4/11 Hugo AMPS 471. +3 = 543. +6 = 462

I feel like no one's spreadsheets look remotely like mine. I feel like everyone else's data makes sense and mine just keeps getting worse. We give him more, he keeps getting higher. We can't figure out if we're doing the shots wrong or he's stressed or there's something else going on? Why doesn't the data make sense? What is his body doing?
 
His glucose was in the 500s when we originally brought him into the hospital in February and he was really sick. I hate this.
 
I'm sorry :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:.

It really is still early days. You may not see a lot of them around right at this moment, but believe me, I've seen lots of cats with a rainbow spreadsheet for their first few months. It's very very common, so it doesn't mean there's something wrong with Hugo, and it definitely doesn't mean you're doing anything wrong!

You're still figuring out how much insulin he needs, and he isn't making your job very easy, that's all. You'll get there, though, even if in the end the answer to "how much insulin he needs" is, "a lot". It's frustrating at this stage, but there's no other way than patiently changing the dose. I've seen cats where, once they get to the right dose or break glucose toxicity or whatever, it's like flipping a switch, but there's no way to predict before hand what that magical dose will be (if only there were!).
 
Hi Elle, that’s good Hugo is eating well....progress.
He is up to cycle 6 of the 2.25 dose tonight so you can increase the dose to 2.5 tomorrow morning, providing he doesn’t drop into the greens.
Any ketone tests today?
What Nan says is true, there are many cats around with SS like Hugo’s.
 
New dose wonkiness should be over by now, typically in the first few cycles only after an increase. Today is "just" a bounce to that particularly long stretch of blue yesterday.

At one point, I dubbed by girl the "Rainbow Queen". Use to have virtual rainbow parties with another bouncy boy cat who was the Rainbow King. :rolleyes: Normal - yes. Annoying - very much so!
 
I wasn't able to catch any ketone tests yet today, but I'm keeping an eye on him so I can catch one in the evening or get a blood one if I can.

I hate bouncing. I tried not to be but those blues got me so hopeful. Then I look at his sheet and there are these sporadic blues and greens everywhere, even for small doses, and it makes me feel like it doesn't matter. I don't want my baby to be in pain. I know this is a long haul thing. I'm trying to be patient and realistic. But as every day goes by it feels like that possibility of healing and remission gets further and further away.
 
Elle, my Sheba was a notorious bouncer, and she dived down low as well.
Here below is her 2015 SS which was the year I joined FDMB.
She was first diagnosed in 2011, went into remission after 3 months for 2 1/2 years then fell out of remission. You can see she had a rainbow SS and was often in high numbers.
Keeping notes in the remarks column is very good for you to look back on and see when things worked or didn’t work.
I used to get anxious about her high numbers which didn’t help at all. The biggest thing this whole journey taught me was patience, patience, patience.
Once I was told what a bounce was, I was much less anxious about the high numbers as I knew then that she was not actually in those high numbers because she was not getting the insulin she needed, but because her body had dumped the stored glucose into her system and was artificially sending the numbers high.
Here is her 2015 SS. It was @Wendy&Neko, @Chris & China (GA) and another lady who is no longer around who helped me so much in the beginning.
ETA the link is sending you to the 2017 SS. Just scroll across the top of the page to the 2015 US SS
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1fiN54cqJJwGCaoo8aB0OytAsVZn6LSKGYX3fyRTJdMc/pubhtml#
 
I feel like no one's spreadsheets look remotely like mine. I feel like everyone else's data makes sense and mine just keeps getting worse. We give him more, he keeps getting higher. We can't figure out if we're doing the shots wrong or he's stressed or there's something else going on? Why doesn't the data make sense? What is his body doing?
Please have a look at Djoko's SS. You will feel much better!
 
Elle, my Sheba was a notorious bouncer, and she dived down low as well.
Here below is her 2015 SS which was the year I joined FDMB.
She was first diagnosed in 2011, went into remission after 3 months for 2 1/2 years then fell out of remission. You can see she had a rainbow SS and was often in high numbers.
Keeping notes in the remarks column is very good for you to look back on and see when things worked or didn’t work.
I used to get anxious about her high numbers which didn’t help at all. The biggest thing this whole journey taught me was patience, patience, patience.
Once I was told what a bounce was, I was much less anxious about the high numbers as I knew then that she was not actually in those high numbers because she was not getting the insulin she needed, but because her body had dumped the stored glucose into her system and was artificially sending the numbers high.
Here is her 2015 SS. It was @Wendy&Neko, @Chris & China (GA) and another lady who is no longer around who helped me so much in the beginning.
ETA the link is sending you to the 2017 SS. Just scroll across the top of the page to the 2015 US SS
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1fiN54cqJJwGCaoo8aB0OytAsVZn6LSKGYX3fyRTJdMc/pubhtml#

How was it at first though, when she was first diagnosed? How did she get in remission so fast?
 
How was it at first though, when she was first diagnosed? How did she get in remission so fast?
Some cats just do go into remission quickly. A lot don’t though.
I was testing but not a lot in the beginning and I didn’t write anything down but I do remember she went up to 3 units before coming back down. The second time around was much harder.
 
PMPS 493. Neg urine ketone strip.

Boyfriend thinks he might've given a fur shot this morning and that's why the numbers were so bad today.
 
There might still be a smell of insulin around this morning's injection site. It's a strong smell, seems to last a while.
 
There might still be a smell of insulin around this morning's injection site. It's a strong smell, seems to last a while.

We didn't smell anything, but Hugo twitches his skin pretty hardcore when we give him the shot on a usual basis. He gets irritable pretty easily.
 
Back
Top