Kelly and Vesper
Member Since 2025
Prior post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-23-vesper-amps-234-4-197.298602/#post-3251584
Hi everyone! Forgive my absence--I had minor surgery last week and have a lot going on at work so haven't been as diligent about posting lately.
Vesper is doing GREAT!!! She has gained a full pound since her last DKA episode and is now back up to 10 lbs. She feels so healthy, has energy, and has a great appetite.
I finally bought a blood ketone meter and tested that for the first time yesterday and her ketones were 0.2, which I assume is good? How often should I be testing ketones? Every day? If so, is once a day sufficient? She is still VERY feisty for blood draws, so we are minimizing them as much as we can. I still need to try to add in some nighttime checks and hope to get back into the swing of those soon too.
Her numbers seem to be doing okay--we even had almost a full day of blues, but I'm not noticing long term trends. I haven't bumped up the dose yet because every time I am about to do that, she gets another blue. But do you think I should try increasing to 1.75?
We are about to switch her from prednisolone to budesonide, so I might wait to increase change the insulin dose until she is stable on the new med so I can see if the change affects glucose? But let me know if you think we should do things differently?
Hope you are all well!!
Hi everyone! Forgive my absence--I had minor surgery last week and have a lot going on at work so haven't been as diligent about posting lately.
Vesper is doing GREAT!!! She has gained a full pound since her last DKA episode and is now back up to 10 lbs. She feels so healthy, has energy, and has a great appetite.
I finally bought a blood ketone meter and tested that for the first time yesterday and her ketones were 0.2, which I assume is good? How often should I be testing ketones? Every day? If so, is once a day sufficient? She is still VERY feisty for blood draws, so we are minimizing them as much as we can. I still need to try to add in some nighttime checks and hope to get back into the swing of those soon too.
Her numbers seem to be doing okay--we even had almost a full day of blues, but I'm not noticing long term trends. I haven't bumped up the dose yet because every time I am about to do that, she gets another blue. But do you think I should try increasing to 1.75?
We are about to switch her from prednisolone to budesonide, so I might wait to increase change the insulin dose until she is stable on the new med so I can see if the change affects glucose? But let me know if you think we should do things differently?
Hope you are all well!!

