? 3/7 Harley AMPS 238 +2 290 PMPS 132

Sorry that no one responded to your post. When you have a question, please use the "?" prefix in the thread title and say something like "STALLING, SHOULD I SHOOT?" etc that will grab attention. You can also tag @tiffmaxee who is on the West Coast.

Next time you get a number you are uncomfortable shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 minutes. If he rises without food, it would be safe to shoot, provided you can monitor the cycle.

Are you following TR or SLGS?
 
Sorry that no one responded to your post. When you have a question, please use the "?" prefix in the thread title and say something like "STALLING, SHOULD I SHOOT?" etc that will grab attention. You can also tag @tiffmaxee who is on the West Coast.

Next time you get a number you are uncomfortable shooting, stall without feeding and test in 20 minutes. If he rises without food, it would be safe to shoot, provided you can monitor the cycle.

Are you following TR or SLGS?
Thank you for the info. I guess Im following the SLGS. My vet thought that 0.5 was too low to start at. So he had me start at 1. His numbers util today seemed to indicate that starting at 1.0 was a good idea.

I'll be rechecking in one hour (that'll be +3)

Thank you,
Agnes
 
His numbers util today seemed to indicate that starting at 1.0 was a good idea.
I see from a previous post that you had switched him to low carb wet food after diagnosis. How long after this was insulin started? Or was the food change done after insulin was started?
Diet change can lower numbers and consequently insulin requirements.

I'll be rechecking in one hour (that'll be +3)
Great! It would be great if you could get one test before bed every night. It doesn't have to be +6. Even a +2 or +3 is fine.
 
I see from a previous post that you had switched him to low carb wet food after diagnosis. How long after this was insulin started? Or was the food change done after insulin was started?
Diet change can lower numbers and consequently insulin requirements.


I changed his diet a little over a week before starting insulin. His numbers dropped by about 100 from diet in the first week. His first reading at vet was 538.

Great! It would be great if you could get one test before bed every night. It doesn't have to be +6. Even a +2 or +3 is fine.

I will try to get a +2 every night.

Do you think i should keep him at 0.5 unit tomorrow morning? His +3 reading tonight was 216? (Assuming that his AMPS tomorrow isn’t lower than the PMPS today?). Or go cack to the 1.0

thank you,
Agnes
 
Back
Top