31/08 Miou PMBG=115 +2=114 newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

I am Elsa, sugarcat Miou's human. Miou has two sisters Alitra and Cleopatra who are sweet but not as sugary ;-) and they are all 9 years old

I am new here at the Tight Regulation Forum, but been on the Board posting at the Main FDMB forum since the 18th of August.
As I had written on my first post there Miou was diagnosed with diabetes on the 25th of June with a BG >686 mg/dL. The doctor had prescribed Lantus, and regulating the dose based on testing he did every few days.

Before coming to FDMB Miou's insulin dose had even reached at one point up to 5U bid. Then I tried measuring at home, it took me some time to get the hang of it.
The most positive step to regulate Miou's BG was registering here. When I came here, Miou was on Purina DM dry and I was inconsistent on her doses.

From day one on the board I was highly encouraged to change to wet food, and was walked through a consistent dosing. Changing to wet food and being consistent made a great difference on Miou. Soon Miou needed less and less insulin, and lately she is at 0,25U - which the last couple of days I am not able to administer consistently since her numbers are quite low, as one can see on her spreadsheet.

This has given BJM and Wendy some hope about Miou's recovering pancreas. Wendy encouraged me to post here so I get a more experienced advise.

tia
Elsa

P.S.
If you need to have a look at my previous posts, here are the links sorted by descending date
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Great numbers today for no insulin!

Welcome to lantus land by the way!

Wendy
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Great numbers today for no insulin!

Welcome to lantus land by the way!

Wendy

Thanks Wendy nice to see you
The way her number go today I might not give a shot at PM
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Hi Elsa and extra sweet Miou! Wait Mi, you're not so extra sweet now!

Boy these are BOOTIFUL numbers!!! And without insulin!!! Miou IS on a mission to go OTJ!!!! WONDERFUL job Elsa!!

YARD DANCE! BIG HUGS!!!
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

I wouldn't if she is under 150 but let's see what the others think.
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Squeaky and KT said:
Hi Elsa and extra sweet Miou! Wait Mi, you're not so extra sweet now!

Boy these are BOOTIFUL numbers!!! And without insulin!!! Miou IS on a mission to go OTJ!!!! WONDERFUL job Elsa!!

YARD DANCE! BIG HUGS!!!

Thank you so much... Really do you too think she is ready for OTJ?
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Never mind. I just saw she was 115 from your ss.

Yeap! :razz:
Let's see how she does for another 12 hours w/no insulin (keeping fingers crossed)
Since noon I started feeding her little amounts of food every couple of hours
I have no idea how I could do that during night when I sleep.
I would hate to leave out the food she will either gobble it up all at once, or one of her sisters will.
I could of course feed her every 3-4 hours when I wake up for water... not bad I guess
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

welcome to the group! miou is doing great! :mrgreen:
for a strong remission, we like to see numbers under 120 with numbers mostly in the 50 - 80 range before stopping insulin therapy.

"Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions."
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

if you haven't had a chance, you might want to read through Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus® or Levemir® for Diabetic Cats on the Tilly Diabetes Homepage. Ask any questions you might have.
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Jill & Alex said:
welcome to the group! miou is doing great! :mrgreen:
for a strong remission, we like to see numbers under 120 with numbers mostly in the 50 - 80 range before stopping insulin therapy.

"Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions."
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

if you haven't had a chance, you might want to read through Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus® or Levemir® for Diabetic Cats on the Tilly Diabetes Homepage. Ask any questions you might have.

Ok its 2 hours after the usual shot time, so a bit late for me to give her one, but I can from tomorrow.
I would like to know if 1drop=0.1U ?
If not how do I measure 1 drop?
I hope the first one applies... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 31/08 Miou AMBG=110 +2=101 +6=122 +8=122 +10=109 newbie

Jill, Elsa is pretty new and really hasn't had that much experience shooting low. She has been working to reduce her no shot number but has also been reducing the dose , as much to try as a newbie to try and find a dose she can give consistently. It's been happening so fast with her she has has a lot to take in at one time.

Her current no shot is 130. Would you suggest she reduce it to say 100 and 0.1iu?
Wendy
 
Looking at Miou's SS, it looks to me like she is in the low blue numbers. I think that is too high to start an OTJ trial.

My recommendation is to give the 0.1U and a no shoot of 100.

Elsa, just try to measure the 0.1U as consistently as you can. Here is a picture of that 0.1U dose. Click on the picture for a larger image.

The top of the plunger (closest to the needle), is basically on the lowest line on the syringe.
 

Attachments

  • 01unit-1.jpg
    01unit-1.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 501
Another option: push the plunger in, insert needle into the vial or pen, and let the plunger go. That will draw a tiny amount of insulin into the syringe that you can inject. Great job with everything! Miou has made amazing progress! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Welcome, Elsa!!

Jill is a very experienced caregiver. I think the point of her directing you to the information on the Tight Regulation Protocol was to point out that Miou's test numbers do not warrant reducing her dose yet. For a dose reduction, numbers need to drop below 50 or your kitty needs to be in mostly green numbers (i.e., below 100) for a week.

If you look at the subject lines on the Board or open many of our spreadsheets, you'll see that most of us routinely shoot low numbers. With a pre-shot of 115, most of us would not hesitate to shoot. I realize this can be nerve wracking the first several times. However, Miou's numbers are looking good. Given that you are pretty consistently seeing numbers in the 100s, I would encourage you to continue shoot your current dose of 0.25u. If you are nervous about shooting, please post. With someone new to Lantus, we suggest that you use 150 as your "post and ask for help" number until you have additional experience with shooting low numbers.

If you've not already done so, I would encourage you to make sure you have some canned, high carb food at home as well as a supply of extra strips. When shooting low, you want to be able to monitor Miou's numbers and always get a +1 and +2 test as a place to start. We use high carb food to steer numbers if they are dropping into lower ranges. Likewise, you may want to read the post on .Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.
 
Welcome Elsa and Miou!

I'm going to agree with Sienne and Jill that Miou was starting to look good at 0.25u and I would take her back to that dose.

Our mantra here is "shoot low to stay low" and "low" would be any number above 50 as long as it is safe to do so e.g. You have all the supplies and you can be there to test. But we don't ask you to shoot low immediately ;-)

You are doing a great job of testing so it's time to put all that great data to use. We do not have an "across the board" no shoot number in this forum. With each cat and caregiver, we work with you to build confidence in shooting lower numbers.

As Sienne said, if you get a 150 or below (but above 50), until you learn to shoot those numbers, we ask you to post here for help. Not only will we guide you through it, but someone will stay with you even if it is for many hours or late into the night.

Let us know when you have questions or need help.
 
Elsa said:
I would like to know if 1drop=0.1U ?
If not how do I measure 1 drop?
I hope the first one applies... nailbite_smile
my 0.1u and your 0.1u may be a little different, but measuring 0.1u is close enough to a drop. the key to measuring a dose... any dose... is to be as consistent as humanly possible.


Wendy&Tiggy said:
Jill, Elsa is pretty new and really hasn't had that much experience shooting low. She has been working to reduce her no shot number but has also been reducing the dose , as much to try as a newbie to try and find a dose she can give consistently. It's been happening so fast with her she has has a lot to take in at one time.

Her current no shot is 130. Would you suggest she reduce it to say 100 and 0.1iu?
Wendy
well, it all kind of depends on elsa's comfort level. :-D

elsa, if you'd like to jump into the Tight Regulation Protocol at this point you'd want to hold onto the 0.25u dose until a reduction is indicated by a drop below 50 (for the reasons sienne and marje have explained above). i encourage you to read the starred "sticky" posts towards the top of the forum... the sticky about the Tight Regulation Protocol as well as the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky.

here in the TR group our no shoot number is any number below 50. as sienne already stated, we ask new members to post and ask for guidance when presented with a preshot number between 50 and 150.

if you want to continue as you have been, you could gradually lower your current no shoot number of 130. wendy mentioned lowering it to 100 and reducing the dose to 0.1 unit. you could lower that no shoot number to 120, 110, or 100. it's really up to you. you can try it and if miou's numbers begin to trend upwards you could always take the dose right back up to 0.25 unit.

personally, i have a lot of faith in the Tight Regulation Protocol. it's worked for a lot of kitties. miou is very, very close to going off the juice. if i were in your shoes i would trust the protocol and begin posting in this forum. there are many members who post regularly and can guide you through shooting low preshot numbers.

we'll all support whatever decision you make.



hope to see you posting often...
 
Good morning Elsa and Miou :-D

Good job sticking with the 0.25 this morning and getting a +2.
You can start a new thread for today and make the Subject Line say something like 01/09 Miou AMPS 148, +2 110.
The date would be backwards for us, but we can get used to it. Since she is going dropping a bit at +2, that means today could be an active cycle. I would get a +3 on this. I am usually up in the early mornings, but not quite as early as you get up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top