3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,PMPS-241

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Yes, I shot her full 2 u. This is what I was waiting for and glad she did it on my last day off. But I am a tad freaked and afraid maybe I should not have. I am scared she wont eat or eat fast enough.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8341

Last night:
PMPS-246? (pred cycle)
+2.5-332
+6.5-244 (kibble)
AMPS-103
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

She has had about 1/2 can of 3oz wellness. After +1 she walked away from food and went to water bowl (covered with saucers to prevent too much gulping).

Im really nervous. Why is it when you are in the situation, its harder to think clearly than when its someone else? :lol:

Next test, 15 minutes. If its lower, I guess I add a drop of karo to food? Or should I do it now?
(for those who dont know us or are new...Latte cannot have the high carb foods,so we make a homemade version with small drops of karo)

Ya, so if anyone can let me know they are out there and keeping an eye on us until she rises, that would be really great! :mrgreen: I'm shaking as I type.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

OK, she just ate some Wellness, so it does have low carbs in it..Test in 15 min, and let's see where it goes..If number goes lower, do you have any mc or hc?? You can also mix a little karo with lc to make mc... She may come up with the wellness, but 57 is a good number
I know you are a little scared, as we all see low number & go GULP!!
You are in control--You have food, strips, and most of all you are home!!
This is great! Every green is a healing number for her Mr. P!













You are in control,
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

Carolyn. Dont feed her more than a few tbs, as you want her to be a little hungry--Also make a little gravy so she can lap it up--That doesnt make them as full--You may need to feed her a few times today, so easy on the portion.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

+1.25-57

She only eats little bits at a time anyway. She is maybe 3/4 finished with 3oz wellness. This is close to normal for her...usually takes just a tad longer to eat that much in a.m. It's the water Im trying to keep her from filling up on! :?

Thanks for keeping an eye on us Roni!
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

I'm here for support Carolyn. I'm at work, but I'll keep checking up on you.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

Moonie does this to me all the time, so I know what you are feeling--So far so good, & it's great that she eats just a bit--sometimes it just takes a little to bring them up!! Here's to a beautiful day! I'm here..
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57 EYES please

I think that as long as she is eating, she'll be OK, but that you should add your drops of syrup if your experience tells you that's the thing to do. It's not going to hurt her. I fully appreciate your anxiety!!! I'll be checking in on you all day. Stu says: "eat a little bit at a time, Latte, and sip your water".
Ella
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

nailbite_smile

She is going to chill on her throne now, which is a good place to be for something like this. Means she will be easily accesible to test, I can spoon feed babyfood, and she is is NOT drinking water.

Will test again in a few.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

Carolyn, do you have any mc or hc in the house, besides the karo?
She is dropping, but not that much, so that is good!
You still have a while to go here, so if you have any mc or hc gravy, you could give her some--gravy will bring her up some-
Lets see where she is at +2--Hope she will stay on this 50's surfboard!!
Lather, rinse , repeat!
I'm here-we all are for you! :-D
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

Roni,
She has severe GI disease. She cannot have those foods w/o it making her vomit. We sure dont want that right now! Karo is my tool. After next test in a minute I can prep some babyfood with a small drop of karo and see what happens.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

+1.75-63

Maybe a +2, then start spacing tests to 30 min and then hrly until we know for sure she is starting a bounce?

She may have some kibble that she ate around midnight clearing her system at some point this a.m., if it has not already.
(for those who are not familiar with us, Latte does not eat well...IBD/GI lymphoma...she gets kibble)
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

Good morning Carolyn
I sure am waking up to a nail biter
What Roni said, you are in control.
I know Latte has a lot of medical issues and am not familiar with all, but
yes you were right in aying you were waiting for this and the first time is the hardest.
Just go slow on the food becuase Latte can be difficult to feed and monitor her.
She will be fine and so will you.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

You're doing great. The Wellness + Karo is a great strategy for low numbers but you aren't there yet. Latte surfing in the 60s is a wonderful place for her to be.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

Carolyn,
I know the feeling to, Buddy's SS looks like a rainbow for the last 2 days!!! :lol: :lol:

Your doing great, Latte is a VERY lucky kitty.

Jan
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

KNOW THY CAT!! and you do!! Forgot Latte's eating issues for a second, you know what you are doing--See she came up already!! :mrgreen:
That's great! Yes the 60's would be great..Let's see where this goes!!
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53 EYES please

You are doing great, Carolyn. The Karo will wear off quickly, as you know, but she has a bit of food in her as well, so that's good. You are in complete control. If she stops eating, and her numbers call for it, you can rub the karo on her gums.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53, +2-56 EYES please

I cant convince her to eat anymore in the last 30 min. She continues to frequent her water bowl and started her little choking episodes from too much water (even though there is just a little bit in a saucer) during last test, followed by lip licking. :YMSIGH:

Just to make it clear, I have not pulled out the karo YET.

recap so far:
amps-103
+1-57
+1.25-57
+1.5-53
+1.75-63
+2-56

She's messin' with me! :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53, +2-56 EYES please

Oh, OK, well she's doing very well with no Karo in her. You could put a drop or two in her saucer, if you thought she needed it .. swirl it in her water.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53, +2-56 EYES please

They do enjoy messing with us...I mean what else have they got to do?

Looking good Latte! You are doing a SUPER GREAT job Carolyn! You can think of this as "extra" bonding time for you and Latte.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103, +1-57, +1.5-53, +2-56 EYES please

Linda and Bear Man said:
Oh, OK, well she's doing very well with no Karo in her. You could put a drop or two in her saucer, if you thought she needed it .. swirl it in her water.

:lol: You read my mind. Right before the last test she was sitting head over the bowl (not drinking tho) and I told her I was gonna put a splash of Karo in there if she did not cooperate.

She is killin' me over here.

All tummy meds now injected. Lactulose down the hatch (now we will see if it CAN rise bg's in her)
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+1.5-53,+2-56, +2.5-53 EYES please

Latte is doing great here! Karo is the ace in the hole for you--This is a pretty nice surf! Moonie did one of these a few weeks ago-up,down,up,down-but it all turned out great! You are doing fantastic today! Let's see where this goes...
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+1.5-53,+2-56, +2.5-53 EYES please

Morning Carolyn :)

I wonder if it's time for making that 2u skinny or reducing back to 1.75u.. your choice but it's time. Fingers crossed she enjoys a lovely surf and allows you to breathe :)
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+1.5-53,+2-56, +2.5-53 EYES please

Carolyn and Spot said:
I wonder if it's time for making that 2u skinny or reducing back to 1.75u.. your choice but it's time.

That was a given when I saw her amps. I suspected this would happen (the low amps). I saw it coming and Im grateful she did it today rather than tomorrow. She cooperated for once! :mrgreen: What I DIDNT expect was how she would react behaviorally and physiologically to this....or whatever else is going on with her this a.m. She has been uncomfortably restless, and obviously nauseated. The last 45 min, she would stay calm and purr, if I sat next to her and rubbed her head. As soon as I moved away she would go drink her water, pace, howl, sit and stare at me like...wth is going on?!?!

I think for her safety and well being, I should avoid shooting a number like this in the future with a full dose (whatever that may be). Any time I have done this she plummets too low. Tack on any nausea, refusing to eat, vomiting, etc like this a.m. and it does not matter if Im home. There is little I can do to help her.

We tried. We learned. And, Im a little bummed (not to mention emotionally drained from watching her restlessness and listening to her screaming). She is a little more calm right now.

Im not sure what I want to bring it down to...yet. Guess I will ponder over it this a.m.

I did neglect to mention or put on my ss yet....we started a new cartridge last night.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66 EYES please

yeah I agree. Normally I would say not to panic, because she's not used to being in this range, but you've got too much going on there: can't feed HC, steroids, dry.. too hard to be absolutely clear what will happen, and you certainly don't want THIS to happen again. It's too stressful on you both. So next time, skip it and monitor. If that's an epic failure, next you can BCS it, or stall until 200 to shoot or whatever you want to try. Whatever ends up working best in a low PS situation will become clear for you as you try different things. :)
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66 EYES please

Thanks Carolyn
Ive both skipped and bcs before in situations like this. I really hate to skip. e-gads! I would have stalled today to check for a rising number, but I have to shoot at 6pm sharp tonight and run out to work. No wiggle room today.

+3.5-68
She's surfing for the time being.
Will go to hourly checks to make sure there is no more kibble clearing and/or, until I see the bounce start.

Think Im going to lay down for an hour.

Thanks everyone for the eyes and support. We are in a better spot right now.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66,+3.5-68

OMG, Carolyn! What a morning you've had going on here!! :shock:

Glad to see things leveled out & that you had great support to get you through it all.

Hope you get a nice safe surf now & a calmer day ahead! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66,+3.5-68

Doggone it, I come late to the party today and look at all the excitement here. (Maybe that should be CatGoneit.)

You know the saying, "no pain, no gain"? Well, with FD, I think it's "No heart stoppers, no gain."

Hope she does REALLY well the rest of the day!
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66,+3.5-68

Great job Carolyn....and everyone who was here ....Roni and Carolyn...you guys are awesome!
Hope you have a nice nap...this is exhausting. ((Carolyn)) and Miss Latte...you certainly do know how to get your Mama's attention!!
Talk to you guys later. Whew. Drama is draining. I am tired from just reading your condo after the fact.
Hope you have a great afternoon now, you both deserve it! :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66,+3.5-68

Here is what I am thinking:
sk2 tonight to help her with rebound in a pred cycle. Im also going to need to give an appy stim later today because I cant handle any more nights of 4hrs sleep due to begging her to eat. Appy stim usually means kibble, especially if I am not around to divert...which I wont be.

1.75 tomorrow and hold it 5-6 cycles. This should be a safe dose for her and allow me to go to work with peace of mind. If it seems its keeping her back in the 200-300 range constantly, then I could increase to a s2 Thursday night or Friday a.m.. I will be working one of the weekend days, but be around for a +4 and able to come home for a check if need be.

I should clarify that Im only concerned about shooting these lower #'s in the a.m. cycle. PM cycle is much more comfortable because of the steroid. She will always rise.

Gosh, I really feel like I messed up by giving this shot today. I made her miserable. And now as she bounces, she is just going to continue to feel bad.

+4.5-91, btw It looks as if she is feeling better/more relaxed for the moment.
(ETA:should not have said that...back howling at her h20 bowl :? )

I will check her before I head out for some errands in a few hrs. Until then...its back to bed for real! No more thinking!! :lol: well of course, any thinking those of you want to do on the dose would be a-okay with me!
 
Re: 3/8 Latte

you know you're doing the best you can, carolyn. cut yourself a big break. :)
yeah, next time i'd delay the shot if you had time or reduce slightly but remember if the shed is full you might still be working off the earlier dose rather than the slight reduction. still, reducing the shot slightly will help you leave feeling safer about the numbers.
in a situation like this i might do the karo earlier anyway with that low +1. remember the sugar dissipates sooner.
we have similar issues with cleo and her lymphoma vomiting. so i don't always shoot 12/12 any more but will shoot a little later if she's presented me with a too-low preshot.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+4.5-91 Dosing thoughts?!

Wow - you ran a marathon this morning! But you did well!

I agree with your plan above regarding doses...makes sense given all her contributing factors.

Be interesting to see what she does from here....her pattern has been changing just a bit the last few weeks. Hopefully she won't bounce too high or stay up there too long.

Good job today, Carolynn!!
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+4.5-91 Dosing thoughts?!

Yeah I think if 1.75 is failing, you can increase early.. we'll have to wait and see. I feel that we might need to be a bit flexible with her dosing, but let's see where she goes on it before guessing LOL
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+4.5-91,+6.5-124 Dosing thoughts?!

Okay, Chris brought up a good point about overflowing shed. So I will be open to just dropping down to 1.75 tonight. Probably wait and see the number? I hate to give pred on a bounce in the 300's, kibble on board, and a reduction. But I also hate to wake up to another low ps tomorrow because the shed was still too full. confused_cat

Maybe latte will tell me what to do if I ask nicely? :lol:

+6.5-124 is not so bad. Hope she can hang like that for a while longer.
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+4.5-91,+6.5-124, +10-199

This will be our last update until well past pmps, because I have to shoot and run.

I think I will err on the side of caution and just do a 1.75 tonight. I'm just not feeling brave after this a.m.

You know, it was not the numbers that were freaking me out so much. She has been down that low and lower before. It was the way she was behaving. She was obviously very uncomfortable in her skin. Could not get enough water, yet half the time would just sit and stare or yell at the water and not drink. She had a strange look about her....in her eyes. And that choking from her water...she kind of coughed at one point and some water came out of her mouth. :sad: top that with refusing to eat after a certain amount (less than usual for a.m.) and something was not right. I dont know what it was related to - one thing or a combination. But Im certain the drop and lower numbers did not make it easier on her.

Yes, I still feel bad. I should have bcs, at the least, since I couldnt stall. Maybe even skipped. I probably should have Karo'd her food right off the bat to keep her more even. I was certain she would drop, just not so quickly in the first hour. And when she was drinking water and the idea of lacing it with karo came, I should have done that. :YMSIGH: I was in the mindset that she was like all the other cats on here. Shoot low to stay low. She will be fine. She stayed low, but possibly too low for HER. And, no she is not like the other cats here. She really cant be going this low and be safe all the time. Other factors can come into play at any time when she is low making it very dangerous.

She is fine this afternoon. We napped it off...me in bed, her under the piano next to my bed (that space is probly more comfy than my bed! :lol: ). She got up a few min before my alarm to walk around, use the LB, etc. Very affectionate when I got up and chose to to have a small kibble snack. I just made a special tent with the covers on my bed which she is comfortably laying in right now (her favorite treat :mrgreen: ). I will still give the appetite stim, in maybe an hour. It should start kicking in right before I get home from work this pm. Hopefully it will help her out enough and I can get some sleep tonight.

thanks again for all who watched out for us today. I really appreciate they eyes, the reminders, and the support.

A recap of Numbers - so you can see where she came from and where she went-

PMPS-248 (pred cycle)
+2.5-333
+6.5-242 (kibble)
AMPS-103
+1-57 (eating)
+1.25-57 (eating)
+1.5-53 (few licks of food)
+1.75-63 (refusing food from this pt on, despite trying after each test)
+2-56 (gave some whisker lickens treats - 4, and she ate them)
+2.5-53 (few more treats, had lactulose and other meds/no fluids)
+2.75-62
+3-66
+3.5-68
+4.5-91
+6.5-1224
+10-199
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+4.5-91,+6.5-124, +10-199

(((Carolyn))) It is sooo easy to hang around LL and get lulled into shooting the low numbers and going for the green. I have been sucked in myself, many a time. Some of us have cats that are very different. So you make a note on your SS to remind yourself that, the next time, you want to try something different. I would post the link for your condo in the SS. I used to have a quote in my siggy line from Randy Pausch that said "Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted". So, today you gained valuable experience, and also created a teaching opportunity for others. Tonight, Bear gave me an am+12 of 92. I thought "oh, he just ate kibble, he just got pred..." and considered shooting, but I IMMEDIATELY thought of your condo this morning and said, instead "he doesn't need the drama, he doesn't need the HC gravy, he will go up a bit, and then come down again", and I skipped the shot. Tomorrow will tell if I was right or not. But the one thing I will gain, for sure, is more experience. There is no right and no wrong for our kitties, only decisions based on love, and doing the best we can under difficult circumstances.
 
Latte is doing fine. It was so hard to bother her for all the meds before running out to work. She made herself look so cozy under the tent I made on my bed. She has eaten great, due to the appy stim - lots of kibble, and even some wet when I was gone! She went for the wet over the kibble when I got home, almost finishing a 1/2 small can of wellness I will be able to go to bed any time (hopefully earlier than usual) and rest in peace that she has a full belly and good nutrients.

She is much more forgiving of me than I am myself today and tonight..thats for sure. Bless her heart!

Linda- Thank you. What you said was very helpful and supportive. I did at one point have a plan...almost like a chart of a.m. bg levels and things to consider before shooting and what I should shoot. Ive never needed to use it, but today I should have. It would have clearly told me to bcs or skip. You will laugh, but as I was pushing the plunger all I could hear in my head was you saying, "you cant take the insulin back out of the cat". And then, it was in. I think a little reminder to myself in a sticky note next to her throne, where we shoot, would be a good idea - thank you. And possibly a note in our siggy about blue being 'our' green.

I still feel a little pit in my tummy and even more appreciation for the fragility of her life, after today. Again, it was not the numbers per say, but the way she reacted to them and how much worse it *could* have been.
 
(((Carolyn)))

What a day for you! Glad to hear that Latte is doing so much better! cat_pet_icon

carolynandlatte said:
She is much more forgiving of me than I am myself today and tonight..thats for sure. Bless her heart!

And bless your heart!! Latte knows how much you love her & so does everyone here. You deal with so much each & every day to keep your girl safe & healthy. I don't know how you cope! Please be gentle with yourself, Carolyn. :YMHUG:
 
Wow a lot of excitement for you two today! As I was reading your condo my heart was racing thinking oh God what would I do in this situation? In the month that Scrabble has been on lantus I have only hit one green (that I know of) and I see all the other ss and think crap can I handle it when it happens to us? I get worried because I work full-time and sometimes am not home for 10 hours. Anyway, just wanted to say you did great!!!
 
Re: 3/8 Latte AMPS- 103,+1-57,+2-56, +2.5-53,+3-66,+3.5-68

carolynandlatte said:
H

I should clarify that Im only concerned about shooting these lower #'s in the a.m. cycle. PM cycle is much more comfortable because of the steroid. She will always rise.


Johnny one note here :mrgreen:

another benny of splitting the roid.* Might* give a cushion on both cycles. Did for us.( not that we didn't travel the lowlands on occasion)
Of course ECID and to note: Winnie was on dex and pretty good dose. and her FD was strongly roid driven.
just a little something more to think about ?
Forgive me ........ I couldn't resist bringing that up again with what you wrote ;-)

other thought is....... if you want to stick to once a day dosing. talk to your vet about switch the pred to amps dosing. That way when you are away at work you have the pred cycle. At night when you are home you will be there for more possible action. I know many say that give roid at night b/c cats are nocturnal and it works more w/ their clocks........ But I was told by our IM vet that it really didn't make that much difference since cats , as indoor pampered pets, are not necessarily nocturnal anymore.

great job today .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top