3/7 Alex PMPS 329,+3~321,+5~379

Status
Not open for further replies.
DANG! What a nice string of numbers Caryl!

What a beautiful night!

Edited to add: please continue with 2 more bupe cycles tomorrow.. just wanna see what doses 3 and 4 do for him :)

And Kathy, for next time, I only recommend HC or MC for Alex during BIG drops.. like 200pts or more in the first 3-4 hours. I also recommend it only for him, no other cats, because Alex has a tendency to come crashing down from the stratosphere and then go flying right back up. :mrgreen:

I *did* feed Alex him a little MC with his dinner last night because I was afraid with 157 he would come barreling down to fast. (I added this to ss)

Alex was very whiny, growly and hungry this morning

I will give bupe at around 10:30-11:00AM when I get up because it's BTB for me I-)

Morning and Happy Sunday Everyone :-D

Hope you had a nice night Carolyn :)


yesterday
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212

Nice AMPS Aalex!! looking good in here!
Caryl...can Alex come to the St. Patrick's day Party on the 17th please? We are soooo into partying and any excuse will do for a big get together! I usually leave it up to the kitties to spread the word, but I thought it best to try to get the invitations out personally this time...and of course, Jackson is invited too! They are all going to be wearing their green BGs...isn't it fitting? But if green is not doable, no matter...come as you are...any BGs are welcome....
It's going to be so much fun...hope your boys can come!!!
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212

agree - nice amps!!! Maybe Alex is learning.

Isn't that eye dilation thing pretty interesting...I know it means the bupe is working and kitty is chilling, but wonder if it means it's treating pain or the cat is well just high/loopy? :razz:
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Nice AMPS Aalex!! looking good in here!
Caryl...can Alex come to the St. Patrick's day Party on the 17th please? We are soooo into partying and any excuse will do for a big get together! I usually leave it up to the kitties to spread the word, but I thought it best to try to get the invitations out personally this time...and of course, Jackson is invited too! They are all going to be wearing their green BGs...isn't it fitting? But if green is not doable, no matter...come as you are...any BGs are welcome....
It's going to be so much fun...hope your boys can come!!!
:mrgreen:

Thanks Pat, Of Course they'll be there. Jackson will definitely be in green(he looks darn good in it too) and hopefully Alex will as well but he's really happy to be invited. He wants to know if ff makes lc corned beef? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212

Carolyn and Spot said:
Nice AMPS.. can't wait to see how today turns out :)

I can't either but so far he's going the wrong way! I gave him the bupe at +3. Was about 11.5 hours from his last dose but absolutely worn off. He was so stressed out. I went btb. Jackson went btb. Alex was roaming the apartment yowling for the last half hour looking for food. I think sometimes that his numbers get higher(like now)because he drives them up with his own stress(another similarity between him and I).
Anyway, he had a snack and is quieting down now. The bupe should start to take effect soon.

I have an affair coming up on March 27th that I have to go to. I have to leave for at about 4 and won't be home til midnight. I don't think I'll have anyone to give Alex his shot. I don't know how to do this. I was thinking about changing his schedule to something more convenient for me but don't know how to do it and don't know how to feed with something like that. (I'm unemployed now so the morning isn't an issue) The way I have it I can't go out at night at all and it's getting really bad all around. Any suggestions?
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212

Hillary & Maui said:
agree - nice amps!!! Maybe Alex is learning.

Isn't that eye dilation thing pretty interesting...I know it means the bupe is working and kitty is chilling, but wonder if it means it's treating pain or the cat is well just high/loopy? :razz:

Yup it is...but it's not something I haven't seen in my own self very many times when I've taken painkillers. :razz: It means it's working. period. if it's a painkiller then it more than likely IS doing it's job.
One of the main side effects of a narcotic is dilation of the pupils.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234

Well.. shot time is normally 8am? You'll have to change it that day unless Alex does what he's sposed to and changes it for you :) I'm expecting one of these days here shortly your boy is going to be too low to shoot. That will change your shot time like magic LOL And yeah, being a night owl myself, I have Leo's shot times at 2 and 2.

Remember I said I wanted to see yellow and blue? This is what I want to see. I don't care if he goes up 20pts in 3 hours as long as he is yellow and blue. Then we go for green. :) BTW tonight is last dose of 5.25u. Tomorrow AMPS you increase to 5.5u unless we see green in the next two cycles.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234

Carolyn and Spot said:
Well.. shot time is normally 8am? You'll have to change it that day unless Alex does what he's sposed to and changes it for you :) I'm expecting one of these days here shortly your boy is going to be too low to shoot. That will change your shot time like magic LOL And yeah, being a night owl myself, I have Leo's shot times at 2 and 2.

Remember I said I wanted to see yellow and blue? This is what I want to see. I don't care if he goes up 20pts in 3 hours as long as he is yellow and blue. Then we go for green. :) BTW tonight is last dose of 5.25u. Tomorrow AMPS you increase to 5.5u unless we see green in the next two cycles.


Change it that day? how can I do that so that Alex gets a shot before I go to the party? I know I have 3 weeks but I'm just curious? Does Alex have to have his 'meals' with his shots? (his main meals)

Sorry if I'm on delay..I have a few phone calls I need to answer.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234

You won't. You'll just be late with your dose that day. He'll be fine :) Nope you can feed him whenever, just make sure it's not within 2 hours of a preshot.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234

Carolyn and Spot said:
You won't. You'll just be late with your dose that day. He'll be fine :) Nope you can feed him whenever, just make sure it's not within 2 hours of a preshot.

Maybe that will be able to help me change him to a 12/12 schedule ?
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234

Yes, sometimes you have to brute force a schedule change. In this case since you need to ADD (like go from 8a/8p to 12a/12p) hours to get to where you want to be, you want to do that in one shot. ie: just be late once. If you needed to SUBTRACT hours (like change times from 8a/8p to 5a/5p), we could "walk" your shot times back gently.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234

Carolyn and Spot said:
Yes, sometimes you have to brute force a schedule change. In this case since you need to ADD (like go from 8a/8p to 12a/12p) hours to get to where you want to be, you want to do that in one shot. ie: just be late once. If you needed to SUBTRACT hours (like change times from 8a/8p to 5a/5p), we could "walk" your shot times back gently.


so this party may solve my problems in one 'shot'... lol no pun intended :)

what's with this +5 :? wrong direction again...

Alex is more lively on bupe today than yesterday
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285

Okay, the numbers are in the wrong direction, but dang, they're nice numbers for Alex!!!!

Thanks for explaining the food thing, Carolyn. Whatever you said, it is WORKING!

Caryl, you have a lot of time before your event. Maybe you'd like to ease Alex onto a 10a-10p schedule, or even 11a-11p, and then you wouldn't be REALLY late that one night?
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285

That's a tough thing to do because you either have to back it up 1/2hr a day til you're at the place you want to be which would be 16 days of changing shot times for an 8 hour time change, or you would have to push it forward and ADD 1/2hr a day to his cycles to push his shot times 4 hours forward. I don't want anything messing him up right now at all, particularly not late shots so I shoot that idea down. :mrgreen:

Plus I have faith. I know Alex is going to be too low to shoot one of these days and will magically change the shot time for us. lol
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285

I kinda figured he'd be more lively today.. worked that way with Leo too. So. Time for the cold hard truth: do you think the buprenex is relieving pain when looking at his behavior for the last two days?

I think his numbers are beginning to reflect it but it's a little early to know for sure if it's the buprenex, the dose, a combination, etc.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285

Carolyn and Spot said:
I kinda figured he'd be more lively today.. worked that way with Leo too. So. Time for the cold hard truth: do you think the buprenex is relieving pain when looking at his behavior for the last two days?

I think his numbers are beginning to reflect it but it's a little early to know for sure if it's the buprenex, the dose, a combination, etc.

Holy smokes I am wondering if I gave Alex a fur shot even though I felt for it and I didn't feel any wet....
+6 is 313!!!

It's very hard for me to tell if Alex is getting pain relief. The only difference to me is that he is mellow (no growling and more napping) and less vocal.

I don't know if the yowling(what I call his constant talking) is from being hungry or from any pain but I never thought he was in a lot (if any) of pain because of the amount of jumping around he does. If he had ever given me any indication of not feeling well(which he does, when he doesn't feel well), I'd think yes, he's getting relief.but I honestly don't know ?????
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313

Don't panic, this is possibly the insulin catching up right before a break. Just a hiccup whatever it is so don't look too closely at it.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313

Carolyn and Spot said:
Don't panic, this is possibly the insulin catching up right before a break. Just a hiccup whatever it is so don't look too closely at it.


okay..I have to go out for about an hour so I'll check when I get back...
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313

Caryl - I'm reading and learning along with you - I believe what Carolyn is saying -- is to stop focusing on the numbers and rather focus on the colors instead. As long as Alex stays blue and yellow - he's doing what he should be doing - it doesn't matter what the numbers tell you - so start thinking color and not number.

She also is thinking that one of these days, very soon - he is going to drop into the green zone and be too low to shoot - hence this will give you what you need to change from 8/8 to 12/12. So, let's watch for this in the next couple weeks and if for some reason it doesn't happen before March 27 - then March 27 will be the day you "pretend" he is too low and shoot the 12/12 schedule anyway. -- Does that make sense?

The one thing the dentist said in his seminar - was that animals (cats especially) show no signs or symptoms that they are in pain - they do an amazing job of hiding it. So, the question of do you think the bupe is helping him is subjective - has his behavior improved being on the bupe? The yowling calmed down? Need for food calmed down?

It's very possible the Alex is not in pain per se, but rather in discomfort and the bupe is taking the edge off that discomfort.

And it's ok to say Alex may not be in acute pain but is uncomfortable - which means, we need to come up with a long term pain solution for him. ( I have a feeling Carolyn may have some ideas) ;-)

(Maui is doing better today - since I have one syringe left - I gave her half this am and will give the other half tonight - I'd rather her cruise a little longer and not be uncomfortable)
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313

yeah, that. lol good thing i have you around hillary, i don't have it in me to type all that while i'm watching the race :D
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313

Hillary & Maui said:
Caryl - I'm reading and learning along with you - I believe what Carolyn is saying -- is to stop focusing on the numbers and rather focus on the colors instead. As long as Alex stays blue and yellow - he's doing what he should be doing - it doesn't matter what the numbers tell you - so start thinking color and not number.

She also is thinking that one of these days, very soon - he is going to drop into the green zone and be too low to shoot - hence this will give you what you need to change from 8/8 to 12/12. So, let's watch for this in the next couple weeks and if for some reason it doesn't happen before March 27 - then March 27 will be the day you "pretend" he is too low and shoot the 12/12 schedule anyway. -- Does that make sense?

The one thing the dentist said in his seminar - was that animals (cats especially) show no signs or symptoms that they are in pain - they do an amazing job of hiding it. So, the question of do you think the bupe is helping him is subjective - has his behavior improved being on the bupe? The yowling calmed down? Need for food calmed down?

It's very possible the Alex is not in pain per se, but rather in discomfort and the bupe is taking the edge off that discomfort.

And it's ok to say Alex may not be in acute pain but is uncomfortable - which means, we need to come up with a long term pain solution for him. ( I have a feeling Carolyn may have some ideas) ;-)

(Maui is doing better today - since I have one syringe left - I gave her half this am and will give the other half tonight - I'd rather her cruise a little longer and not be uncomfortable)

I understood all of that but didn't feel like typing it either. I have been on the phone a lot today. If it doesn't happen before 3/27 I won't have to pretend cuz I won't be here to shoot. same difference I guess but ye i understand and it makes sense :)
And, like I said, and not to be misunderstood for being defensive as I'm trying to analyze my cat, I can't tell if he is in any discomfort. I'm not afraid to say so as I'm trying to help him or why would I be giving him the buprenex? vet is on board now if need be and I would give an accurate analysis if I had one such as Carolyn's of Leo. (she can see the difference in his eyes) I have been looking for stuff like that and not getting it.

This afternoon he has been asking for food every time I've gone near the kitchen. He hasn't been as vocal as if he wasn't drugged up. But He meows. Does that mean he's a little loopy or he's not in the discomfort he was in before-assuming he was in some..I don't know. That's my answer and I have to stick to it because I don't know. If there was a larger margin of difference in his behavior I could give a better answer but this is the best I can do and remain honest :(

I wasn't looking at numbers I was looking at colors..313 is pink. Not blue or yellow.

my 'comprehension problems' lol are mainly in the dosing and insulin areas. I'm a ninny when it comes to that. I'm pretty good at understanding the other stuff as I have had cats of my own since 1971.One had HCM and cancer(which is what he died of) so I know about cats and stoicism. There was no cat ever more stoic than Chance, and he was in a lot of pain. This is just my background so you guys know that I have seen this before.

I really do understand all of this... but I appreciate the interpretation.... :razz:

And I am very happy to hear that Ms. MTM is doing better today :-D
sending more, lots more, healing vines her way ♥
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313

Carolyn and Spot said:
yeah, that. lol good thing i have you around hillary, i don't have it in me to type all that while i'm watching the race :D

Just got +9 302..do I need to test again before PMPS?

As I mentioned above in answer to Hillary, if I had any one thing to show me that there was a definite relief from pain...a deep sleep, a lower run of numbers, a way different pattern of behavior I could give a definitive answer. If I said now "Oh yeah wow, what a difference" I'd be lying. Alex seems more relaxed. But he should, he's on a small dose of a narcotic. Is that a wrong answer? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313,+9-302

I didn't see any defensiveness Caryl, I was just saying I was getting ready to type up a whole explanation and was relieved to see Hillary did it. My driver was leading most of the race so I was trying to watch and type at the same time LOL

And you'll just have to keep monitoring to figure out what the meowing means, might be that he's trying to tell you he feels better, or it's time for food or his butt itches. You just never know. I doubt he's very much loopy at all on that dose, and I think you should give him a couple more cycles and see what you see. Like Hillary said, discomfort, pain.. if they're alleviated, he's gonna show it in the long run :) Just watch for tiny changes in him, not drastic ones. That's what you'll see. They all add up.

Mostly I want you to concentrate on the big picture, all the numbers together and what they look like.. each individual number is subject to so much interpretation that focusing on them individually can be very depressing. So look at the whole forest, and not each tree. His numbers aren't bouncing right now, they're drifting, and that's gotta be a whole lot more comfortable than the pinging from red to green to pink to red to green.. that's what I'm looking for, flatter cycles.. if he drifts into the pink periodically, I'm not concerned at all. Besides, I think he's about to break. Have your HC ready. Dose increase to 5.5u in the morning unless he goes green tonight. :)

Yes, one more test please... +11.

I think I'm going out. Not having some fun times here right now, so be ready for him to drop and if he goes green tonight no increase in the morning.
 
Re: 3/7 Alex AMPS 212,+3~234,+5~285,+6~313,+9-302

Carolyn and Spot said:
I didn't see any defensiveness Caryl, I was just saying I was getting ready to type up a whole explanation and was relieved to see Hillary did it. My driver was leading most of the race so I was trying to watch and type at the same time LOL

And you'll just have to keep monitoring to figure out what the meowing means, might be that he's trying to tell you he feels better, or it's time for food or his butt itches. You just never know. I doubt he's very much loopy at all on that dose, and I think you should give him a couple more cycles and see what you see. Like Hillary said, discomfort, pain.. if they're alleviated, he's gonna show it in the long run :) Just watch for tiny changes in him, not drastic ones. That's what you'll see. They all add up.

Mostly I want you to concentrate on the big picture, all the numbers together and what they look like.. each individual number is subject to so much interpretation that focusing on them individually can be very depressing. So look at the whole forest, and not each tree. His numbers aren't bouncing right now, they're drifting, and that's gotta be a whole lot more comfortable than the pinging from red to green to pink to red to green.. that's what I'm looking for, flatter cycles.. if he drifts into the pink periodically, I'm not concerned at all. Besides, I think he's about to break. Have your HC ready. Dose increase to 5.5u in the morning unless he goes green tonight. :)

Yes, one more test please... +11.




I think I'm going out. Not having some fun times here right now, so be ready for him to drop and if he goes green tonight no increase in the morning.


I just don't want anyone to THINK I'm being defensive because of the way I guess I've come across sometimes:) It's just my way of "speaking" I guess..the New Yawker part of me and I wanted it known that I wasn't being it..that's all. I'm really a marshmallow :mrgreen:

I agree..his numbers today are all very close together ...I wasn't really worried. I'm more annoyed that I can't watch the Oscars tonight .
I'll watch for more signs from Alex and will get more bupe from vetty tomorrow.

5.5 if no green tonight..got it

have a good time tonight :)
I'm sorry I hope whatever it is gets better. I can relate..believe me :(
 
@PMPS +5 Alex is acting strange. He is whiny and just not happy. Has appetite but I wanted to check ketones fast so I took blood and it was negative 0.2. Didn't want me to test his ears was really whiny about that and tried to push me away so maybe they're sore so I put some antibiotic ointment w painkiller on the ear I test. Something is bothering him and I think that's reflected in his bg also. he doesn't seem more relaxed :? Maybe he doesn't like the bupe? I'll see how he is in the morning <sigh> will be increasing dose .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top