3/7 AMPS: 183! We shot low today!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by TankNRK, Mar 7, 2023.

  1. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Previous Post:
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-a-night-should-i-reduce.274938/#post-3051680

    Alright so I'm ready to start transitioning to TR. Lando's at 183 and I'm going to stall for 15 minutes. I'm off work today and can monitor!

    I think a reduced dose is likely today as we had a fiasco the other night from giving a full 1.5u at 218 hovered him BARELY over hypo. I'll update shortly what the 15 minute stall is.
     
  2. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    15min stall 180. Can't stall too long since we have daylight savings upon us! I can stall one more 15 minute segment.
    I'll be home to monitor today aside from a few short errands I need to run down the street.
     
  3. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    30 minute stall is 168
     
  4. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Can't stall any longer, feeding and trying to make a decision
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  5. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    I'm thinking 1 unit to be safe, I think 1.25 could get a little dicey with so little data at lower numbers
     
  6. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Sorry no one got back to you sooner. If you can monitor and have testing supplies and a hypo kit, I would shoot. Keep kitty hungry. And test at +1 +2.
     
  7. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Lando is dropping because he needs food to eat.
    You gave 1.5 U on 3/22
    It is up to you. Are you doing SLGS or TR.?
    I cant stay up with you because I am in Australia and it is getting late at night.
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  8. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Shoot the full dose?? Oh gawtt I'm nervous I want to give a reduced dose but it's out of fear.
    I'm trying to transition to TR!
    No need to stay up here in the US it's early EARLY morning and I'm sure I can find help if I need it
     
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Whatever you shoot you will have to monitor as the depot from the previous dose influences this cycle for at least the first half of the cycle.
    As Angela said, you will need to get a+1 and +2 if you shoot the full dose...I would get those tests what ever you shoot.
     
    TankNRK likes this.
  10. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    I'll be here to do so. I'm scared to shoot 1.5 and might feel better at 1.25 but I want to do what's right for Lando and not to keep me feeling safe.
     
  11. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Alright 1.5 it is. It's time to decide and I'll be here. We're going for it!
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  12. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It is always scary the first few times to shoot lower numbers.
    Remember if you are testing, you are in charge and can intervene with food at any time.
    DO you have high carb food and honey or karo?
     
    TankNRK likes this.
  13. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Alright, we shot 1.5!
    I have low carb, medium carb, high carb, and syrup! I have 2 bottles of testing strips (I was gonna run to the store today to grab more actually, maybe I still can)
    I want to switch to TR and I'm ready to start making these decisions. Lando's obviously ready too. Here we go!!
     
  14. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Great choice! You will be fine. Sorry I can't stay up.
    Get that +1 and +2 so you don't get any nasty surprises at +3
    If the BGs drop into mid/lower greens just test each half hour until nadir.
    Post and ask for help if you are concerned. But I'm sure you will be fine:)
     
    TankNRK and Angela & Cleo like this.
  15. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Thank you, enjoy your rest! I'll be sure to check those times, still aren't sure when nadir is so we'll just run through a bottle of strips no biggie lol!
     
  16. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    I'm not as experienced as some but I have been doing this awhile. I will be around to check in on you :bighug:
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) and TankNRK like this.
  17. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    I trust you and I know that between us all together Lando is in good hands :)
    It's really early for my side of the world so as the hours go on I'm sure I'll have more people who can pop in as well if you gotta scoot off! I'll remember to update the thread throughout the day! The only thing I really have to do today is run to the UPS store down the street and drop something off so hopefully Lando doesn't throw me for any loops when I need to go do that haha!
     
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's good you shot. Soon you will be shooting lower and lower preshots with confidence. :)

    If you can monitor, there is no need to stall - especially at a comfortable number like 183 - which is not very different from 218 which you shot the other night. This morning he was pretty much flat since last night. And 183, 180 and 168 are pretty much the same number given meter variance. Like Bron said, stalling without food can sometimes cause the numbers to drop further - making the shooting decision even more difficult.

    Test every hour and feed a tsp of food after every test. That will help reduce any dives.
     
    Angela & Cleo and TankNRK like this.
  19. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    You got it! I'm glad I shot too, I was kind of scared as it's been a rough couple days with Lando, but I opted to put on my big kid pants and say, "Let's do it Lando!" Now I know for next time. I guess if I had to work today I would have been more conservative with the shot and maybe have done 1u. Now that I'm home all day though and can test a lot I can gather some amazing data for the future. I may not be lucky enough next time to be home to monitor!
     
  20. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good job shooting. It does get easier as you go along. :bighug:
     
    TankNRK likes this.
  21. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    So far he's sitting pretty flat today! He did rise after eating but not by much, sitting nice and tight low 200s. I gave one little bite at +2 so he rose a tad but so far so good, my sweet boy! I'm glad I took the plunge today. If it's a work day though I know now there really isn't time to stall past 15 and I need to be conservative.
    But on a day like today we can be a little more brave ;) thanks for the encouragement everyone!
     
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like he is headed up slowly in a bounce from last night's blues. You can take a break from tests. :)

    Btw, please update the title with today's numbers and take off the bit about stalling? Thanks!
     
    TankNRK likes this.
  23. TankNRK

    TankNRK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Sure thing!

    And that's kind of a relief but I do wish I could have gathered that data at least it's a simple flat bounce and not a HIGH bounce! Good thing I shot the full dose today!
     
  24. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Happy you shot the full dose :cat:
    Don't forget to add when you switched to TR on your signature
    Can you put a line above the date your switched to TR on your SS also just like you did when you started Lantus and highlighted it in blue so members know :cat:
    @TankNRK
     
    TankNRK likes this.
  25. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    yay! I am glad you shot the full dose. He seems to be doing well for now.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and TankNRK like this.
  26. Karen and Chispa

    Karen and Chispa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2022
    Congrats on shooting low! It's scary at first, but it does get easier. :bighug::cat:
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    One thing to consider, a stall can act a bit like a reduction. So it's not really necessary to both stall and shoot a reduced dose. I'm glad you shot the full dose. Vetsulin brain was probably talking to you this morning. ;) Lantus is a whole different way of thinking.
     
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @TankNRK
    Hi Tank on your SS where you wrote TR Dosing Today anyway you can write that in black only because it's hard to see :cat:
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2023
  29. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Looks like all went well for you and Lando:)
     

Share This Page