3/9 Red AMPS 345 +2 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolyn16

Member Since 2013
Ok-does this make sense to anyone? Red was on 3 units so I dropped him back to 2 1/2 units(for 2 1/2 wks.) because of the following info:

3-7 +9 183 +11 1/2 84 (So no shot that night)

3-8 AMBG 149 (no shot) 2 Hours Later 269,PMPS +20 423 (this was his 1st shot since yesterday morning when he was due) 4 1/2 hours later he was at 375.

Sorry still learning this protocol!

Red is only on Fancy Feast Classic, nothing else & eats 6 times a day spread out. He was 12 1/2 lbs. last time at the vet though now he looks as if he gained alittle. He lost a lb. & a half when he had a bladder infection about 2 1/2 mths. ago but has gained that back since. Before being diagnosed with diabetes he was 17 lbs. & dropped to 11 when diagnosed. Now he is around 13 1/2 or 14 lbs.

Thanks for any help!
 
Wish I had some advice for you, but I'm still pretty new at this too. :-D

Hang in there, there will be others around throughout the day and I'm sure you'll get some insight.

Here's to healthy, happy kitties! drinking24
 
carolyn16 said:
Ok-does this make sense to anyone? Red was on 3 units so I dropped him back to 2 1/2 units(for 2 1/2 wks.) because of the following info:

3-7 +9 183 +11 1/2 84 (So no shot that night)

3-8 AMBG 149 (no shot) 2 Hours Later 269,PMPS +20 423 (this was his 1st shot since yesterday morning when he was due) 4 1/2 hours later he was at 375.

Sorry still learning this protocol!

Red is only on Fancy Feast Classic, nothing else & eats 6 times a day spread out. He was 12 1/2 lbs. last time at the vet though now he looks as if he gained alittle. He lost a lb. & a half when he had a bladder infection about 2 1/2 mths. ago but has gained that back since. Before being diagnosed with diabetes he was 17 lbs. & dropped to 11 when diagnosed. Now he is around 13 1/2 or 14 lbs.

Thanks for any help!

hi there,

Good to see your posting... the numbers are letting you know, he needs insulin but not near as much as you are giving. You can try giving less because the 2.5u knocked him down to a number too low for a shot ..... you want to work for a gently curve where the numbers slowly drop for the first 6hrs or so, then start to rise again by next shot time - if you are seeing numbers drop steadily from shot time with the highest number and the next shot time 12hrs later is the lowest, your dose is too high.

For the next shot, you could try to go with 2u and see how it goes. The shed should be fairly drained after the skipped shot, so now you should get a bit better curve rather than a straight line drop for 12hrs.

I see you attached a link to Red's spreadsheet but there are no numbers on it from your testing. Do you need help to get the info entered.... if yes, just ask and many can help you.
 
Yes, I need help locating the spreadsheet. My 16 yr. old can't find it either here. I found out why Red almost went hypo is that my husband gave him an extra 1/2 unit! Now today my Solostar pen gave him his first shot of air! Found that out tonite from trying to give him a shot and also looking at his numbers rising thru out the day. I feel bad he had to go thru this! My husband doesn't have a clue & my daughter is in her own world-teens!

Thanks for any help! I can't wait to work on the spreadsheet!
 
You just click on the cell that you want to enter a number into and type the number.

Amps (morning preshot)
U=dosage given
+numbers = how many hours after injection
pmps=evening preshot number.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
carolyn16 said:
Yes, I need help locating the spreadsheet. My 16 yr. old can't find it either here. I found out why Red almost went hypo is that my husband gave him an extra 1/2 unit! Now today my Solostar pen gave him his first shot of air! Found that out tonite from trying to give him a shot and also looking at his numbers rising thru out the day. I feel bad he had to go thru this! My husband doesn't have a clue & my daughter is in her own world-teens!

Thanks for any help! I can't wait to work on the spreadsheet!

how are you giving insulin? are you attaching a needle tip onto the pens and shooting the cat's insulin that way or are you using syringes to extract insulin from the pens?
 
- if you are seeing numbers drop steadily from shot time with the highest number and the next shot time 12hrs later is the lowest, your dose is too high.

This is not correct. Sometimes when a cat is clearing a bounce, from numbers that Ernest too low but just lower than the liver is used to, then numbers will steadily decrease from one PS to the next. That does not mean the dose is too high. In addition, some cats....yes, even lantus cats, nadir at +12 (an example for those of you who have here awhile is Atlas).

I'm working with Laura to get the numbers entered on her SS. I set it up for her but she might have a computer issue that is preventing her from entering data so I will get that from her and enter it today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top