? 4/11 Fistuk AMPS 86, +2.75 101, +6 90, +9 126, +10.5 137 PMPS 115, +4 88

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-83-3-86-5-5-77-pmps-104.299964/#post-3263610

Hi Everyone :)

Fistuk is not doing so great today. He had a big production this morning. It was formed but had a lot of tar black strips. I noticed that the painkillers did the same to my production.

At breakfast he ate partly by himself by mostly with syringe. I'm out all day working, now on my way home. He didn't eat much of his +3 snack and at +6 it was just with syringe for the cat sitter. He also growled at her when she picked him up for the toilet - very unusual for Fistuk. I asked her to give him Ondansetron.

Now @+9 he didn't want to eat at all but no growling and look at this reading :( Obvisouly something is up - but what could it be?? Could it be that he's still suffering from the overdose ? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo

I also wanted to ask - the vet prescribed antibiotics, Synulox 50mg twice a day for 30 days - isn't it too long?? He's had it for 10 days now maybe it's starting to disturb his digestion too much?

I can't really ask the vet about it, not when they think that 6.9 (124) is normal BG range when I already know, not just from TR but from experience that it's a sign that his body is in stress!

The vet has done a great job in the surgery, and she's obviously very talented in handling high risk anaesthesia meds but when it comes to diagnosis, her neurosis around the fact that he has diabetes and CKD (You need to hear her tone of voice when she's saying that) is giving me the sense that she's not able to look at him as a whole being but as sicknesses.

I'd be grateful for any ideas to look at what's going on and what has gone wrong.

Wishing you a really boring day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry to hear today is not going well for Fistuk :( You're doing such a great job caring for him post-surgery.
I wish I had some advice to give. I know how difficult it is to get direction from the vet that just doesn't feel right and then be questioning everything. Hope our great experienced members have some insights to share and help!
Hope tonight is better for you both :bighug: Lots of hugs
 
UPDATE:
Came home - to vomit! clearly Fistuk's. He omitted whatever food he had probably from +6 and +9.
He looks relived, as if he feel better now for getting out whatever was bothering him.
he showed interest in food but took only a couple of licks and that's it.
I gave 70ml SQ
Will wait till supper to see how he is with food and will give 4mg Ondansetron
 
UPDATE:
Came home - to vomit! clearly Fistuk's. He omitted whatever food he had probably from +6 and +9.
He looks relived, as if he feel better now for getting out whatever was bothering him.
he showed interest in food but took only a couple of licks and that's it.
I gave 70ml SQ
Will wait till supper to see how he is with food and will give 4mg Ondansetron
Awww poor fella. Hoping he feels better soon, he's had a rough go of it and I hope he's turning the corner. :bighug::cat::bighug: All the positive vines heading your way.
 
I am so sorry to hear Fistuk isn't doing well. I hope he gets back his appetite, poor little buddy. Wishing you two the best in overcoming this weird hurdle <3
 
I'm so sorry to hear today is not going well for Fistuk :( You're doing such a great job caring for him post-surgery.
I wish I had some advice to give. I know how difficult it is to get direction from the vet that just doesn't feel right and then be questioning everything. Hope our great experienced members have some insights to share and help!
Hope tonight is better for you both :bighug: Lots of hugs
Thanks, Briana.
This vet was really great for the surgery. I'm afraid I don't trust any vet. We do have a home vet who's doing a great job. But there's always something and I always need to do my own research.This forum has been the one place that without fail offered advice that helped or even saved us :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Briana.
This vet was really great for the surgery. I'm afraid I don't trust any vet. We do have a home vet who's doing a great job. But there's always something and I always need to do my own research.This forum has been the one place that without fail offered advice that helped or even saved us :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Yes, it's very easy to lose trust unfortunately. They just don't have the personal attachment you do. No one will care more than us about our fur babies, but certainly everyone here is invested and with the years of knowledge and experience, makes for a great group of advice. Glad we all have this :bighug:
 
Aww, I'm so sorry that poor Fistuk is having a miserable day! :(

I don't blame you for wanting help from the vet but not when they're unsupportive/uninformed about the numbers. That's such a tough spot to be in. :(

Sending you all of the love and healing vines for Fistuk! :bighug:
 
I’m pretty sure the dark stool is from the pain killer. Typically antibiotics are given for 7-14 days but sometimes an extra 10 days is needed. I would ask your vet. I hope he returns to normal today. :bighug:
Thanks, Elise :)
I wrote to her an update and asked if it's necessary to keep on with the antibiotics. I really have a string feeling that his body is just done with meds. Lets see if she responds since it's the weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
UPDATE:
Fistuk just omitted again (+6, 2am). That's 3 hours after the last snack. It looks like he vomited only the last snack. It ws 10g of food.

Right after the vomit he was hungry and ate just about 3g but he ate by himself.

In the vomit, something caught my attention. It was in the first vomit as well-a small strain of what looks like dried blood.

In the poo he had the night of the trippy opioid I noticed blood in the poo.

Could it be still a side effect of the awful Bupernophrin he had on the 8th? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo
 
A lot of this is over my head, but I wonder if you have looked at this site? You probably have. This page talks about his antibiotic, the Synulox; Tany calls them pink sweeties. Tanya's Comprehensive Guide to Feline CDK
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for looking it up, Dean and Lesley.
I do know of Tanya's website. Always appreciate reference to specific pages as I find the website overwhelms me.
I did look at that page just earlier today as I was looking at this same page - but I didn't see a mention of this AB or a mention of pink sweaty (just a illustration of the way this site affects my brain). Can you point me in the direction you spotted it?
Thanks :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for looking it up, Dean and Lesley.
I do know of Tanya's website. Always appreciate reference to specific pages as I find the website overwhelms me.
I did look at that page just earlier today as I was looking at this same page - but I didn't see a mention of this AB or a mention of pink sweaty (just a illustration of the way this site affects my brain). Can you point me in the direction you spotted it?
Thanks :bighug::bighug::bighug:
upload_2025-4-11_20-23-54.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-11_20-23-54.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-11_20-23-54.jpeg
    20 KB · Views: 125
I am sorry to read that Fistuk is no well. Something strikes me in what you decsribe, though: black tar-like stools look like there might be blood from somewhere higher along his digestive track, and you say there was some blood in his vomit. Do you have a vet that would be open tomorrow? I think I would give them a call to talk about this.
My old vet explained to me why they tend to recommend higher BGs. Most cat owners won't test, and lower numbers are more dangerous if you do not test, so they prefer to err on the side of safety and recommend the higher end of the normal range. Once she knows you and se how well you take care of him, she will understand :) I usually just let it go, they don't really know to know the details, as long as you know what you are doing. In my experience most of the vets we saw, either regularly or at the ER, were very impressed by Bella's numbers and did not worry after I explained that I tested her and reacted to her numbers. They are not home with you :cat:
I am sending you lots of good thoughts and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Briana.
This vet was really great for the surgery. I'm afraid I don't trust any vet. We do have a home vet who's doing a great job. But there's always something and I always need to do my own research.This forum has been the one place that without fail offered advice that helped or even saved us :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I feel this, Shelly, you're not alone. I don't trust them either. I feel like they never listen to me and only want to tell me what they think is best. I would be so, so lost without everyone on this forum.

I'm so sorry Fistuk is feeling yucky. I hope he feels better soon, and I hope you find some answers.
 
I feel this, Shelly, you're not alone. I don't trust them either. I feel like they never listen to me and only want to tell me what they think is best. I would be so, so lost without everyone on this forum.

I'm so sorry Fistuk is feeling yucky. I hope he feels better soon, and I hope you find some answers.
thanks, Jess :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top