? 4/10 Millie Post DKA AMPS 490 (AT). +5 332, +9 400 NEW bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Mille has been bouncing with very high numbers. Yesterday she seemed to be recovery from her bounce and I was informed the an increase might be necessary (if all else was fine). Millie is post DKA (two episodes last month). Some time last night she vomited a little. Not sure if I should increase her AM shot. I might be able to get my neighbor to help me test her once or twice today.

Millie seems fine right now, asking for food, chatting and resting. I haven't had a chance to get a ketone count, I'm waiting for her to use her box.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...on-continue-to-hold-dose.176074/#post-1936921
 
Did she get a blue last night?
I would do the increase this morning. See if you can get your neighbor to help you test around +4 or +5 and update us with that test. Good luck with the increase.
 
Did she get a blue last night?
I would do the increase this morning. See if you can get your neighbor to help you test around +4 or +5 and update us with that test. Good luck with the increase.
No blue, all pinks yesterday (high 300s).

Thanks.
 
No, that's fine. I think she needs the increase. Is she eating her breakfast now? If the throw up last night was just clear fluid, and not food or a hairball, it could have been because her tummy was empty.
I hope you and your neighbor are able to get some tests in today.
 
No, that's fine. I think she needs the increase. Is she eating her breakfast now? If the throw up last night was just clear fluid, and not food or a hairball, it could have been because her tummy was empty.
I hope you and your neighbor are able to get some tests in today.

She vomited a bit of food last night. She did eat a little earlier this morning.
 
You're doing great with the ketone tests. Try to get another one this morning.
When you get a test, update the Subject Line and write a post in this thread with the number to bump it to the top.
You might want to feed her smaller portions but more frequently to help her tummy.
 
You're doing great with the ketone tests. Try to get another one this morning.
When you get a test, update the Subject Line and write a post in this thread with the number to bump it to the top.
You might want to feed her smaller portions but more frequently to help her tummy.
Just got a ketone test and it's negative. Also texted the neighbor to see if and when she's available today. Millie has been drinking a bit this morning probably because she's been laying near the radiator!
 
You're doing great with the ketone tests. Try to get another one this morning.
When you get a test, update the Subject Line and write a post in this thread with the number to bump it to the top.
You might want to feed her smaller portions but more frequently to help her tummy.
Millie's +5 bg 332 after the .25 increase this morning. Know sometimes she bounces later. Hopefully her body is getting used to insulin. I may try another test at +7/+8 if I can get someone to stop by. Ketones remain negative. she's drinking a lot today.
 
I'm sorry your question was not responded to until now.
It looks like it could be a bounce, but it could also be what we call new dose wonkiness, where they go a little high just after a dose increase. It's hard to say with Millie.
I hope this new dose works to get her into some better numbers, soon. She really needs to get out of these high numbers. I hope you are still practicing to one day start testing Millie on your own, because one day you might really need to.
Good luck with this new dose. It sure would be nice to see some blues today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top