4/11 Bud AMPS 395, +2.5 394, PMPS 314, +2 137, +4 40, + 4.25 55, +4.75 137

Status
Not open for further replies.
The best thing to help a bouncy cat is to get them used to spending more time in normal numbers. Neko used to be a very bouncy cat, now she's just slightly bouncy. :rolleyes: I used to call her the Rainbow Queen. With Neko, if I'm at a dose where she's getting nadirs in the 70's, she doesn't bounce as much.

Staying at a dose longer does not help, and may make things worse. If you linger too long at a dose where they see higher numbers, there's the possibility of glucose toxicity setting in (basically they get used to higher numbers) and you have to go even higher in dose to break through to getting good numbers. Increasing according to TR or SLGS (whichever you use), as soon as you safely can, is the way to go.

As for cats that are fast droppers, that's quite common. I don't know how you feed Bud now, but spreading out his meals in the first part of the cycle when he drops may help. If he has carbs on board when he onsets it can slow the drops. To me, it looks like mini meals around +2 and +3 might help Bud. Just split his food into smaller meals. There is also a discussion on Feeding the Curve in the post called Where Can I Find.
 
The best thing to help a bouncy cat is to get them used to spending more time in normal numbers. Neko used to be a very bouncy cat, now she's just slightly bouncy. :rolleyes: I used to call her the Rainbow Queen. With Neko, if I'm at a dose where she's getting nadirs in the 70's, she doesn't bounce as much.

Staying at a dose longer does not help, and may make things worse. If you linger too long at a dose where they see higher numbers, there's the possibility of glucose toxicity setting in (basically they get used to higher numbers) and you have to go even higher in dose to break through to getting good numbers. Increasing according to TR or SLGS (whichever you use), as soon as you safely can, is the way to go.

As for cats that are fast droppers, that's quite common. I don't know how you feed Bud now, but spreading out his meals in the first part of the cycle when he drops may help. If he has carbs on board when he onsets it can slow the drops. To me, it looks like mini meals around +2 and +3 might help Bud. Just split his food into smaller meals. There is also a discussion on Feeding the Curve in the post called Where Can I Find.

Thanks for the tips! I can play around with his food tonight and tomorrow to see if I can find something that helps. I've been feeding a little higher carb with his shot, but maybe I'll try low carb with his shot and a medium carb snack at +2 or +3.

Do you think it's okay to increase tonight then?
 
I think you've got enough tests in to say you could increase to 1.25U tonight. Good luck with the increase.

Food experiments can take a while to see results, so try something and stick with a week and see if you see a change before tweaking.
 
Thanks for all the help! I'll try the low carb with shot and medium carb snack later for a week then.
 
One trick that many people use when they are tinkering with the food is to put an * in the cells when the cat eats. That can help you see patterns when you look back on it.
 
I found with Max that I had to feed him some mc if he started to drop, 9% carbs, to slow him down and higher carbs were needed to prevent him from earning reductions and keep him on higher doses for longer. He still doesn't hold reductions like the typical cat (if there is such a thing as a typical cat). It took over a year to flatten him out. Hang in there.
 
For some reason, I am getting an error on your SS link and it won't let me open it. If you need any help with that, I'm a SS guru so just PM me and I'll work with you on it.

Our girl is a bouncy girl and I've found with her that a bit more insulin helps smooth the bounces out a bit but it also requires that I stay on top of the tests and monitoring her. Two things cause bounces: fast drops and lower numbers so if you can control both a bit more, it can help. As Wendy and Elise said, two things that help with fast drops are spaced out feedings and also feeding a bit higher low carb food as they start to come down. The other thing I will add that helps my Gracie with the dropping fast is if I catch it before she really gets going on the drop....which means a bit more testing but if you can catch the drop as it starts and feed a little higher LC, then you can slow it down.

And of course, the longer you can keep them in good numbers, the less they will bounce.
 
For some reason, I am getting an error on your SS link and it won't let me open it. If you need any help with that, I'm a SS guru so just PM me and I'll work with you on it.

Our girl is a bouncy girl and I've found with her that a bit more insulin helps smooth the bounces out a bit but it also requires that I stay on top of the tests and monitoring her. Two things cause bounces: fast drops and lower numbers so if you can control both a bit more, it can help. As Wendy and Elise said, two things that help with fast drops are spaced out feedings and also feeding a bit higher low carb food as they start to come down. The other thing I will add that helps my Gracie with the dropping fast is if I catch it before she really gets going on the drop....which means a bit more testing but if you can catch the drop as it starts and feed a little higher LC, then you can slow it down.

And of course, the longer you can keep them in good numbers, the less they will bounce.

When I feed "higher" carb, I mix FF Turkey & Giblets (3%) and Friskies Turkey & Cheese shreds (14%). My theory is the higher carb will slow the drop and the lower will sustain the numbers. I don't know if that's right, but that's what I was toying with. I've been feeding that at shot time, but I am going to try 3-5% at shot time and then I have some 9% I could feed when he starts dropping.

I've been updating my spreadsheet on the iPad. Don't know if that messed anything up.
 
I think I had link sharing turned off? I don't know how that happened. I changed it. Will you let me know if that fixed it?
 
Nope....I still can't see it. The link sharing doesn't matter. It has to be published to the web.

If your feeding strategy doesn't work, you can always try the 9% all the time. Sometimes a little higher low carb works better for some cats and allows you to get a tad more insulin into him safely. Managing the curve with food takes some experimentation. What works for one cat, won't necessarily work for another and it takes time to figure out how they respond. And they can change ;);)
 
Increased to 1.25 tonight. Bud has been been giving me pink preshots today which is a nice change. But he's dropped super fast from PMPS. Fed some 14% carb and will get a +4.
 
40 at +4. Fed some gravy and will retest in 30 minutes. Guess I'm going back to 1.0 unit in the morning?
 
WHoa there, Bud. I'd give him a drop of syrup or karo with his gravy. Please retest in 30 mins. I'll be waiting for you.

I want to look at his SS again. I want to see if there's something we missed that Bud was telling us he was going to do this.
 
I haven't seen a green in weeks. Of course I think he might have had some and I missed them, but pretty much his numbers have been high enough that I felt ok going to bed and not checking him again.
 
The only place I can see where he might have been going low was the few days that have no daytime tests other than the PSs. I have seen cats go from high 300s to 40s mid cycle and back up by PMPS. It is possible he dropped down those days.

yes...I'd take his dose back down to 1u tomorrow morning.

Is he coming back up?

It's ok to take the 911 down now. I'll be watching for you.
 
I think it's a good idea to alternate gravy with food to help keep the numbers from falling back down. I'm glad he's up. I'd probably give him some higher LC or some MC food and retest in 30.

See you then.
 
Ok. I don't think Bud would object to eating more lol. See you in about 25 minutes! Thanks so much for sticking with me!
 
Tested 123/129 at +5.25 just now. Close to an hour since having 17% carbs. Treated tests after that with grilled chicken.
 
Glad Wendy popped in. I had to feed Gracie and then Barsa's mom put up a 911.

You usually want a couple of nonfood influenced rising numbers or even a couple of hours of no food with rising numbers before you go to bed. Perhaps you could set an alarm and pop back up in a bit to test him if you haven't had a couple hours with no food.

With his latest tests, I'd be hesitant to totally call it a night. That 17% can wear off in another hour and he could come back down.
 
Sounds good. I'll set an alarm for one hour. Now, will I actually be able to fall asleep....? Lol
 
Thanks everyone!! Bud tested 180/175 at +6 so I'm calling it a night. Thanks for the pajama party but let's not do this again soon... Lol. See ya'll in the morning! Or rather, later this morning... ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top