? 4/10/26 Simon AMPS 430

Katrina & Simon

Member Since 2025
Recent post

I don't understand what's going on with his numbers. He will get below 300 and then bounce and go over 400. Tonight will be the 6th cycle, so do I hold this dose until 8 cycles since we're getting below 300?

Still acting like himself, eating and drinking well (not excessively) playing and everything...
 
He might be bouncing from the blue he saw the other day. I know it's really frustrating and worrying to see high numbers. Just keep following the protocol and you will hit a good dose. Glad to hear that he is doing well - we like to say that a cat is more than it's numbers!

If you only see numbers over 200 today, you are good for an increase to 3U tomorrow morning. With TR, a dose is held only for 6 cycles if nadirs are over 200. Once you start seeing nadirs between 100 and 200, you hold doses for 8-10 cycles.

Remind me what is his meal times at night are?
 
He might be bouncing from the blue he saw the other day. I know it's really frustrating and worrying to see high numbers. Just keep following the protocol and you will hit a good dose. Glad to hear that he is doing well - we like to say that a cat is more than it's numbers!

If you only see numbers over 200 today, you are good for an increase to 3U tomorrow morning. With TR, a dose is held only for 6 cycles if nadirs are over 200. Once you start seeing nadirs between 100 and 200, you hold doses for 8-10 cycles.

Remind me what is his meal times at night are?
Got it, thank you for the reminder. He eats at PMPS 730pm PST(USA) and then as late as possible before bed, usually around 10pm
 
He eats at PMPS 730pm PST(USA) and then as late as possible before bed, usually around 10pm
Is there any way to leave food out for him for later at night? Or will he gobble everything down at once? Food a little later in the cycle, might help prevent him dropping low by AMPS. Especially in bounce clearing cycles.
 
Is there any way to leave food out for him for later at night? Or will he gobble everything down at once? Food a little later in the cycle, might help prevent him dropping low by AMPS. Especially in bounce clearing cycles.
Yes, I usually leave an extra bowl down for him or his brother (non-diabetic) to snack on overnight but the problem I run into is they will eat as SOON as they hear my alarm at 5am and I don't always remember to pick it up first thing so it messes up his AMPS. But I figured that's better than getting low due to not eating...

Simon is super codependent so sometimes will only eat if I sit by and comfort him so it makes auto/timed wet food feeders and leaving food out difficult, as he usually just won't eat until I'm present.
 
Last edited:
Hi Katrina! Good luck with the 3U! Question: are you using Lantus vials or pens? Is it possible that you need a new vial/pen? Also, it's helpful if you note on your spreadsheet when you open a new vial/pen (and if you did and I've overlooked it, I apologize).
 
Hi Katrina! Good luck with the 3U! Question: are you using Lantus vials or pens? Is it possible that you need a new vial/pen? Also, it's helpful if you note on your spreadsheet when you open a new vial/pen (and if you did and I've overlooked it, I apologize).
I'm getting to the end of the lantus pen (I use it like a vial with syringes), I could try a new one? They're from the same box. I have not been noting, but I can do so going forward!
 
I'm getting to the end of the lantus pen (I use it like a vial with syringes), I could try a new one? They're from the same box. I have not been noting, but I can do so going forward!
Unless it's been unrefrigerated or has floaties in it or something like that, it's likely not the pen--they hold such small amounts (compared to the vials), that it's rare they go bad before they are depleted (at least from what I've heard from others here on the forum--we use vials). I'm just always trying to eliminate any/every possible issue that might be interfering with numbers with Jude, and when I didn't see the date on your spreadsheet, I thought I'd ask. It's more likely that he just hasn't hit the goldilocks' dose yet. Let's hope 3U starts bringing him down.
 
Unless it's been unrefrigerated or has floaties in it or something like that, it's likely not the pen--they hold such small amounts (compared to the vials), that it's rare they go bad before they are depleted (at least from what I've heard from others here on the forum--we use vials). I'm just always trying to eliminate any/every possible issue that might be interfering with numbers with Jude, and when I didn't see the date on your spreadsheet, I thought I'd ask. It's more likely that he just hasn't hit the goldilocks' dose yet. Let's hope 3U starts bringing him down.
No floaties, or color changes or anything, that was my initial thought too. Then I stressed myself out that I was always giving fur shots even though I WATCH the needle go in and make sure it's in before I depress syringe. I've definitely done a fur shot but I note it on the spreadsheet and it's been a very long time since that happened!

I appreciate your support and trying to help me figure this out! Hoping the 3u is the ticket.
 
Back
Top