4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100, PMBG 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

dpaslean

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone.
Thank you to everyone who stopped by yesterday. Seven days down, seven to go.
For the last three mornings, compared to the three mornings before that, I have gotten up and fed 1 TBS. at PM +9 and it seems to have helped lower his AM BG numbers down from those 120's.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117043

Summary 4/11
AMBG 106 no shot
PMBG 96 no shot
+4 83

Today 4/12
AMBG 100 no shot
+5 100
PMBG 94 no shot

Everyone have a great day.
Dwight
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100

Halfway there - that's exciting! I'm keeping notes on what you're trying with Boots that might be able to help Jersey, so I appreciate you sharing the changes you're making.

Yay, Boots!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100

Happy Day 7! Halfway there.
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100

Yay!!! Half way there.

This Boots is made for walking right to the Falls
(anti-jinx)

:RAHCAT Let's Go Boots! :RAHCAT Let's Go Boots! :RAHCAT Let's Go Boots!
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100

GO BOOTS!!! WHOO HOO FOR DAY 7! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100

Day Seven - halfway to heaven! dancing_cat

These boots are made for walking and walking's what I'll do, one of these days these boots are gonna walk away from juice.
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100

CONGRATS ON DAY SEVEN BOOTS!!!!

The +9 meal helps because his pancreas is working :-D :-D :-D This is so exciting!!!
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100

Thanks Shelly, Carla, Laura, Jane, Liz, and Marje.
I think I need to see if I can scheme my way into keeping this cheering section for day 15,16,17......
Liz, when I read your new lyrics I had to laugh and then I went into a coughing attack because I've been sick all week but it's all good now. It was worth it. ;-)

Marje, I agree, it's a relief his own insulin is doing it's job. I couldn't be happier.

I have another question if someone is willing to take it on. It seems Boots is still IMO, drinking a quite a little water outside of their wet food. I even add more water to their food at each meal and both of my cats still drink from the bowl. Is this anything to be concerned over? If this helps, Boots had kidney tests done back in Feb. and the BUN was 44 and creatinine was 2.4. The reference range for these two on the test sheet I have were BUN 14-36 and Creatinine .6-2.4. He is scheduled to go back to the vet in a week or two to get retested. Would anyone here expect those numbers to have improved being the diet has been a 180* turnaround and been 100% Friskies SD Turkey & Gibs? I guess I'm just trying to get an idea if I'm going to be in for more vet bills.

So, thanks again everyone.
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100

Congrats on day 7!!

As for the kidney situation, you need one more piece in this puzzle. Was a urinalysis done and if so, what was the urine specific gravity? Dilute urine would mean possibly combined with the other numbers the very beginning of kidney disease. You would need more than one test before deciding whether or not it is so. Your vet is doing exactly the right thing. Was the testing done on a fast? If not the numbers could be higher than they really are as well. If anything is happening it is very early and it may not be. "If" it is stage one you really wouldn't do anything different for Boots anyhow so enjoy the ride to going OTJ.

Elise
 
Re: 4/12 Boots OTJ Trial Day 7 AMBG 100,+5 100

Thanks Elise,
I took him in on Tue. Feb 25 for the urinalysis 7 days after starting insulin. He was fed that day at 6 AM, given his shot and I dropped him off at 8:30. Appointment was at 9 so he had some food in him.

The test results sheet says Antech Diagnostics. Looking over it I don't see anything that says specific gravity. Could it have a different term? There are two columns of tests. The left side says Pre-Op Chemistries and the right side says CBC.

The left side tests are: tot protein, albumin (which was 4.3 and says high), globulin, A/G ratio, ALT (SGPT), alk phosphatase, BUN, creatinine, BUN/creatinine ratio, glucose.

The right side tests are: WBC,RBC,HGB,HCT,MCV,MCH,MCHC, platelet count, platelet est, differential, neutrophilis, lymphocytes (were low 1035), monocytes, eosinophils, basophils.

Then at the bottom it says Test Requested: Total T4 which was 2.8

I don't know if all of that helps but that is all that is on this sheet.
I had to stop here in the middle to go do the PMBG which was 94 so all is good on that.

Thanks again.
 
I'm looking at my Antech printout and right after appearance it lists Specific Gravity. It says the range is 1.015-1.060 but you really would like to see it no lower than 1.040. It's part of the urinalysis and not the blood tests.

Elise
 
urine tests results are usually listed in a separate spot on the lab results. cats are supposed to be able to highly concentrate their urine, but if the kidneys are having trouble they lose the ability to do that. punkin peed a ton and he always drank a lot of water too.

switching to the low phos was a good first step for addressing early CKD.

good job on bringing down those amps - it looks like it's dropped him 20ish points.

Congrats on Day 7!

woot-17721.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top