Elsa
Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,
I am Elsa, sugarcat Miou's human. Miou has two sisters Alitra and Cleopatra who are sweet but not as sugary ;-) and they are all 9 years old
I am new here at the Tight Regulation Forum, but been on the Board posting at the Main FDMB forum since the 18th of August.
As I had written on my first post there Miou was diagnosed with diabetes on the 25th of June with a BG >686 mg/dL. The doctor had prescribed Lantus, and regulating the dose based on testing he did every few days.
Before coming to FDMB Miou's insulin dose had even reached at one point up to 5U bid. Then I tried measuring at home, it took me some time to get the hang of it.
The most positive step to regulate Miou's BG was registering here. When I came here, Miou was on Purina DM dry and I was inconsistent on her doses.
From day one on the board I was highly encouraged to change to wet food, and was walked through a consistent dosing. Changing to wet food and being consistent made a great difference on Miou. Soon Miou needed less and less insulin, and lately she is at 0,25U - which the last couple of days I am not able to administer consistently since her numbers are quite low, as one can see on her spreadsheet.
This has given BJM and Wendy some hope about Miou's recovering pancreas. Wendy encouraged me to post here so I get a more experienced advise.
tia
Elsa
P.S.
If you need to have a look at my previous posts, here are the links sorted by descending date
I am Elsa, sugarcat Miou's human. Miou has two sisters Alitra and Cleopatra who are sweet but not as sugary ;-) and they are all 9 years old
I am new here at the Tight Regulation Forum, but been on the Board posting at the Main FDMB forum since the 18th of August.
As I had written on my first post there Miou was diagnosed with diabetes on the 25th of June with a BG >686 mg/dL. The doctor had prescribed Lantus, and regulating the dose based on testing he did every few days.
Before coming to FDMB Miou's insulin dose had even reached at one point up to 5U bid. Then I tried measuring at home, it took me some time to get the hang of it.
The most positive step to regulate Miou's BG was registering here. When I came here, Miou was on Purina DM dry and I was inconsistent on her doses.
From day one on the board I was highly encouraged to change to wet food, and was walked through a consistent dosing. Changing to wet food and being consistent made a great difference on Miou. Soon Miou needed less and less insulin, and lately she is at 0,25U - which the last couple of days I am not able to administer consistently since her numbers are quite low, as one can see on her spreadsheet.
This has given BJM and Wendy some hope about Miou's recovering pancreas. Wendy encouraged me to post here so I get a more experienced advise.
tia
Elsa
P.S.
If you need to have a look at my previous posts, here are the links sorted by descending date
- 31/08 Miou, -4=142, AMPS=110-noshot, +2=101
- 30/08 Miou, AMPS=116-noshot, +5=148, +11=170, PMPS=14-0.25U
- 29/08 Miou, AMPS=175, +2=110, PMPS=149, +2=88, 0.25U
- 28/08 Miou, -1=129 AMPS=112, +7=94, no shot
- 27/08 Miou, PMPS=142, +1=121, +2 =112
- 26/08 Miou, AMPS 94 Dose advise needed
- Miou has a very low PMPS of 32 - Please advise
- New sugarcat in the block
