3 days in so far and it seems to be going ok..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bid's Mommy

Member Since 2010
Today is the first day we are going to feed him all wet.. we gave him 1.5oz of some Fancy Feast Classics this morning at 6:30 after we gave him his insulin shot. His amps was 319 BG. He is starting to hate being pinned down so I gave him 1 Purina Whiskers Lickins (I think that's the name of it) afterwards cause I feel bad pinning him down.. Is that ok? Or should I completely cut out the treats too?

It's now 4 hours later and he wants more food.. :sad:

Also I don't know how you guys do it by yourself if you are the only one doing the home testing and the insulin shot! So far my husband and I have been tag teaming it. I hold and he does the poking.. I don't know if I could do it alone! Plus I have yet to be the one that actually does the shot.. still a little too scared to do that part.

I just hope this doesn't change our cats personality too much, He literally is the most relaxed chilled cat I've ever met and he usually sleeps right beside me every night but the past few nights wont come in the bedroom. :sad: I'm sure it will all come routine just know for now.. Also waking up at 6:30 on days off is a little rough @-) But I know it has to get done!
 
Yes, give him a treat after shooting and poking. I would go ahead and give him something to eat if he is hungry - it does help to even out his blood sugar numbers if he eats.

You'll need to trust us. It DOES get better.
 
Let him have the whole FF can.........you only gave him 1/2 of one and that isn't very much. Also, please do not shoot insulin first. Test and see what his BG is, then give him food, then give the insulin. Giving insulin first could be a problem if for some reason kitty decides he doesn't want to eat.
 
I've read that some people wrap up their kitty in a blanket like a burrito when testing the BG's. Not sure about while giving a shot. I would definitely continue giving a treat as positive reinforcement. Maybe your kitty will realize that everything you are doing is to make him feel better and he won't fight it so much. Hang in there, you are doing great and it does get easier.
 
Restraining could be part of hte problem. I can't restrain Squeak, so when testing I'd put him on the floor between my legs and warm his ear with my left hand (and a rice sock) and brush him with my right then use my right hand to poke and test. He'd purr....
 
Thanks for the advice!! I will start feeding him first then doing the insulin.. Ok so I should give him all of the FF in the morning before his first shot? Then another can at night before his 2nd shot? I was trying to break up the 2 cans over the day so he wasn't so hungry during the 12 hours..

I like the idea of brushing him while warming up his ear.. He's usually really good about us holding him and petting him (and he always purrs) but I think with all this poking it's making him a little mad.. And by mad I mean not purr and tries to get down. He never hisses or scratches us. LOVE him!!
 
I would spread out the food during the day. And you can give him more than 2 cans of FF if he seems like he is starving. We fed Oliver 2.5 to 3 cans when he was unregulated.

You just need to make sure that he has some food in his stomach as the insulin hits.
 
Morning Jenn - it does get better. When we first started, it took 2 of us to hold Shadow but we reached the point that the "holding" part was making her mad and she was calmer and would hold still better after we stopped holding her. Right now Bid is so hungry because he isn't regulated. If he eats more for a while, that's OK. As his BG comes down and his appetite decreases, you can juggle his food schedule then.

When we first started this, I watered Shadow's food down a fair amount so her tummy would feel more full. We are now 5 months in and she doesn't like it watered down anymore and I am able to give her 1/4 can at a time and she does much better with small frequent meals. It's hard to do that at first because they are so hungry. You may have mentioned it and I missed it, what does Bid weigh?
 
Hi..

He got 2U this morning.. We just took his BG again (6 hours after his shot this morning) and his BG was 82.. Is that too low? Should we feed him some dry food?

I haven't made the spreadsheet yet.. Its been a crazy couple of days! I swear I'm trying my best to figure it out!

Bid weighs 14 lbs and the Vet said he should come down to 12 lbs.

Thank you,
 
That is a pretty steep drop but still a safe number. You don't need to worry until you get down in the 40s and 50s. keep testing. He may be getting a longer than normal ride out of this dose.

Check your private messages in the top left hand corner of the page. Maybe I can help with the spreadsheet.
 
Agreed - the low-carb food will in itself lower BG on it's own - insulin or no insulin. Would you feel comfortable lowering your dose a bit for the next shot? Better yet, can you show us the curve so far from this cycle, and then we can get a sense of how your cat is reacting to the inulin and the diet change? Ff you don't have the spreadsheet ready yet, you could just provide the numbers in the body of a post...
Jenny and Sue said:
82 in itself is a great number, but it was a steep drop. This is what I was wondering about...when you go to all wet, you need to decrease the insulin.

Please read this:
http://catinfo.org/?link=felinediabetes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top