? 4/10/2017 Yum: AMPS+9 314!!! dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
So, the high numbers are the Somogyi effect ("false" positive bounces) and the low numbers are "true" values? Is that correct? Or are low numbers "false" negative bounces?
Yum's numbers are finally starting to make sense to me, especially if the low numbers are "true" values.
Woohoo!
The AlphaTrak2 people say their meters run 20% to 30% higher than human meters.
That means the TR protocol advice for nadirs below 300 correspond to AlphaTrak2 nadirs of 360 to 390.
Looks like I will give her a .25u dose increase tomorrow morning.
Any disagreement with that?
Thanks in advance, Marta
 
Hope someone with more experience comes around, to help you with the dose and the comparison between meters, I'm not sure you can actually compare them, but either way his numbers do seem a little bit high so he may need an increase.

Also it is true that when a kittie hits lower numbers than he is used to or goes down too fast, that may trigger a "bounce" effect that may raise his numbers considerably, and it takes a few cycles to clear this effect
 
Last edited:
We haven't seen a number as low as 314 for weeks!!! I need to decide whether or not to increase her dose to 3.25u tomorrow morning.
I suppose she could be going below 200 (240 or 260 AlphaTrak2) overnight, in which case I should hold the dose one or two more days.
 
I'm not sure what protocol are you following but even with the TR it indicates you should try and keep a dose for at least 6 consecutive cycles, looking at her SS the 6th cycle with 3u will be tonight, maybe you could see how she does tonight and decide depending on how you see her.

Also I've been looking to her SS and I don't see any big drops, as I said I'm not an expert but I'm comparing it to my kitty Babu's who is a "diver" that is he likes to take big drops and by big I mean going from 400's to 200's or even 100's which almost automatically meant he will bounce, and I don't see anything like that in Yum's SS so she may not be bouncing.
 
We don't translate AT numbers to human meter numbers. We have had people do side by side tests and the 30% is not consistent. The only number we know is that 68 on the AT is 50 on the human meter. The rest of the numbers we just use at face value for SLGS and TR dosing decisions.

And we only go by what numbers we see, not what we think kitty might have done. If you don't see a number below 200 on the AT, as far as we are concerned, it didn't happen. Unless you see a below 200 tonight, I would increase tomorrow as you had planned. Lower pink are better, but the goal is much lower. Yum needs an increase.
 
Last edited:
Okay. Thanks all. 3.25u it will probably be. I was worrying about what was causing the 551 this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top