4/10 Doodles AMPS 464 PMPS 329 +2 401 (2.5R) +3 357 +5 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 4/9 Mostly Yellow Day After Doodles PM+5 I was expecting a pretty high AMPS plus we raised him to 10u last night so maybe a little NDW too. He's eating good and appears to be felling well. Once again bird & bunny watching this morning and some cat chat with Moo.

@Marje and Gracie , @Sandy and Black Kitty and others on the R team.
  • As Marje mentioned last night, he's not getting duration from the R but is dropping pretty good with 3u
  • I should've given a larger dose of R yesterday afternoon. I'm thinking he'll need another dose @ +7 today or what other hour should we try?
  • For the PM cycle does it make sense to push his R dose out to +2
Vines and prayers for all the kitties and beans! Hope everyone has a good Sunday.
 
Things are moving in the right direction here!
As Marje mentioned last night, he's not getting duration from the R but is dropping pretty good with 3u
although with IAA durations can be different and variable remember R is not about duration - it's the accelerator. L is cruise control.
I should've given a larger dose of R yesterday afternoon. I'm thinking he'll need another dose @ +7 today or what other hour should we try?
what results were you hoping for from yesterday's AM+7 dose of R?
For the PM cycle does it make sense to push his R dose out to +2
what's your reasoning?
 
Things are moving in the right direction here!
although with IAA durations can be different and variable remember R is not about duration - it's the accelerator. L is cruise control
Perhaps a better word is needed besides "duration" since that might imply something like the duration of the L insulins but I do think that R, typically, does have a duration and it can be up to 5-6 hours in some cats. I've actually seen a chart with durations of different insulins but can't find it right now...will look again later. However, one would expect to generally see onset at +1 or +2 and numbers continuing down through +3 and tapering off by +4. So when I say he's not getting duration from R, I mean he isn't doing that. He's often flat or heading back up by +3.

I would think about two things, IMHO, and others might have different strategies.
  • Try shooting the rise today with maybe 2u R so as soon as you see him really head up, give a little more R
  • He had a good response one or two nights to shooting R at +2 but that was with the injectable lasix. Personally, I don't think it will hurt to give it a try so you can see if his numbers will stay a little lower in the p.m. cycle.
He's had a good initial response this morning. Let's see what Sandynalso thinks,
 
If you feel this is just food spike, you could wait a bit. But he really went up quite a lot. You know him best with his food and food spikes. I never really worried about them with Gracie during her cycles because if she was going to get a food spike, it would just be shortly after preshot because in subsequent meals, the insulin was already working. But ECID.
 
If you feel this is just food spike, you could wait a bit. But he really went up quite a lot. You know him best with his food and food spikes. I never really worried about them with Gracie during her cycles because if she was going to get a food spike, it would just be shortly after preshot because in subsequent meals, the insulin was already working. But ECID.

I'll give him more @ +6. Should I give him 3u again if he's over 350? Thinking yes.
 
To keep him under 300 at PMPS
He got pretty darn close. It's the lowest PS he has seen in weeks. I think it was good.

What was really great about yesterday was that from AM+1 to PM+5 he stayed in a somewhat tight range, with 365 at the high end and 262 at the low end. Beautiful.

Regarding R at PM+2...one way to find out:cool:

Regarding the PM cycle in general, some data in the PM+6 through PM+11 is needed. Based on that you may find a shot of R somewhere in that timeframe helps the AMPS.
 
Regarding the PM cycle in general, some data in the PM+6 through PM+11 is needed. Based on that you may find a shot of R somewhere in that timeframe helps the AMPS

Been thinking about this. Wonder if giving R every 6 hours would be beneficial. Also trying to figure out how I can sleep in more than 2 hour increments and function in the meantime. I'm hating Lantus and off of this right now.
 
Been thinking about this. Wonder if giving R every 6 hours would be beneficial. Also trying to figure out how I can sleep in more than 2 hour increments .
first things first... See what goes on during the bottom half of the PM cycle. Maybe a +6 or +7 one night, a +10 or +11 the next. It's valuable information.
 
We've talked in the past about the possibility of switching to Lev. I know your vet is opposed. Would us pulling together some spreadsheets of high dose cats with iaa (or even with just acro or the combo) that have switched from Lantus to Lev be helpful at all?

Or if that isn't a direction you want to go, just say so.

One last thought - this is a marathon, not a sprint. So if there is a night you just need to be able to sleep, we can always come up with some idea for a one night dose plan that would let you do so. You have to be able to function, too.
 
possibility of switching to Lev.
I'm going to call tomorrow and ask her to write the script. If she doesn't I'll let her know I'll find vet that will...it's that simple. Doodles primary doctor is the Cardiologist now, not her as the IM vet. I looked at Ozzy's SS and can't even understand it myself so that isn't too helpful. If you can think of others great but don't go out of your way...really. My feeling is Doodles is my cat, I take care of him and she should look at what is going on and be flexible.

One last thought - this is a marathon, not a sprint. So if there is a night you just need to be able to sleep, we can always come up with some idea for a one night dose plan that would let you do so. You have to be able to function, too
Letting my frustration get the better of me once again. Please don't take my cattitude personal....just acting like a 2yr old at times wanting to throw a tantrum. I'm going to give the R @ +2 tonight and get some date later in the evening. Although it's pretty clear what happened the last few nights...he goes up between 75-100 pts between PM +4.5/+5 and AMPS. Think today NDW was at play just making it a more difficult to have a smooth ride.
 
I also don't know if you want to give R every six hours. Let's take it a cycle at a time right now. If he stays flat like this even with the R, we know to just chalk it up to NDW.

(((Karen))) I doubt any of us think you have a catitude. We all understand how these numbers make you feel and it's ok if you feel like or want to "throw a tantrum"....we are a support group and if that's the support you need, we are here to listen. I completely understand what it's like to see a number on the meter that makes you just want to literally throw up...I've felt it.....we all have. So we understand if you want to scream, be frustrated, cry.....we got your back.

It will be summer soon in AZ and Moo and Doodles can enjoy the weather.
beachtime.jpg


Hope you laughed, and no Doodles...we will not make you wear a mankini.
 
I also don't know if you want to give R every six hours. Let's take it a cycle at a time right now. If he stays flat like this even with the R, we know to just chalk it up to NDW
Thanks for having a "Karen proof" vest. One cycle at a time. He's doing good now and sleeping enjoying the rainy day so my blood pressure has gone down. I'm going to let him ride out the rest of the cycle now but still plan to try R @ PM +2 and see if that helps him overnight.



Very cute picture!!
 

Attachments

  • Rainy Day.jpg
    Rainy Day.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 83
Please don't take my cattitude personal....just acting like a 2yr old at times wanting to throw a tantrum.

I didn't hear that from you at all. You're tired and frustrated that things aren't moving as much as anyone would like. I would feel the same way. I know what it feels like to not be able to get your cat's blood sugar under control.

It's very frustrating - I was just trying to say the reality is that sometimes one needs a break, so if you need a break, just say so. I know I did sometimes. :bighug:

The good news is the past 2 days - PROGRESS! This is a huge improvement!

As far as your vet goes, if she's looking at Doodles spreadsheet, just point out you have nothing to lose by trying out a different insulin. You can always go back to Lantus if you don't like it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top