3/9. Do Daa. AMPS 150, +4 155, PMPS 287...

Alright! that's not too shabby today, especially since he's not seen greens in a little while. He may start a little bounce tonight. Well, I guess the post I had planned about possibly increasing, since you test enough will have to be parked for a later date. But I'm keeping my eye on you, Do Daa ;). Have a good night, Goose, you may consider getting a few extra zzz's if the +2 is higher than PMPS, but up to you.
 
Alright! that's not too shabby today, especially since he's not seen greens in a little while. He may start a little bounce tonight. Well, I guess the post I had planned about possibly increasing, since you test enough will have to be parked for a later date. But I'm keeping my eye on you, Do Daa ;). Have a good night, Goose, you may consider getting a few extra zzz's if the +2 is higher than PMPS, but up to you.

Yeah, not too bad with the Blues, much better than the alternative. :)
Getting a few extra zzzzz's would be very appreciative, lets see if Do Daa agrees at +4.....
 
Yeah, not too bad with the Blues, much better than the alternative. :)
Getting a few extra zzzzz's would be very appreciative, lets see if Do Daa agrees at +4.....
That's where I like the autofeeder, if I see a bounce starting, I have the food available but don't feel the need to test, which is usually a good sign if the +2 was significantly higher than preshot (sign that he'd not be dropping). Especially when we were on Lantus. That usually meant extra sleep for me, and a few less extra pokies for Mav :woot:
 
That's where I like the autofeeder, if I see a bounce starting, I have the food available but don't feel the need to test, which is usually a good sign if the +2 was significantly higher than preshot (sign that he'd not be dropping). Especially when we were on Lantus. That usually meant extra sleep for me, and a few less extra pokies for Mav :woot:

The issue I've seen with the autofeeders, and the reason we don't have one, is that the ones that I've seen don't close/automatically cover the tray of food at a given time, they just keep the food open and available. So if he doesn't eat all the food before the food is suppose to be picked up (2 hrs before testing), he'll come back and eat it and throw off the tests at amps. He is a grazer usually, even with dry food.
 
Oh interesting, yes I see your point. The thing about not feeding 2 hours before preshot, it really isn't a hard and fast rule.

Normally until you get an idea of how food influences numbers, it is best to withhold food 2 hours before shot, in case the carbs artificially inflate the preshot number. However, that is usually more important for newbies who are just gathering data about how the insulin is working, and how carb sensitive their cat is. Once you have an understanding of that, this suggestion of not feeding 2 hours before shot can be relaxed. It is certainly more relevant when dealing with lower preshot numbers.

I have one that rotates, it has 5 trays in it, so one thought might be to set a time to turn to empty, so the food turns into the feeder and isn't available anymore.
 
Oh interesting, yes I see your point. The thing about not feeding 2 hours before preshot, it really isn't a hard and fast rule.

Normally until you get an idea of how food influences numbers, it is best to withhold food 2 hours before shot, in case the carbs artificially inflate the preshot number. However, that is usually more important for newbies who are just gathering data about how the insulin is working, and how carb sensitive their cat is. Once you have an understanding of that, this suggestion of not feeding 2 hours before shot can be relaxed. It is certainly more relevant when dealing with lower preshot numbers.

I have one that rotates, it has 5 trays in it, so one thought might be to set a time to turn to empty, so the food turns into the feeder and isn't available anymore.

The 2 hour rule is something that we've practiced from the beginning, and with Do Daa, he seems sensitive enough at preshots to continue doing this. I just wish there was a product that had a timer on it to cover the food if there is any left in the tray, that would be a helpful device.
 
Makes sense, and you know Do Daa the best. Have you seen the Petsafe autofeeder? That's what I have, and it is electronic, battery-powered. If you set let's say for food at 10:00 pm, and you don't want it left over for the morning, you can set another time for it to turn, around 3:00 a.m. Or whenever, to have only blank space available. I'm not good at links, but I'll try...

https://store.petsafe.net/5-meal-pet-feeder

I got mine from Amazon, actually I have two, one for each cat :cat:
 
Makes sense, and you know Do Daa the best. Have you seen the Petsafe autofeeder? That's what I have, and it is electronic, battery-powered. If you set let's say for food at 10:00 pm, and you don't want it left over for the morning, you can set another time for it to turn, around 3:00 a.m. Or whenever, to have only blank space available. I'm not good at links, but I'll try...

https://store.petsafe.net/5-meal-pet-feeder

I got mine from Amazon, actually I have two, one for each cat :cat:

I have seen those before. It's something to think about in the future. At the moment, we are ok with how things are set up. Thanks for link. :)

His +3 is 277.
 
Back
Top