and if that sort of drop were to continue it could be bad

I see he rose to 130 by AMPS did you feed some medium or medium-high carb last night after the 78 maybe? sometimes I will give some MC late at night to ensure a higher BG so I can go to sleep without worry
 
Last edited:
what most members do is just set an alarm for an hour or two in the future, in that situation perhaps. Because yes, 78 is a pretty massive plummet from the preshot 437, and if that sort of drop were to continue it could be bad

I see he rose to 130 by AMPS did you feed some medium or medium-high carb last night after the 78 maybe? sometimes I will give some MC late at night to ensure a higher BG so I can go to sleep without worry

NO, I gave him a spoonful of tiki cat. It usually doesn't matter the food carb content as much as if he eat to get it to rise a little.

Now he just had the highest number he's had since starting insulin at +3 514. Is that swing normal without holding the shot?
 
that's really not that far off of some of your other +3/4/5s, like the 454 on 4/3. With the Alpha Trak and considering meter variance, I wouldn't dwell on the 514

could very well be a bounce from going down into the greens last night.
So do I try to hold the 1.25 shot I had last night? Frost said yesterday I should get help with this since Boris tends to dip later in the hours leading up to PS being nadir after he bounces.
 
So do I try to hold the 1.25 shot I had last night? Frost said yesterday I should get help with this since Boris tends to dip later in the hours leading up to PS being nadir after he bounces.
Yes, should have done 1.25U but that's ok. You know he nadired with that 78 last night and was flat or rising into PS.

Just a bounce from the lows, plus the slightly reduced dose
 
Yes, should have done 1.25U but that's ok. You know he nadired with that 78 last night and was flat or rising into PS.

Just a bounce from the lows, plus the slightly reduced dose
Ok. It’s just confusing because my vet said he should be between 80-150 with the Alphatrak. I’m going to go get the freestyle lite this week so I can be more in line with your numbers and e don’t have to transcribe.
 
Ok. It’s just confusing because my vet said he should be between 80-150 with the Alphatrak. I’m going to go get the freestyle lite this week so I can be more in line with your numbers and e don’t have to transcribe.
I also don’t know what he was between 1:30-530am my only hours of sleep. And since I didn’t have an answer at 530 I wanted to be safe
 
He was on the way up from last night so 1.25 would have been the correct dose. Better to be cautious when you don’t get an answer so don’t worry about that. He’s bouncing now. None of us know what’s happening when we aren’t testing but I suspect you saw the nadir. Is there any chance you could move his shot time an hour earlier while he’s having these late nadirs? Just a thought but not necessary.
 
Ok. It’s just confusing because my vet said he should be between 80-150 with the Alphatrak. I’m going to go get the freestyle lite this week so I can be more in line with your numbers and e don’t have to transcribe.
He should be, that range is ok. Remember you cannot control the higher numbers, you can only "control" nadir. What his body does as the insulin wears off or drops him is entirely up to him
 
He was on the way up from last night so 1.25 would have been the correct dose. Better to be cautious when you don’t get an answer so don’t worry about that. He’s bouncing now. None of us know what’s happening when we aren’t testing but I suspect you saw the nadir. Is there any chance you could move his shot time an hour earlier while he’s having these late nadirs? Just a thought but not necessary.
If I do that, won’t it affect all the other shots time? So then I’d have to be up at 430am the next morning? That’s what I was asking yesterday, if I hold to feed and shoot, does the entire schedule now change? I’m already struggling with sleep deprivation getting up at 530am and staying up late to keep an eye on his numbers.
 
My thought was a permanent time change but not if it doesn’t work for you. I was thinking that way you could go to bed earlier. I didn’t realize your shot time is 5:30 so this won’t work. You can’t get up any earlier. Sorry about that.

Sorry if I already asked but do you use an auto feeder? You could set it and get to bed at a better time.
 
Thanks Diane! I've read the links you posted. Boris typically goes to extremes and gets hypo easily. They told me to post the thread for help when I started the new shot, and as you can see within 1 hour he has gone form 126 to 78. Thanks for the tagging. I had no idea we can do that. You are all awesome
You're welcome, do you know how to tag members?
I usually tag members at the end of my posts
Just start to type the @then the first couple of letter of the member you want to tag and a drop down will appear showing members names, tap in the one you want
After you hit post the members name you tagged has to show up in blue
 
My thought was a permanent time change but not if it doesn’t work for you. I was thinking that way you could go to bed earlier. I didn’t realize your shot time is 5:30 so this won’t work. You can’t get up any earlier. Sorry about that.

Sorry if I already asked but do you use an auto feeder? You could set it and get to bed at a better time.
When he’s not doing low I usually get to bed by 10pm, but when he has low dips at night I stay up trying to track his numbers until I feel safe going to sleep. All the bouncing just started over the last couple of weeks, so if I can get those to minimize and flatten out, I’ll be golden again.

I looked at the feeder the other day at the pet store but couldn’t find the thread where you recommended it. I figured that out yesterday with Hendricks help. Will probably grab this week so if I see he is dipping I can possibly leave a little food out for him to keep him from going to low at night. I read somewhere that should only be done during the day, but at this point whatever works to stabilize him.
 
Yes, should have done 1.25U but that's ok. You know he nadired with that 78 last night and was flat or rising into PS.

Just a bounce from the lows, plus the slightly reduced dose

@FrostD So today his nadir is looking like it is at the 404 mark as he is now going back up. Poor little guy does not look like he feels well today. He's been sleeping more than usual which is a break from the yowling.

Just to be sure, go back to the 1.25 at PMS and try to hold that for 3 days unless he has a major drop?
I'm sure I'll be posting again tonight. lol

I hate these bounces and not able to get him regulated. Makes me feel like a failure.
 
@FrostD So today his nadir is looking like it is at the 404 mark as he is now going back up. Poor little guy does not look like he feels well today. He's been sleeping more than usual which is a break from the yowling.

Just to be sure, go back to the 1.25 at PMS and try to hold that for 3 days unless he has a major drop?
I'm sure I'll be posting again tonight. lol

I hate these bounces and not able to get him regulated. Makes me feel like a failure.
Correct, hold the dose. Hell come back down eventually!
 
@FrostD So today his nadir is looking like it is at the 404 mark as he is now going back up. Poor little guy does not look like he feels well today. He's been sleeping more than usual which is a break from the yowling.

Just to be sure, go back to the 1.25 at PMS and try to hold that for 3 days unless he has a major drop?
I'm sure I'll be posting again tonight. lol

I hate these bounces and not able to get him regulated. Makes me feel like a failure.
Hey there Nathalie, your not a failure so please don't feel like you are. You are doing great & you are in good hands! Remember it's not a race it's a marathon. Your kitty will become regulated in time. Your kitty will bounce, go low & high & have what's called a flat cycle & eventually a green cycle. Just hang in there & keep doing what your doing. I know it's exhausting, I have been getting broken sleep since October. I may have to nap at weird times but it's better than no sleep. I have auto feeders for my boys but my non sugar kitty is spoiled rotten & won't eat out of it unless you coax him. My job & broken sleep allows me to feed them every 4hrs except on Wednesdays. Fournately I am able to get someone to feed there +8 AMPS on that day until I can get kitty to quit being a brat. It took awhile for me to get my sugar boy to where he is now & he still has aways to go but you get there with these ladies help:bighug:
 
Hey there Nathalie, your not a failure so please don't feel like you are. You are doing great & you are in good hands! Remember it's not a race it's a marathon. Your kitty will become regulated in time. Your kitty will bounce, go low & high & have what's called a flat cycle & eventually a green cycle. Just hang in there & keep doing what your doing. I know it's exhausting, I have been getting broken sleep since October. I may have to nap at weird times but it's better than no sleep. I have auto feeders for my boys but my non sugar kitty is spoiled rotten & won't eat out of it unless you coax him. My job & broken sleep allows me to feed them every 4hrs except on Wednesdays. Fournately I am able to get someone to feed there +8 AMPS on that day until I can get kitty to quit being a brat. It took awhile for me to get my sugar boy to where he is now & he still has aways to go but you get there with these ladies help:bighug:
It is exhausting and I am so thankful for this group and all the help they give. I am lucky to work from home a good portion of the time, and set up my appointments out of home for times I can check his typical low etc. Praying we all hit a point where it will be easier. If we could get a full nights rest just once, it might make handling all this easier. ;)
 
Back
Top