4/1 larry AMPS 342 +5 295 PMPS 147 need avice plz!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
yucky! hope for better numbers when we get a new pen!


ETA so do we stay at 1 U for a week? mel? then back to 2.5 if it doesnt help?

ETA PMPS 147...!! what on earth? now what? i am feeling badly myself. should i skip shot?
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

I would take him up again by .25u
You might have to back it off again once you get the new pens.

Personally I'm still concerned he's reacting to the Lantus sting which is where the crying and jumpiness is coming from and if that's the case he's only going to get harder to shoot as his dose increases.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342 question...

thanks mel. either that or maybe he has infections under the skin? sometimes he doesnt like it when i pull the skin up even without the shot. idk. it changes so nothing consistent to figure from?

i need to ask u....i am very low on lantus. a little less than 20U i think and insulin may not arrive until fri. or sat. i dont want to run out. could i go down to 2.25 for a few days? by the time i shoot out the extra, i dont think this will last that long (until fri. or sat.). thanks!
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

Since your low anyhow lets try something just to rule rebound out. Drop him back to 1u until you get your new insulin. If he gets better numbers then we'll know that the higher numbers were from too much insulin, if they get worse we'll start him back at 2.5 and work up from there and at the very least it'll stop his bouncing.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

thank u mel. couple questions. not doubting u but trying to understand.
wont that be a shock to his system? either/both times? going way down to 1 and/or back to 2.5? also, what if he gets way back up there and stays at 500? or higher? just concerned. hope u understand. i worry abt my baby boy.
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

Hi Pam and extra sweet Larry!

I like Mel's suggestion of dropping back to that 1u for a few days. I've done the same thing with Dakota - right now I'm BACKING his dose down when he spikes during the day. I really think I'm giving him too much - this will hopefully help identify that!

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

hi lyresa and kitties. yea...maybe its meant to be. i hope! i just have a couple questions, hoping mel weighs in :) welcome ur thots on those also. ^^^
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

No its not a shock to his system in any negative way. Remember that insulin is a hormone not a drug. In a non diabetic their insulin levels are constantly in flux. You eat a lot, your pancreas sends out a lot of insulin to allow your body to process that food..but if you fast say before surgery your pancreas produces little to no insulin then because there is no food to process.

However in a diabetic there is a short circuit in that nifty system. So we have to find the balance point between food, exercise and injected insulin. The bad part is too much and not enough can look alike. Until you so overdose their system that they crash and hypo.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342

Good luck Pam! Larry seems to be a little bit harder nut to crack (or figure out what works for him). I like Mel's suggestion too. Sometimes with cases where the cat isn't reacting how you would expect, it takes a little experimenting to find what works.
 
Re: 4/1 larry AMPS 342 +5 295

for about a week my page says 1 new msg but theres nothing there/ now it says 2 new msgs and still nothing. if u sent a msg. plz try again. thanks.
 
Drop him back to 1u and shoot. He'll be safe enough on that for tonight and we'll see where he's at in the morning.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top