3/9 Frankie AMPS 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Active Member
Here we are of Round 2.

Hopefully we can get this on track, and stay there.

I didnt give him a shot last nite, even though he was over 500. He hardly ate and we (Frankie, Chubby and me)all crashed out early from a long day of testing.

He dropped while sleeping to my surprise.

AMPS 295 4:00 AM 2 Units


Let the games begin anew!
 
Hi Jay and Frankie. I just wanted to say Welcome to Lantus Land!
I read your posts last night, and I can tell you really love your cat, as we all do here. You're one of "us".
Good luck with Lantus.
 
Good morning Jay and Frankie.....welcome to Lantus Land.
I followed along with the drama of Frankie's first day on Lantus but did not want to get in the way by posting.
It looks like Frankie has come down quite a bit from last night.
Keep an eye on him today also as I am sure you will.....there still may be some action left from yesterday's dose.
 
Morning !! Hope all is well there.
So you shot 2U at 4am, and will shoot PMPS dose at 4pm?--Hope the numbers are more gentle than yesterday & you have a good day with Frankie--I usually test at +3, +6 pmps & before bedtime, BUT since this is a brand new day for Frankie, I would do 1 +1,or +2,to see where he's going(, Then a +3 as the action begins , and +6 as you would be approaching nadir.. I dont think you need to monitor every hour as yesterday, but keep an eye out
today...
Please know it will take 3 days=6cycles for the dose to settle, so be patient if you arent seeing the numbers you want--Sometimes there is something called new dose wonkiness(NDW) where the numbers are a little higher, but do go down shortly after dose has settled..
Not to worry, Frankie will do just fine--Interested to see where this will go..
Good Luck today! Will be watching :shock:
 
It's great to see that both you AND Frankie made it through the evening relatively unscathed.

Here's hoping the future has more settled days for the two of you.

It's much like leaving the shore on a seaward journey, but in a rowboat.
Those waves near the shore can be horribly choppy, but once you get out onto the open waters, it's ever so much smoother.

Have a great day.
 
Good, nice PS. Now I don't want to hear you worrying about numbers for the next 3 days ok? Practice *not panicking* now, cuz you're gonna need it while he gets used to this insulin and the shed starts filling. All of us freaked out watching our cat's numbers climb for a few days, so you're not alone when it happens. :)
 
Good morning Jay and Frankie. Nice amps this morning, compaired to last night!
Relax a little today and like Carolyn said, Practice not panicking. You and Frankie will do great. Lantus is a wonderful insulin (I've been told, lol, I'm partial to Lev for my own reasons :razz: )
 
Morning Jay & Frankie,
Nice AMPS number. I'll just say ditto to what everyone else has said and especially to "don't panic". Well, actually my Alex is still in liver training school also. He's a bad student (kind of like Dennis the Menace). So I DO get the urge to panic every now and then too. But if you don't, I won't! :lol:

Glad you made it through the night! You both will be fine :-D

Caryl
 
Good morning Jay and Frankie

lots of adventures yesterday, very glad to hear things have been straighten out and you're on your way to better days and a happy healthy kitty.

Just to let you know, it's a good idea to link the previous day's thread/condo to your new day, this way we can quickly look back at what went on the previous day, you'll see this in most of the other condo's, if you forget, it's ok, someone will prob do it for you for a while,...
I'm linking it here for you, when you come on to begin a new day - have a look at the previous day for any replies from overnite, cuz sometimes the eyes :cool: come out while we sleep :lol: to leave feedback and comments, then you would copy the link thru the http bar way up top on your screen and paste it to your new thread/condo. Okey dokey? :-D

FRANKIE'S CONDO YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8426

have a great day!
 
I just got back to my desk (had to go to take care of a legal matter), I am planning on checking him every 3 hours. Next one in 8 minutes or so.

Today is starting well, just picked up a 4000 default judgement against someone who owed me only 825, long story. Thats a lot of strips, insulin and FF (speaking of which I need to get a few cases as I am down to my last 2 cans)

I heard you all yesterday, it was loud and clear. Although patience is not one of my virtues, and even though I didnt believe that 52 at +6 was anything to be overly concerned about, this isnt so much aboout me as it is about the Frankster. I heard you all and effectively killed the dose(s) (he started going back up within an hour of +6)

I know Frankie will do fine, its me you should be worried about.

Jay

Roni and Moonie said:
Morning !! Hope all is well there.
So you shot 2U at 4am, and will shoot PMPS dose at 4pm?--Hope the numbers are more gentle than yesterday & you have a good day with Frankie--I usually test at +3, +6 pmps & before bedtime, BUT since this is a brand new day for Frankie, I would do 1 +1,or +2,to see where he's going(, Then a +3 as the action begins , and +6 as you would be approaching nadir.. I dont think you need to monitor every hour as yesterday, but keep an eye out
today...
Please know it will take 3 days=6cycles for the dose to settle, so be patient if you arent seeing the numbers you want--Sometimes there is something called new dose wonkiness(NDW) where the numbers are a little higher, but do go down shortly after dose has settled..
Not to worry, Frankie will do just fine--Interested to see where this will go..
Good Luck today! Will be watching :shock:
 
Adventures? Nah. When I cant find him or his brother and start searching my 1 bedroom 1100 sq foot apartment for an hour, and then see that they are both under my covers, thats an adventure.
Not sure how to link the 2 condos together other then to call a contractor to break thru the wall...hehe

I;ll try to follow your directions as to how to do that, however even though I am in the Interactive ad sales business, I'm an end user not a techie and would normally call a help desk support person.

Thanks
Jay

Ronnie & Luna said:
Good morning Jay and Frankie

lots of adventures yesterday, very glad to hear things have been straighten out and you're on your way to better days and a happy healthy kitty.

Just to let you know, it's a good idea to link the previous day's thread/condo to your new day, this way we can quickly look back at what went on the previous day, you'll see this in most of the other condo's, if you forget, it's ok, someone will prob do it for you for a while,...
I'm linking it here for you, when you come on to begin a new day - have a look at the previous day for any replies from overnite, cuz sometimes the eyes :cool: come out while we sleep :lol: to leave feedback and comments, then you would copy the link thru the http bar way up top on your screen and paste it to your new thread/condo. Okey dokey? :-D

FRANKIE'S CONDO YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8426

have a great day!
 
Short lived though

His is hovering at 500 now.

Drama, where? The only hair that was standing on anyones neck, was on the other side of my monitor, here in the room. We were all calm, cool and collected on our side.

When he isnt feeling well, like drinking a ton of water, hugging his water bowl while he sleeps, smelling like Nail Polish (DKA, which we have never been through and dont want to) thats when you will see me get dramatic.

Jay

Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning Jay and Frankie.....welcome to Lantus Land.
I followed along with the drama of Frankie's first day on Lantus but did not want to get in the way by posting.
It looks like Frankie has come down quite a bit from last night.
Keep an eye on him today also as I am sure you will.....there still may be some action left from yesterday's dose.
 
When I was a kid, far too many years ago, I was a lifeguard certified by the red cross. We were taught then not to panic, and to remain calm as all the training we have been through will kick in.

Its no different here. I have had enough training with a dose thats tanking Frankie, and ( I still cant get my brain wrapped around it) High numbers.

Amazing, I woke up this morning, sleeping like spoons with him. I dont know how he snuck in. But he did.

Jay
Caryl and Alex said:
Morning Jay & Frankie,
Nice AMPS number. I'll just say ditto to what everyone else has said and especially to "don't panic". Well, actually my Alex is still in liver training school also. He's a bad student (kind of like Dennis the Menace). So I DO get the urge to panic every now and then too. But if you don't, I won't! :lol:

Glad you made it through the night! You both will be fine :-D

Caryl
 
Panic...moi?

I only panic when I find myself looking into the mirror every morning and dont recognize the person staring back at me.

Now that is something to really Panic about.

Jay
Caryl and Alex said:
Morning Jay & Frankie,
Nice AMPS number. I'll just say ditto to what everyone else has said and especially to "don't panic". Well, actually my Alex is still in liver training school also. He's a bad student (kind of like Dennis the Menace). So I DO get the urge to panic every now and then too. But if you don't, I won't! :lol:

Glad you made it through the night! You both will be fine :-D

Caryl
 
LOL

Good reaction from you. Practice breathing. Data collection mode. You won't have to test a lot when he's running high like this and boy is he gonna run high. That 500 is a "present" from his liver. That's gonna be going on for a couple cycles and then we should start seeing things improve.

Don't let the water bowl activity stress you out. Since he's running high, he'll more than likely drink more. As long as you are testing for ketones, that should stave off any acetone smelling.. you'll know long before the smell by strip response.

Say it with me, "I'm in data collection mode" :mrgreen:

Oh yeah, and watch his behavior. Most PZI users report their newly switched Lantus kitties acting like they "feel better" often even while still in high numbers in the beginning. We love to hear those stories so do tell if you see it :)
 
Hi Jay,
I also have been reading your posts. I like you, tend to panic at just the little things!! nailbite_smile
I am still a "newbie" and trying to learn and figure things out.
I can't give any kind of advise, other than: The people on here KNOW what there talking about. I don't know where me and Buddy would be without them.
So try to have patience and take in there knowledge.
Jan and Buddy
 
I have only been able to tell (in the past) when he needs a shot. He lets me know by giving me cat head (oops) head butts.

He always is palyful and active, when he isnt sleeping which is 99% of the time. But the 1% is still there for me to see.

He is so annoying all the time he is awake that its like who can tell if he feels lousy. Like now...I'm fighting with him to get away from my keyboard.

Ok/...here Frankie..go for it

asgaldjga'psuj
aj;vagag
akf

See what I mean.

500 Times
Data Collection Data Collection
Data Collection Data Collection
Data Collection Data Collection

If I keep this up there wont be any time to test?

I'd much rather be collecting winning lottery tickets.

Data Collection Data Collection
Data Collection Data Collection
Data Collection Data Collection

LOL :lol: ;-) ;-)

Carolyn and Spot said:
LOL

Good reaction from you. Practice breathing. Data collection mode. You won't have to test a lot when he's running high like this and boy is he gonna run high. That 500 is a "present" from his liver. That's gonna be going on for a couple cycles and then we should start seeing things improve.

Don't let the water bowl activity stress you out. Since he's running high, he'll more than likely drink more. As long as you are testing for ketones, that should stave off any acetone smelling.. you'll know long before the smell by strip response.

Say it with me, "I'm in data collection mode" :mrgreen:

Oh yeah, and watch his behavior. Most PZI users report their newly switched Lantus kitties acting like they "feel better" often even while still in high numbers in the beginning. We love to hear those stories so do tell if you see it :)
 
There are only a few time I panick.

I ski, I'm good but my buddies who are like in their early 40's are better as they have been on skis 38 of those years.

When I look over the lip of ski run, and it looks as if I have to ski down the side of a wall, and there is no way to hike back out.

Now...thats real Panick apart from looking in the mirror in the morning when I wake up after a night of testing, or going out, or watching TV. Like every day starts in Panic mode. YIKES

Jan and Buddy said:
Hi Jay,
I also have been reading your posts. I like you, tend to panic at just the little things!! nailbite_smile
I am still a "newbie" and trying to learn and figure things out.
I can't give any kind of advise, other than: The people on here KNOW what there talking about. I don't know where me and Buddy would be without them.
So try to have patience and take in there knowledge.
Jan and Buddy
 
Frankie may be experiencing new dose wonkiness, which is common when cat starts on a new dose of lantus..Nothing to be upset about--It will pass, but he is just getting used to the lantus, I do believe he'll come down today , tonite, or by tomorrow..Patience is something I learned here believe me!!!!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Paws & fingers crossed today for nice numbers for Frankie! :mrgreen:
 
I'm 57 and have no patience, never did.
You would think that after 57 years I would? Maybe I'll wait till next year and it will kick in. (HA!)

As far as what his name goes, oh Frankie, yeah thats it. I dont have much of a choice now do I.

Here's a question.
With only one thread available to me. How does one ask a general question?

When I go back to work, its going to be difficult to get to 12/12

I can dose early between 4AM-7AM (7 is pushing it as I have to commute from NJ to Manhattan)) and on the PM side
between 6PM 8PM

I need the following
14 hours in the AM
10 hours in the PM
type dosing.

and a life after Frankie

How can I ask that to everyone here

Jay


Roni and Moonie said:
Frankie may be experiencing new dose wonkiness, which is common when cat starts on a new dose of lantus..Nothing to be upset about--It will pass, but he is just getting used to the lantus, I do believe he'll come down today , tonite, or by tomorrow..Patience is something I learned here believe me!!!!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Paws & fingers crossed today for nice numbers for Frankie! :mrgreen:
 
What happened to my post.

WhenI go to the main "Lantus board" I cant find it.

Jay
Ronnie & Luna said:
Good morning Jay and Frankie

lots of adventures yesterday, very glad to hear things have been straighten out and you're on your way to better days and a happy healthy kitty.

Just to let you know, it's a good idea to link the previous day's thread/condo to your new day, this way we can quickly look back at what went on the previous day, you'll see this in most of the other condo's, if you forget, it's ok, someone will prob do it for you for a while,...
I'm linking it here for you, when you come on to begin a new day - have a look at the previous day for any replies from overnite, cuz sometimes the eyes :cool: come out while we sleep :lol: to leave feedback and comments, then you would copy the link thru the http bar way up top on your screen and paste it to your new thread/condo. Okey dokey? :-D

FRANKIE'S CONDO YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8426

have a great day!
 
change the subject line within your condo!

Here's a question.
With only one thread available to me. How does one ask a general question?
and reply to yourself!
When I go back to work, its going to be difficult to get to 12/12

I can dose early between 4AM-7AM (7 is pushing it as I have to commute from NJ to Manhattan)) and on the PM side
between 6PM 8PM

I need the following
14 hours in the AM
10 hours in the PM
type dosing.

and a life after Frankie

How can I ask that to everyone here

Jay

it will bump your condo up and will bring attention to that particular topic in your condo. I'm not suggesting that you do it every time you think of something :lol:
But something like this, is certainly worthy of attention...see what I mean?

I can't give you an answer but you can edit MY subject line to whatever you want(like "non emergency dosing question"or "general dosing question for return to work").... and someone will more than likely be able to help you :razz:
Hope this helps!

Caryl
What county are you in in Jersey?
 
While we exercise some patiencem, I've been considering the following

When I go back to work, its going to be difficult to get to 12/12

I can dose early between 4AM-7AM (7 is pushing it as I have to commute from NJ to Manhattan)) and on the PM side
between 6PM 8PM
I would need the following type dosing schedule.
Monday Thru Friday
14 hours in the AM to PM
10 hours in the PM to AM

Is this remotely doable and if so how?
 
Re: change the subject line within your condo!

Caryl and Alex said:
Here's a question.
With only one thread available to me. How does one ask a general question?
and reply to yourself!
When I go back to work, its going to be difficult to get to 12/12

I can dose early between 4AM-7AM (7 is pushing it as I have to commute from NJ to Manhattan)) and on the PM side
between 6PM 8PM

I need the following
14 hours in the AM
10 hours in the PM
type dosing.

and a life after Frankie

How can I ask that to everyone here

Jay

it will bump your condo up and will bring attention to that particular topic in your condo. I'm not suggesting that you do it every time you think of something :lol:
But something like this, is certainly worthy of attention...see what I mean?

I can't give you an answer but you can edit MY subject line to whatever you want(like "non emergency dosing question"or "general dosing question for return to work").... and someone will more than likely be able to help you :razz:
Hope this helps!

Caryl
What county are you in in Jersey?


I live in Bergen Cty
 
I'm in Hackensack,,,on Prospect Ave, where are you?

You can PM me...if you want to keep that off line so to speak

Caryl and Alex said:
Well then we are neighbors :)
 
Jay & Frankie said:
With only one thread available to me. How does one ask a general question?
If you have a question or there's an emergency, etc., and want input from the Board, go to your first post of the day and change the subject line by clicking on the 'edit' button and then changing the subject line. If you watch the Board over the course of the day, you will see those lines change -- either from the addition of test data or because someone has a question. If all you do is change the subject line, your condo will stay in exactly the spot where it is in the list. If you also add a 'reply,' it will bump the condo to the top. (FYI: it is a convention on the Board to update BG data in the subject line so more experienced Lantus users can be alerted if there is a problem brewing. It will only hold a finite amount of info, though.)

What happened to my post.
Make sure when you hit the 'submit' button that you get the confirmation window. If someone posted to your condo while you were writing and you then hit 'submit,' you will first see the new posts so you can change what you wrote if there is something relevant in the new postings. You have to click on the 'submit' button again, otherwise, you lose your post.

There are a number of people who have to try to accommodate work and Lantus schedule. I believe that Mousie/Cindy has a work schedule not unlike yours. You might want to either send her a PM or stop by her condo to ask how she is managing her scheduling.

In order to link your previous condo, go to that condo and copy the http:// location. Then, paste it into your new condo for the day.
 
ah and here I thought you actually were in NY and I was then thinking an 1100 sq ft apt in NY - wow this guy must have a really good job! :lol:

but you cheat - your in hackysack....as you can see, I'm south of you, been there once - to go to liquid lumberators (as I like to call them).
 
SOooooooooo What were his numbers today????
It's my Ni Ni time & I still dont know---Yeah, my house isnt even 1100 sq ft! :lol:
Hope Frankie had some lower numbers today--Hmmmm What will tomorrow bring??
Only the Shadow knows(Uh i'm older too) :lol: :lol:
Have a good night!
 
Fooled ya. Ha

Why live in Manhattan. ( I never ever did)
I have always been a bridge and tunnel guy. Have had a car since I was 16.
For the same sq. footage and amenities in Manhattan, It would cost between 4k and 6K per month in rent alone. Yeah, some people actiually pay that.
It takes me less time to get to mid-town from here then some folks I know who live on the upper east side.
If I want the night life of Manhattan, I can always get to it quickly as I am only 20 minutes away.

Jay


Hillary & Maui said:
ah and here I thought you actually were in NY and I was then thinking an 1100 sq ft apt in NY - wow this guy must have a really good job! :lol:

but you cheat - your in hackysack....as you can see, I'm south of you, been there once - to go to liquid lumberators (as I like to call them).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top