4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304, +6 225

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401

question, is there a reason you haven't increased Gizzy's dose? It looks like he has been on this dose for 15 cycles and it has been 4 days since his last green. He should have plenty of room for an increase to help bring the numbers down.
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401

would you increase or decrease Libby. Gizzy has fallen to every day for the last 3 days - the lowest being 124. I always second guess myself when Harley does this bouncy stuff.

Pattie
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401

I would increase. We're looking for nadirs in green, so 124 still leaves room for an increase.
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401

Lori, is there anyway (maybe weekends) to get a few more tests in? We really don't know when the nadir. Maybe Gizzy is falling enough to bounce and that is caught on a test. Kinda like Harley at night. I didn't really know why he was 400 in the AM until I caught him falling to 39 at night.

pattie
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401

Libby, here is my observaction. This is what the protocol says:
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Since Gizzy has had blues, it looks like the dose should be held as is.

pattie
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401

Harley and Pattie said:
Libby, here is my observaction. This is what the protocol says:
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Since Gizzy has had blues, it looks like the dose should be held as is.

pattie
Right, when a cat starts seeing blue we hold the dose for 6-10 cycles before adjusting. It has been 15 cycles though. He could be bouncing from the 126, but bottom line is that a cat that is bouncing to 400s after hitting 120s needs more insulin. The way to stop bouncing off of low numbers is to keep showing them the lower numbers over and over again until the liver realizes "hey, this number isn't dangerous at all!" and stops overreacting.
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

Thanks for all the responses today....I was working and haven't had a chance to check in till now!
I will increase him in the morning to 2.5u. I will be working from home tomorrow so I can keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

use that extra juice wisely, Gizzy!!

395557813_300831f0cc.jpg
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

Where do you find these awesome pics? You make me laugh every time!!
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

I love it when the condos get all educational, there's always more to learn - good luck with the dosecrease Lori.

Of course I also love it when Celi has been visiting :lol: :lol: :lol:

P.S. your link to yesterday isn't working - you forgot the URL brackets perhaps?
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

pistull said:
Where do you find these awesome pics? You make me laugh every time!!


:lol: :lol: I just google whatever I think is appropriate, in this case "juice cat pics"...
and copy the funniest ones that come up :-D
I'm all about using other folks' hard work for our entertainment!

celi
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

I don't know why the link to my last post always shows up this way??
It looks correct when I cut and paste it - but then when I go back to view it looks like this?! What the heck?
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

I'm so excited to increase his dose and see what happens! I'm on a mission here folks! Stand by for awesome results....!!! :RAHCAT CMON GIZZY!!
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

pistull said:
I don't know why the link to my last post always shows up this way??
It looks correct when I cut and paste it - but then when I go back to view it looks like this?! What the heck?

copy the url, then above the message body (where you type your post), click the box that says URL
ie/[b][color=#BF0000]put link here[/color][/b]

The rescue remedy can be found at any of the food coops or whole foods around here. Maybe at a specialty store (is there a chuck/don's by you?). Im sure you can get it online as well. I mentioned it in an earlier post of yours. I have a bottle that I only use occasionally. If you cannot get some for whatever reason, we could try to connect and let you try it. I think Pattie got it for my foster when she had her eye removed. I have no problems sharing. :mrgreen:

Get ready to get busy Gizzy (and earn lots of treats)! dancing_cat
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

Thanks!

And it's just called Rescue Remedy??

What kind of treats do you give your meows??
 
Re: 4/1 Gizzy AMPS 401, +8 342, +11 304

http://www.nelsonsnaturalworld.com/...medy/our-products/the-original-rescue-remedy/
There is one specifically for pets. I have the all purpose (for humans, I guess?). I have a nervous foster who endured a few weeks of people coming in to work on some stuff in the apt. She also has herpes and just one eye, so stress free environments are important. The few days I gave her the rescue remedy she sat on the couch vs hiding under the bed or behind a chair. Her herpes still flared, but she was at least OUT and more relaxed. Coincidence? Who knows.

Freeze dried treats are yummy and low carb. Purebites, Grandma Lucys, and Liv a littles are some popular brands. I get purebites at Chuck/Don's and some other local shop in the cities. Liv a littles I have only found at the food coops.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top