4/11 Lanky AMPS 364

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm glad to see you've increased Lanky's dose. It may take a couple more cycles for it to settle in.

We encourage you to provide a "whole cat report" (WCR) each day. It tells us something about Lanky since he's more than just his numbers. You'll often hear people talk about the 5 Ps (playing, preening, peeing, pooping, and purring) as a barometer of how our kitties are doing.
 
Yeah even just random goofy things your cat does.. help us get to know Lanky from afar.. then we don't feel so silly for getting emotionally attached to him :).
 
OK. Lanky feels pretty good today, eating like a horse. He usually has a good appetite, it is just a matter of how big.

Lanky has always slept very soundly so when I wake him up to test or hug or something, you can tell he is about half there and even more cooperative than his "normal cooperative" self. Before us he was abused & had his jaw broken. Hard to believe because his is such a sweetheart. When he came to visit me one day he gave me that look and then the sun reflected off something shinny under his chin. He let me touch him and I thought it was a nail or a screw. I was just sick thinking about how this had happened. I called my office (I am retired now, thank God) saying I had a vet emergency. Off we went. Apparently someone had his jaw wired after the injury but then neglected to have the wire removed after the jaw had healed. Lanky is fastidiously clean & had an "owee" on his chest from where the wire was hitting him and he was frustrated with the fact that the wire prevented him from throughly cleaning himself. The vet removed the wire -- what a happy guy he was, cleaning himself for a couple of days straight. He eventually became a full-time, indoor resident -- after he convinced Dad. Dad is now totally wrapped around his paw.

Lanky also has kitty acne on his chin that I clean periodically with Stridex pads. Today when I bugged him for the +2 BG test, I noticed his chin seemed worse and was a little bit bloody where he has been scratching. I cleaned it off with hydrogen peroxide and then used a Stridex pad. I'll keep any eye on it for the time being. We were very disappointed with the 437 reading. He had an extended breakfast & snacking period so maybe that contributed. And it made we want to test again at +3 which I did with better results, 377. Right now he is taking a nap on the rug by my feet as I type away in between assembling an HDTV antenna for my husband. Next test: +5 or 6, what do you think?
 
a +6 would be fine.
i just can't wrap my mind around animal abuse. poor little guy. he's so lucky to have found you!
chin acne... you might want to use plain old soap and water to clean his chin before using the stridex pads. hydrogen peroxide is known to damage healthy tissue. no one ever told my mom. she used it on us for years! my vet clued me in when one of mine had a real bad case of chin acne...
 
Poor baby-----Lanky found a wonderful momma bean. Bless you for taking him in and giving him a loving home. That was a WONDERFUL WCR (whole cat report). I am happy to see the 300's....how about you? Hope the rest of your day is good and Lanky does well. (((((hugs)))))
 
Awwww! I am so glad Lanky found you. He knew exactly who would take care of him. cat_pet_icon

Thanks for sharing and letting us know a luttle more about him. I love his name.
 
Awww poor guy.. I'm a huge suck for the hard luck cases... now I can completely justify being emotionally attached! He picked a good human and I'm happy to hear Dad is a sucker for him :).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top