3-9-24 Leroy's learning to surf (!!) AMPS 166 +2 86 +3 58 +6 87 +11 197 PMPS 203

squeem3

Member Since 2009
It's been quiet in Leroy's world so we haven't posted. "Quiet" meaning nothing new or exciting other than the usual poop on the litter mat, liquidy vomit on the floor, pee on the litter mat :facepalm::facepalm: :p The vet increased the dose up to 2 based on the last curve.

Spreadsheet is up to date. We're on day 3 of the new dose. I went back to the BD whole unit marked syringes with 1/2 inch needles just to save the half unit ones for when Leroy needs smaller doses. Either the new dose is working well or the longer needles just work better to get into Leroy's weird skin. Or both :p

AMPS 166 - first blue!!
+2 86 - He made it down to the water and is testing out the surf!!!!
 
It's been quiet in Leroy's world so we haven't posted. "Quiet" meaning nothing new or exciting other than the usual poop on the litter mat, liquidy vomit on the floor, pee on the litter mat :facepalm::facepalm: :p The vet increased the dose up to 2 based on the last curve.

Spreadsheet is up to date. We're on day 3 of the new dose. I went back to the BD whole unit marked syringes with 1/2 inch needles just to save the half unit ones for when Leroy needs smaller doses. Either the new dose is working well or the longer needles just work better to get into Leroy's weird skin. Or both :p

AMPS 166 - first blue!!
+2 86 - He made it down to the water and is testing out the surf!!!!
Congratulations on Leroy’s lovely numbers!! Funny description of “normal events”. :joyful:
We can all relate to all things you described.
Safe surfing and a nice weekend to you :bighug::bighug:
 
+3 58:nailbiting:

I have to go out soon so I fed Leroy some LC canned food that his IBD tummy can handle. No hypo symptoms. He's acting just fine.
 
Last edited:
+6 87

Much better :cat:

I'll have to take a look at the food chart to see what MC and HC foods I should keep on hand that won't cause an IBD flare up. It'll probably have to be something seafood based since Leroy can't have poultry, beef, and pork.
 
Thanks! I hope he surfs to at least PMPS.

Any suggestions on what to dose *if* PMPS is green or low blue? He gets budesonide with dinner and that keeps bgs up so maybe full dose. Thoughts?
 
Thanks! I hope he surfs to at least PMPS.

Any suggestions on what to dose *if* PMPS is green or low blue? He gets budesonide with dinner and that keeps bgs up so maybe full dose. Thoughts?

I'm not qualified or experienced enough to give advise on dosing, but I think you'll be fine with a full dose from what we are seeing now.

You got the 58 for what might be the nadir, but we're not sure, next time I would get a reading 30 minutes after anything in the 50s.

I would be really surprised if he's still in greens at PMPS. He started coming back up at +6. You shot 135 last night, but no additional tests. Now that you are going into lower numbers, it will be wise to take at least a +2 after the PMPS.

I trust you have high carbs 15%+ foods to boost him and have Karo/honey on standby.

Overall, my recommendation is way more testing. You are in unknown territory with this new stronger dose and need to watch it very closely.
 
Time to pull out those half unit marked syringes again. :) He's earned that reduction back to 1.75 units. As for tonight, can you get a +11 and post. There's half a chance he might bounce and make it moot. You've shot as low as 122 on this dose.

Nature's Variety Instinct LID rabbit is 13%. So good for MC.
 
197 now. Leroy's wiped out from today's surfing lesson so he's going back to the sun to rest. PMPS won't be too much different so I'll dose 1.75.
 
PMPS 203

Back to yellow :( How long should I keep Leroy on 1.75 before attempting to increase to 2? The vet isn't in until Tuesday, maybe Wednesday. His secretary is back on Monday and can reach the vet if needed.

Nature's Variety Instinct LID rabbit is 13%. So good for MC.

It's actually the NV Original rabbit which is 6% carbs. The canned is mainly for civvie when she's being picky and she won't eat the LID version for some reason :rolleyes: I just realized I do have a can of Leroy's tummy-friendly MC food on hand, one of the BFF gravy foods at 15% carbs. I also have two cartons of Open Farm Rustic Blends which I calculated out to be 6% and 7% carbs. I also have a sample of Nutri-Source Pure Vita dry food at 36% carbs as a very last resort to use. I need to stock up on more canned foods.
 
When following SLGS, you hold the dose a week before deciding what to do next. Provided, of course, he stays above 90.

I was suggesting the NV LID rabbit as a medium carb. The original also has pork in it but is LC. You can also add a drop of honey or karo/syrup to make something HC.
 
He's never gone below blue on 1.75 units before. If 1.75 units isn't quite enough but 2 is a bit too much, how would I measure a dose in between that? Someone on FDMB years ago and when the board was on a previous server claimed that there were 25 unit insulin syringes available that supposedly were super easy to measure quarter unit and even tinier doses with and had gotten such syringes but would not give the brand name or where they had obtained the syringes from.

The NV Original rabbit doesn't seem to be affecting Leroy's tummy. The amount of pork in it must be a very small amount. I'm going to need one of those small kitchen carts to have the cats' food in, all separated by whom can eat them and all the Leroy food separated by carb content :p
 
No one here has ever found the holy grail of 1/4 unit syringes. However, we have used digital calipers to measure in between doses. Dosing with calipers

First, let's see if he's done some pancreatic healing and will like 1.75 units better this time.
 
Back
Top