3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
+4=340
+8=243
AMPS=207 ~ 1.25 Lev

Yesterday's Condo

Morning LL ~O) happy Bean here... :mrgreen:
Shadow & Raja were on the big bed in their own room this morning! :lol: they both ate a nice breffis and Shadow proceeded to rest on the testing towel and wait for his shot. I was surprised again to find him there (Last night I thought he was hiding under the bed, but to my delighted surprise, he had come out to the dining room and was lying on the testing towel for his midnight ear prick!)

Raja was sitting so close to me last night during the whole evening...she had her head next to me and her paw on my leg the entire time I was watching tv!! It was so sweet. I was so happy that the two of them recovered so nicely from the ordeal yesterday at the vet office. I know there was a lot of activity there and probably many cats and dogs that were in for operations of some sort. There was quite a mob in the office after 5pm when I went to pick them up.
I realize that there must be much barking and crying and wow...shudder to think of it...a nightmare for them....

I realized that I was upset that I could not communicate with my two as we were driving to the vet office. They had spent 3 full days and 2 long nights there back in August for that dumb blood curve. :roll: That was before I knew any better. I was so ignorant of everything, not knowing about this forum back then; and I left them there for that useless testing. I know they were super stressed with the noises of the other animals all during the days and nights there....and well, I wanted them to know that they were NOT going to be staying there again. The dental is for only one day and I would be back for them ....but they don't understand English and I felt bad if they stressed about having to remain there.

The way they acted last night helped me to feel better about things. They were so good and Raja was a big surprise because she never went into her closet at all but sat right with me (as if she didn't want to be apart ever again!) It was SO cute and so touching to me that she did that. If you knew Raja, you would understand that this was BIG!

Shadow is doing his best to get his numbers under some sort of control. He is back on the big bed. (How am I going to have the heart to strip this bed and put it back up into the wall when they love it so much? Defeats the purpose of having a wallbed if you leave it down... :lol: ) But they both love sleeping in here and I find it soooo cute.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day today...I know I will be...and telling my two all day long how wonderful and brave they both are....and how much I love them...It is SO great having them home!!!

You have all been so understanding and wonderful to help me through this...I so appreciate all your posts to me and your concerns. you guys are the BEST!!! HUGS to you all!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207

Oh my!! I never saw your posts after the dental! Did they lose any teeth? Just knowing they were alright is good enough for me!!
We so fear for our kitties & these dental, that we blow them out of proportion! Cant be helped, every vet's office is chaotic, but once they get there, it goes quickly...SO HAPPY they are fine!!
Now that thats behind you,you can look ahead..Have a good day...HUGS~!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207

glad your babies made it through their dentals and were all squishy and loveable last night. Hopefully, you will see some good things in the bg's shortly since teefies are all cleaned and taken care of.

Isn't it wonderful to have them love you all up and down? My civvie, Ali, is 6 years old....she is very much the "scardy cat" when people come over, you are lucky to see her if you are new, and if you've been to my house a lot, you will see her, but make eye contact or get to close, she's a gonner. With me, she's very loveable, especially at bedtime. That's ALI TIME...she sleeps next to my head, curled up on my shoulder or under the covers, getting her belly rubbed. That's usually about the only time we "bond". However, within the past two months, she has been jumping up on my chair with me and hanging out. Very unusual, but nice. I just thank God that I have a recliner so that there is enough of room for all three cats and occasionally add the drooler into the mix. Nice and toasty on the cold nights, lol

You guys have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207

(((Pat))) what a wonderful post this morning.. so happy to hear about the sweetness last night :thumbup
Kitties are not doubt feeling fine & looking forward!! I need to take my civie to get her first dental - but am quite nervous myself!! :?
Giving you :YMHUG: & wishing you all a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207

Woohoo! Glad everything is back to normal!

Guess what....my computer is fixed! I put in a new mainboard and everything is working except....it installed windows new so I have to reinstall all my programs and it lost all my bookmarks in Firefox so I have to find all my sites and bookmark them again. I also lost my Microsoft office installation I have the serial ' but not the disk with the program..now what? Everything else is still intact so that's good I guess.

Hope Shadow returns quickly to his progress on this dose, he earned 1 point towards a reduction so far! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207

Pat, I am so happy that both Shadow and Raja are no worse for wear after their dental ordeal
and that they are full of love and purrs.
Wall bed eh? Nope, I think one giant cat bed now, lol.
Of course you are going to leave it down for a while longer, we know that. :lol: :lol:
Very nice AMPS for Shadow today.
How is the decorating going. Max can't wait for the party.
He is wearing his green suit already.
Have an awsome day!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207, +4=102

+4=102

He was soo good when I gave him the Clavamox. That's one down and ummmm...well 6 1/2 days to go :lol:
Everyone ate their snack and seem super happy today. This morning was Shadow's turn to seek me out and purr like crazy as we had some lovin time together while Raja snoozed on "her" bed.
Randi, you know me too well I guess...I guess the wall bed will not go back into the wall for a little while anyway. ;-)
Thanks everyone...and Monique...I am so happy that you are up and running again with a new motherboard!! Maybe you can call to have them send another disc since you have your number for it. Might be a small charge but it will be worth it...
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207, +4=102

So nice to hear. And Basil tells me that you are going to redecorate their room, covering the walls, ceiling and floor in faux fur? I'm suspicious about that.

BTW, please ask Raja and Shadow not to tell Basil any scary stories about dentals. You know how gullible he is!

Um and speaking of scary stories, 7 days of clavamox, huh? Here's one bean not looking forward to that!

Monique! Glad your computer is mostly healthy again!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207, +4=102,+6=48

+6=48 :mrgreen:

Everyone IS happy Linda... :lol:
This is his second and final point to earn a dosecrease!!! Yay!!

Think maybe I will think about holding this dose for tonight depending on his PM number...what do you think?
We shall see what my boy has in store.
I hope he doesn't bounce too much
(wish I had a dime for every time someone on this forum has written that! Right? :lol: )

I am really thrilled with this progress so far. Good boy Shadow...would be nice to have some green for St. Patty's Day!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207, +4=102,+6=48

I missed all the dental excitement yesterday! The flu is sucko. I'm so glad to see they are both doing well! Aren't you relieved that it's behind you now?

It's spectacular that Shadow would earn a decrease the day after his dental! Wowee! I'm super impressed, but don't feel comfortable giving dose advice. I'd wait to hear from other more experienced folks. I wonder though, could the low numbers be coming from the anesthetic effects? Or would that be out of his system today?
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207, +4=102,+6=48

Hi Pat! I loved reading your post today; it really made me smile. That is quite sweet about Raja last night. It's amazing how happy one small little thing can make us, especially when we've been worried.

Shadow's #s look great today; so impressive just one day after his dental! I know they will both have their kitty bed left down for awhile yet. ;)
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207, +4=102,+6=48

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
+6=48 :mrgreen:


We shall see what my boy has in store.
I hope he doesn't bounce too much
(wish I had a dime for every time someone on this forum has written that! Right? :lol: )
Hahaha! That just made me laugh! I know I've personally typed it many times.

I'm very glad to see how well Shadow is doing today and that both kitties are being so sweet after their dentals. I am back home finally (and almost acclimated to time difference) and yesterday in my sleep deprived condition I checked Shadow's condo, saw the AMPS number and almost cried.... until I read that it was a bounce and on no insulin, as he was in prep for dental. Whew! Now I'm very happy to see these beautiful numbers today AND that he is earning another decrease.

Well done Shadow!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,+6=48, +8=95

:YMHUG: CAROLYN!!!! Welcome BACK!!! I was just wondering about you earlier today....glad you had a safe trip back and although it will take some time to get out of the jet lag/time change thing, you will soon enough. Just in time for Daylight Savings this weekend!!! :mrgreen: How's everyone at home?

+8=95

My Shadow was a mess yesterday with his numbers...but he is back on track, bringing them slowly down since his shot last night. i am so happy for him. He has to get the two <50 numbers before he gets a dosecrease since he was not holding his dosecreases so well in the past, as you know. His first was the day before the dental with +6=44. Today at +6=48 so I think he really means it! :mrgreen:

Glad you are back...hope all is good with you....
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,+6=48, +8=95

I am glad everyone is home, happy and feeling good.
Looks like Shadow is getting right back on track with his nice green numbers.

I am glad you survived (barely) yesterday Pat. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

PMPS=150

Not sure how this is going to go. I have tried everything. This is just not like Shadow at all. He had Clavamox at 10 am this morning and has eaten very well both at noon and at 4pm.
He ate a few pieces of cooked chicken thankfully.
Guess I will give him the new dose of 1.0u tonight and just watch him as the hours go by. Cannot understand what is with him now. He has always had a good appetite.
Oh well....wish me luck...
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

Any sign of any pukeys anywhere?

Really not like him at all, keep us posted, sending "EAT NOW" vibes to Shadow!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

the Clavamox is probably messing up his tummy. :sad: Plain chicken is good, or maybe he would like some chicken baby food? Do you have any probiotics to give him to help with the tummy?
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

Clavamox messes with Willow's eating habits.

Glad everyone had a good day!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

Awwww sorry the Clavamox is making Shadow a bad tummy!! Could also be soreness from the extractions?? Did you get buperenex?
Missed the coming home post last night...But am glad it's over..
BG going low just like Moonie's did after her last dental..He needs to eat maybe pureed chicken, baby food..
Hope you can find something he will eat--How's Raja??
Sending Healing vines to both your babies!! Feel better do we can see your bootiful Toofs!!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

no pukeys Ronnie,,hmmm...I tried a different flavor FF but no go....
maybe I will try more chicken...

Libby....I had given him half a packet of Fortiflora earlier and mixed more with his dinner tonight that he didn't eat now. He just refused more chicken. Guess he had about 2 tablespoons of it before. That's a little something anyway. I was going to give him more Clavamox in 1 1/2 hours...now I don't know what to do.

He had lost 2 teeth so there was no extractions at all...just work on the plaque. He has been so fine all day...even last night he ate as he usually does.

Raja is starving! :lol: She stood in front of my laptop finally, begging for food. She is always early with her request for food....so i was trying to put her off but she found a way to stop me from what I was doing when she couldn't wait anymore...LOL
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

If you were me, and he doesn't eat between now and 10pm..would you give the second dose of Clavamox tonight?
At the time of his last dental, I used to give it to him right before eating. He was ok until the morning of the 5th day when he vomited everything after I had shot him.
This time around, I waited 2 hours after breffis and gave it to him. Then sprinkled some Fortiflora over his noon snack. The rest of the packet was in his dinner tonight.
He has been napping all day but was so sweet and affectionate this morning....he seems just fine until he didn't eat...strange...
I hope the pieces of chicken stays down at least.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

Would a 1/2 tab of pepcid be appropriate to help settle Shadow's stomach? I'd like to hear what others say...those AB can really mess up a tummy.

Think you vet might be willing to try a different AB if this keeps up?
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

The dose would be 1/4 a Pepcid AC. But I don't know if it is used when tummies are upset by antibiotics... anyone else do this?

How about a little unflavored plain yogurt for Shadow to lick?

EDITED to correct error.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

When Putty was on Clavamox I had to take him off because he would not eat anything.....and Putty always eats. You may have to call the vet to see if there is another AB he can have.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

CD and BigMac said:
The dose would be 1/4 a Pepcid Complete. But I don't know if it is used when tummies are upset by antibiotics... anyone else do this?

Do NOT give Pepcid Complete!

It's 1/4 of a 10 mg Pepcid AC, i.e. 2.5 mg Pepcid AC per dose. Is ok to give in this situation; I think ppl usually give 1/2 hr before the a/b.
 
Dang... that is a terrible mistake. Sorry!!! I have it right in front of me and wrote the wrong thing. $%^$

THANK you Choy Foong. I am editing previous post..... grrr duh. stooopidddd.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150, +1=222

+1=222

Well, I will keep an eye on his number anyway. This is okay....whew...so far anyway.

What other kinds of ABs would there be? He vomited on the 5th day the other time but has not vomited today.

I know that others have problems with their kitties not eating and all and I feel like such a baby tonight cause he didn't want anything for this one meal. :roll: I am sorry....but it's just that he always has a good appetite and I have always been so thankful for that.

Well, we will see what happens...but I am still wondering...maybe I should skip the Clavamox tonight?
My, that is an ugly word. Clavamx. yuck. I even hate the sound of it. don't know why, I just realized I do not like that word at all....
He had to be taken off for 24 hours and then I resumed it....another 5 days or so and he vomited again so i stopped if for 24 hours and resumed it again.

Thank you guys!!! HUGS TO YOU ALL!!

Just saw the above posts...he hasn't gotten sick...do you think the pepcid should be given anyway?

Antibiotics should be given at regular intervals though... :roll: I just don't want to give it to him if that is what is bothering him...but he does need something for possible infections. (the vet office would probably say "You should have taken the sot of Convenia....") ugh...
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

Sorry to hear that Shadow isn't eating. Perhaps it is simply a delayed reaction from yesterday. If he's not used to the drugs, they could easily mess with his stomach. Give him a little time. Maybe just give him a half dose of clavamox. Or skip it this evening. What kind of a drug is it and what is it supposed to do? (whoops, I just read that it is an antibiotic; that alone is enough to mess with anyone's stomach!.) Cats have a tremendous ability to know what is right for themselves. If it were me, I would wait until tomorrow before giving another dose of clavamox. Shadow may find his appetite tonight and then all will be well.
Thinking of you and your kitties. Please leave the wall bed down so they can enjoy it! They earned it after their dentals!
Ella and Stu (we both send those healing vines your way)
 
Re: 3/9 Shadow AMPS=207,PMPS=150 not eating

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
If you were me, and he doesn't eat between now and 10pm..would you give the second dose of Clavamox tonight?
At the time of his last dental, I used to give it to him right before eating. He was ok until the morning of the 5th day when he vomited everything after I had shot him.
This time around, I waited 2 hours after breffis and gave it to him.

Hi Pat,
Sorry Shadow's tummy is bothering him.
In my experience clavamox will take a number of days before it starts causing lack of eating and vomiting. it should also be given with food. Considering what you wrote, I would imagine it is because you did not give it with food this time around.

Could you take a quick run out to the store and get some babyfood. I use gerbers, but it has cornstarch in it. Probably look for beechnut instead. Get some chicken, some turkey, some beef, and some ham flavor. You may find he has some interest in this. Give it to him with the a/b tonight if he does not want anything else. Personally, I would skip ONE dose ONLY if he refused everything and anything...or was vomiting. then I would call the vet first thing in the a.m. and get a new a/b.

It will be okay. He wants to eat. His little tummy just doesnt want to...but it will.

(((((pat)))))
 
Carolyn...thank you!! No pain meds...
I thought the Clavamox should be taken on an empty stomach...my bad...
(but it has no indication on the bottle or literature that it should be taken with food...says nothing at all.)
I ran over and got the baby food ...beechnut...many thanks!
He is sleeping now...will skip tonight and then give him the Clavamox tomorrow with breffis.....
 
Pat,
If he doesnt eat the babyfood, tell him Latte will take it when she comes over to visit and help decorate tomorrow!

Years ago I had a neighbor who gave each of their cats 1/4 jar babyfood every day. They LOVED it and she insisted it made their coats shiny and soft. I did not know the power of babyfood with cats until Latte struggled with her eating. It's crazy wierd. And for her (Latte), the ONLY way she will eat it is if I feed it on a spoon! :lol: She IS a princess, ya know. ;-)

Hugs to you and Shadow. Give Raja a pat and a smooch, too!

Sleep well.
 
+1=222
+3=322
+4=283

He ate! at +4 he ate and all is well with that now. whew. I skipped the clavamox shot tonight...will give it to him with food tomorrow and see how he does. He never did vomit, seems fine now. Thank you all for your help.
BTW, i did shoot the 1.0u new lev dose tonight and he is obvisuly having a healthy bounce for himself.
Ni ni all...and thank you again! :YMHUG:
 
Magnolia, the notoriously hungry hippo, hasn't been eating well since her dental. She did have 4 extractions, but maybe it is related to the Clavamox. Tonight was her last dose, thankfully, so I'll let you know tomorrow how her appetite is. As of tomorrow morning, she will be medicine free, except for the Lantus of course.

I'm glad Shadow ate for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top